HCU Moody Library1: Faculty Services

Remember, you can always call the Library Circulation Desk at 281-649-3304. Also, Reference Desk is open between 7:30 AM and 9:00 PM. You can call the desk at 281-649-3180, email reference desk, or check HCU Answers.

What support does the library provide for courses?

The Library presents a wealth of information to create meaning assignments as well as to help you and your students learn how to be better researchers. We can do both short and long presentations depending on your needs. Here are some ways we can help:

• Learn which databases and other resources that can help most for a specific assignment.
• Learn how to phrase searches for the most relevant results.
• Learn about e-book resources.
• Learn how to better use the library catalog.
• Learn how to utilize database resources by emailing articles, saving articles, creating links to journal articles for inclusion in term papers.
• Learn about resources for tests and measures.

What information resources are online?

The library offers an organized host of online services that are just a click away. What do we offer?
 

• Search catalogs
• Journal lists, links, as well searching for specific journal titles to over approximately 40,000 journal titles.
• Subject-based resources including databases and web sites.
• Full-text database searching of newspapers, and historical newspapers.
• Cross-checks of journal databases. If one database does not have the article of interest, click the LinkSource button on our databases to check if full-text is available via another source.
• Over 100,000 e-books currently published books.
• E-Reference books. These will be displayed in the database section of the respective subject page.
• Links to Dissertation Abstracts and WorldCat (Search books world-wide and request them).
• Access to your account to see what materials you currently have checked out and renew them online. Need to visit your account information page? You will need your HCU "H" number and a library PIN. Contact the Circulation Desk for more information at 281-649-3304.

What library services are available online?
 

• Library Assignment Alert Form
• Books -  Interlibrary Loan (NOTE: Link works. Create this form inside LibGuides)
• Articles - Interlibrary Loan (NOTE: Link works. Create this form inside LibGuides)
• Placing Items on Reserve (NOTE: Link works. Create this form inside LibGuides)
• Requesting Library Instruction Services for your classes (NOTE: Link works. Create this form inside LibGuides)
• Request information about creating specific links to full-text articles (which can be emailed to you class and used in term papers read in MS Word as well as read online instantly) and creating basics web pages with the ProQuest and Ebsco databases. If interested, contact Dean Riley, Systems Librarian at 281-649-3182.

Scholarly Communication Issues: What Faculty Can Do

Want to learn more about current issues with scholarly communication?