About the Hicks Collection
Moody Library's Hicks Collection began in 1979 as a collection of books on Texas, given by Mr. Jimmie Hicks as a memorial to his father, who had collected many of the books. Over the years, Mr. Hicks, who lives in Hollywood, has give the library books on many subjects, including a large number of film criticism books. The books in this exhibit are only a few colorful examples of the items in the collection. All of the Hicks Collection books are non-circulating. They must be used in the library.
Books in the Exhibit
- Brando: songs my mother taught me / - Marlon Brando.Call Number: Hicks PN2287.B683 A3 1994ISBN: 0679410139When Marlon Brando, playing Terry Malloy in On the Waterfront, bemoaned the fact that he "coulda been somebody," audiences hung onto his words, but according to Brando, the role "was actor-proof, a scene that demonstrated how audiences often do much of the acting themselves in an effectively told story. " Brando's evaluation of his acting and that of other celebrated actors, e.g., Olivier in Wuthering Heights, mark this rumination on his life. In his analysis of his films, from Streetcar to The Freshman, the master tries hard to demonstrate hubris and to provide public lessons. At the same time, he claims that luck, physical desires, and the need to make money motivate him.
- Chaplin, his life and art / - David RobinsonCall Number: Hicks PN2287.C5 R56 1985ISBN: 0070531811Charlie Chaplin (1889–1977) revolutionized the language of cinema and became one of the most loved performers of all time. But he was also a man plagued by loneliness and driven by the search for artistic perfection. His life was an extraordinarily dramatic one, and David Robinson explores the often tragic story of Chaplin’s alcoholic father; his mentally disturbed mother; his marriages to very young women; the “white slavery” case against him; and his persecution by anti-Communist forces during the McCarthy era, which ultimately forced Chaplin to leave America. Chaplin—the only biography written with full access to his archives—contains many provocative revelations about his private life, romances, business dealings, and the making of his magical films. The text is studded with unexpected gems, from the multilingual lyrics of his song in Modern Times (the first time his voice was heard on the screen) to the step-by-step choreography of his celebrated dance with the balloon globe of the world in The Great Dictator. The author tells of the many famous figures who sought Chaplin out, including Picasso, Gandhi, and Krushchev. The book vividly recreates the different worlds in which Chaplin moved: from Victorian to Edwardian London, through the glamorous birth and sad decline of Hollywood’s studio system, to the nightmare of McCarthyism, after which America once again came to adore the ”Little Tramp.”
- Clint Eastwood, a biography / - by Richard Schickel.Call Number: Hicks PN2287.E37 S35 1996ISBN: 0679429743From the moment The Man With No Name first fixed the screen with his murderous squint, from the first time audiences heard Dirty Harry Callahan growl "Make my day," Clint Eastwood has been an icon of American manhood in all its coolness and ferocity. But that icon is also an actor of surprising subtlety, a filmmaker of vast intelligence and originality--and an intensely private man who eludes the stereotypes with which his fans and critics try to label him. In this in-depth biography, the distinguished film critic Richard Schickel talks with Eastwood's family, friends, and colleagues--and, above all, with his notoriously reticent subject--to produce a portrait more astute and revealing than any we have ever had. Following Eastwood from his unstable childhood through his turbulent love affairs, assessing films from A Fistful of Dollars to the Oscar-winning The Unforgiven, and locating the subversive streak of rage and solitude that runs through all his work, Clint Eastwood is candid and endlessly fascinating, an unerring closeup of one of our brightest stars.
- David O. Selznick's Hollywood / - written and produced by Ronald Haver.Call Number: Hicks PN1998.A3 S397 1980ISBN: 0394425952At the center of this story is David O. Selznick, who made not only Gone With the Wind but an entire galaxy of spectacular films and who brought a new kind of ingenuity, energy and intelligence to the promotion and production of movies.
- Fonda, my life / - as told to Howare Teichmann.Call Number: Hicks PN2287.F558 A33ISBN: 0453004014This is a warm, intimate visit with Henry Fonda, beginning long before he was famous. It is written by Howard Teichmann, as the stories were shared with him by Henry Fonda. Henry Fonda had always refused requests in past to authourise a biography, but he came to like and trust Mr. Teichmann and they created a beautiful tableau together. Their collaboration took place during the last two years of Henry Fonda's life. This time period was before, during and following the filming of "On Golden Pond." It covers the early years in New York City, where he shared quarters with Jimmy Stewart and many more people of the same era. It follows him through his career and his personal life and it is an incredibly authentic treatise.
- MGM: when the lion roars / - by Peter Hay.Call Number: Hicks PN1999.M4 H3 1991ISBN: 187868504XMGM was "the great film studio of the world" during the 1930s. This book attempts to convey how this great enterprise was built and then destroyed between the years of 1925 and 1959, which were the dates of the 2 epic productions of Ben-Hur. The library also has a DVD which covers the same subjects.
- On Cukor / - by Gavin Lambert.Call Number: Hicks PN1998.d.C6 At 2000ISBN: 0847822974In an unusually candid series of taped interviews with Lambert in the early 1970s, one of Hollywood's finest directors shared some revealing and intimate thoughts on his craft. He discussed his most famous films, including What Price Hollywood?, Dinner at Eight, Little Women, David Copperfield, Camille, Holiday, The Women, The Philadelphia Story, Gaslight, Adam's Rib, Pat and Mike, The Marrying Kind, It Should Happen to You, A Star is Born, and My Fair Lady.
- On the road to Tara: the making of Gone With the Wind / - Aljean HarmetzCall Number: Hicks PN1997.G59 H36 1996ISBN: 0810936844Harmetz, who has previously chronicled the making of The Wizard of Oz and Casablanca, now turns to the Great American Movie: Gone With the Wind. With access to previously unpublished materials in David Selznick's private archives, she relates the film's history, from the endless revision of the script to the battle with the censors--not only over Rhett Butler's use of the word ``damn,'' but the less well known fight over the word ``niggers,'' which is used in the book but not in the movie. Heavily illustrated, the volume includes scene sketches for Tara and the burning of Atlanta, costume sketches, makeup stills, and more.
- Screwball: Hollywood's madcap romantic comedies / - Ed Sikov.Call Number: Hicks PN1995.9.C55 S5 1989ISBN: 0517573024During the 1930s and early '40s, Hollywood "screwball comedies" had their heyday. Characterized by the substitution of "comedic" animosity or violence for affection and sexuality in male-female interactions (sexuality was ruthlessly suppressed by the Production Code), well-known films of this style include Bringing Up Baby , It Happened One Night and Topper , with stars such as Cary Grant, Carole Lombard, William Powell and Myrna Loy. This oversize volume, illustrated with 240 black-and-white movie stills and publicity shots, examines the weird world of screwball comedy--a world where, as freelance film journalist Sikov writes, "hatred is no reason to give up on a relationship." Devotees of Unfaithfully Yours or My Man Godfrey will enjoy the author's breezily perceptive opinions and succinct plot encapsulations. A screwball filmography is included.
- They went that-a-way / - Editor: Ann Lloyd.Call Number: Hicks PN 1995.9.W4 T55 1982Covers a number of important western movies from the silent movie era through Heaven's Gate.












Loading content... please wait
