This is the "Finding Periodicals and Periodical Articles" page of the "Periodicals Available at Moody Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
HBU Moody Library | 7502 Fondren Houston, TX 77074 | Phone: 281-649-3304 | Reference Desk: 281-649-3180 | Library Web Site: http://www.hbu.edu/moody

Periodicals Available at Moody Library  

Last Updated: Apr 16, 2013 URL: http://hbu.libguides.com/Periodicals Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Periodicals and Periodical Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

WHAT ARE PERIODICALS?

Periodicals are continuous publications such as journals, newspapers, or magazines. They are issues regularly (daily, weekly, monthly, or quarterly).

 

 

WHY USE PERIODICALS?

  • Periodicals cover events more quickly and concisely than books. It might take several years for a book to appear on a current topic, but periodical articles can appear within a few days of an event, or almost immediately in the case of a newspaper.
  • Periodical articles are usually on specific topics. For example, if one is looking for information about a specific disease, one often has to choose a book that covers many diseases, while it always easy to find articles on specific diseases. 
  • Periodicals are more likely to cover local and state topics.

 

 

FINDING PERIODICALS

To Find an Article, Use Periodical Indexes

When you do not have the citation to a specific article, but you want to find articles on a subject, by a specific author, or with a known article title, you need to use one or more Periodical Indexes/Databases

When You Have the Citation to a Specific Article, You need to Find if Moody Library has the Periodical that Contains the Article

  • Use the library's E-Journals A to Z List to search for the title.
  • If you do not find the journals in that list, then use the lists of periodicals in this guide to see if the library has the journal title in paper or microform. The pages in this guide list all of the paper and microform periodical holdings in Moody Library.  Click the "I" on each title to see the exact volumes that the library owns.
  • If you still do not find the journal title, you need to request the journal article through InterLibrary Loan, using the Journal Article InterLibrary Loan Request Form. 
 

LOCATING PERIODICALS IN MOODY LIBRARY

The periodicals collection of Moody Library includes magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers that are held in print, microform and electronic format.

**Current Periodicals: Current periodicals are those paper issues that have been received within the past year.  They are noted in the catalog, and in this LibGuide.  They are shelved alphabetically by title on the Current Periodicals Shelves in the AV Room, which is on the first floor of the library, through the glass doors behing the reference desk.  Because many of the periodicals that the library receives are online only titles or microform titles,  there is only a small selection of our total collection on these shelves. At the end of the current year, these periodicals are either bound or replaced by an online version. 

**Bound Periodicals: Bound periodicals are located on the second floor of the library at the top of the stairs.  They are shelved alphabetically by title.  Most of these volumes are older issues because the library has most of the recent titles online.

**Microfiche and Microfilm Periodicals:  Microfiche and microfilm periodicals are housed in the large metal cabinets located on the second floor at the top of the front stairs.  A reader printer for these items is also located in the same area.  Most of the microfilm periodicals are backfiles of newspapers. 

**Online Periodicals: It is the policy of Moody Library to purchase current subscriptions for most periodicals in online versions.  They may be found and accessed by using the E-Journals A to Z List which is on the Library's Home page.  Users of Moody Library have access to more than 60,000 titles through that list. 

 

SCHOLARLY JOURNALS VS. POPULAR MAGAZINES

 

When conducting research, scholars often rely on articles from scholarly journals rather than popular magazines.  See the table below for a list of some differences that exist between these two types of resources.

Characteristics 

Scholarly or Academic Journal 

 Popular Magazine 

Appearance 

  • Sober and serious
  • May contain graphs or charts
  • Will not find glossy pages or photographs
  • Attractive appearance
  • Advertisements
  • Heavily illustrated
  • Glossy paper

Audience 

 Scholars and students

 General audience

Authors 

Scholars in the field of study

 Reporters, usually not experts on the subject

Documentation 

Sources cited in footnotes and/or bibliography

Sources not cited or cited informally

Purpose 

Report results of original research or experimentation

 Provide general information

Article Acceptance
Procedure
 

Many scholarly journals are "refereed journals" - they undergo a process called "peer-review" where other scholars in the field examine the articles before being published.

Written by hired reporters, edited by magazine editors, and published.

 Examples 

American Journal of Psychology
JAMA 
American Historical Review   

Psychology Today
Newsweek
National Geographic
 

 Adapted from a chart created by Duke University Libraries.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip