LibGuides: HCU Moody Library Homepage: Moody Library

Contacting the Library (1)

clock image

Spring Semester
First Floor: 7:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
===========
*Second Floor:*
Mon-Sat: 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Sunday: CLOSED

Mobile Site:
https://hbu.libguides.com/m

Reference Desk:
281-649-3304
Stop by for a one-on-one
visit or request an
appointment.

book image

Circulation Desk:
281-649-3304

Book and general questions

drawing of old style cell phone with letters SMS

SMS Texting
(518) 633-4687

Got a question?

After-Hours Help?
HCU LibGuides (Subject Guides)

Self-Help Tutorials

General Questions?
Email

I Need to Find:

Use the tabs above to divide what your searching.

If you need a specific database, then please visit our Database page.
HCU Answers is an FAQ database about anything pertaining to HCU. You can visit HCU Answers on your laptop or cell phone to search or view a broad range of questions and answers about anything pertaining to HCU.

Need to find an exact title, subject, or author? Try the catalog browse search.

HCU Answers is the 24/7 campus source of FAQ information anything pertaining to HCU. If you do not find an answer here, please ask it! If you are looking for research options and find nothing, then we recommend the following sites instead:

HCU Answers (Home) - scan for questions by topics, etc.
HCU LibGuides to help find databases, articles, journals for specific subject disciplines
HCU Library Catalog
HCU OneSearch (on the library home page)

New Library Additions

New Book Details

The visual carousel below shows the most recently added items. These books and E-books were added to our collection over the past month! If you have difficultly viewing the carousel please visit our New resources by specific disciplines web page. For those with screen readers, please note the list is alphabetical horizontally.

Quick Resources

Moody Mobile
Access to HCU Moody Library Mobile resources, which are designed for smartphone use.

Book A Group Study Room
Interlibrary Loan Book Form
Interlibrary Loan - Journal Article Form
My LIbrary Account
Log in to the library catalog to check your account, due dates, and make online renewals. You will need your H-number or TexShare account number and library-issued PIN. If you don't know it, call 281-649-3304.

Self-Guided Library Tutorials

Moody Library Web Site Overview with CloudSearch Demo
This video gives a visual overview and description of the various portions of the library's website. It also includes a demo of CloudSearch.
Research Help Center
Target Audience: All Students, Faculty
Contains over 60 tutorials pertaining to a wide range of topics specific to writing research papers. Many of these are short videos. This link will take you to the home page where you can view the wide range of topics including how to search find what you really need, citations, understanding data, how to improve your thinking, how to evaluate information, and much more!
Improving Your Database Search Skills and Results
Target Audience: All Students, Faculty, Staff

Instruction Videos - includes PsycTests, samples searching for kinesiology and education, Mental Measurements, ERIC, APA, and interlibrary loans. Recorded by our former Instruction Librarian, Diane Casebier.
Using Mental Measurements Yearbook (Diane Casebier)

How to Use the Classic Library Catalog
Target Audience: All Students, Faculty, Staff
How to Renew Books Online
Target Audience: All Students, Faculty, and Staff.
Assists in knowing the process to renew books online from off-campus.
Handy, Dandy Library Tutorial for Students
Handy, Dandy HCU Technical Resources Tutorial
Target Audience: All Students, Faculty, Staff
Covers HCU systems, how to login, HCU's help desk, on-campus printing, and much more! Some of this can impact access to your library research.
How to Print Using HCU's MyPrint Web Site
Target Audience: Students.
Covers how to print, where to print, how to add money to your balance, and how to print from your iPhone or iPad.
Information Literacy Modules
Target audience: Students.
These modules have been designed by librarians to give you a solid foundation in information literacy and critical thinking. Topics have been divided among six modules; getting started with research, sources of information, searching for information, evaluating information, presenting research and data, and citations and academic integrity. Each includes videos, tutorials, and optional quizzes. All of this is designed to be brief and get you on your way. Feel free to make a quick visit or take the whole course one session at a time (complete with graded quizzes) and get ahead of the research game! Skills are transferable to all disciplines.