This is the "Home" page of the "History -- The Renaissance through Napoleon" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
HBU Moody Library | 7502 Fondren Houston, TX 77074 | Phone: 281-649-3304 | Reference Desk: 281-649-3180 | Library Web Site: http://www.hbu.edu/moody

History -- The Renaissance through Napoleon  

Last Updated: Nov 2, 2012 URL: http://hbu.libguides.com/content.php?pid=79383 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recommended Reading about Historical Research

Cover Art
The craft of research / 3rd ed. - Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams.
Call Number: Q180.55 .M4 B66 2008
ISBN: 0226065669
Like its predecessor, this new edition reflects the way researchers actually work, in a complex circuit of thinking, writing, revising, and rethinking. It shows how each part of this process influences the others and how a successful research report is a carefully orchestrated conversation between researcher and reader.

Cover Art
That noble dream : the "objectivity question" and the American historical profession / - Peter Novick.
Call Number: D13.5.U6 N68 1988
ISBN: 0521357454
The aspiration to relate the past "as it really happened" has been the central goal of American professional historians since the late nineteenth century. In this remarkable history of the profession, Peter Novick shows how the idea and ideal of objectivity was elaborated, challenged, modified, and defended over the past century.

Cover Art
Why history matters / - John Tosh
Call Number: D16.163.T67 2008
ISBN: 0230521487
This book argues that we are in danger of missing history's principal contribution -- to provide the basis for informed and critical understanding of the present. It identifies the essential features of historical thinking and shows how they can be applied to contemporary concerns. (Cover)

 

Overview of Historical Research

The study of history is based largely on two things -- primary resources and historians' interpretations

Primary Resources -- Primary resources are an essential part of the study of history.  They are the basic evidence for any historical argument.  Moreover, they are as close as you can come to the actual event(s) you are researching.  However, they must be examined with caution.  First hand accounts often exhibit some kind of misunderstanding or distortion.  Therefore, usually more than one primary source is used in comparison with others.

Books (Reference and Circulating) -- Reference books are an extremely useful first step in the study of history.  They give directions on the research and writing of history, general overviews of historical topics, and/or information on how to find historical materials.  You can use reference books to generate paper topics, to develop keywords, ideas and concepts related to your topic, and to find selected book and articles to get you started in your research.

Some books in the library are collections of primary resources.  Generally, though, books are secondary sources, i.e. interpretations of historical events by experts in the field.  These secondary  sources are as essential as primary sources for the study of history builds on the work of previous and contemporary historians.

Scholarly Journal Articles -- Journal articles are also secondary sources of information.  They are much shorter than books, however, and so tend to focus on much more narrow and specific topics.  For example, a book might cover the history of the Crusades while a journal article might be about one specific kind of weapon used in one particular battle during the Crusades.

Indexes and Databases -- Indexes and databases give information about where to find materials.  Databases are mainly full-text resources and provide the articles as well as the citations.  Indexes provide only citations which tell you where to go to find the article or books they list.

 

Give us Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Creator of this Guide

Profile Image
Ann Noble
Contact Info
Moody Library Director
281-649-3177
Send Email
 

Citation Management--Using EasyBib

The EasyBib School Edition provides students with the tools to enhance critical thinking skills and research habits, learn how to prevent plagiarism, and improve information literacy.

There are several components of interest to student researchers including:

  • Create Citations in APA or MLA that may be cut and pasted into Word Documents
  • Export a Saved Bibliography to a Word file
  • Set up Note Cards with associated references and citations for separate papers and projects.
  • Keep a History that lives in the cloud of your Reference work, projects, notes and citations!

Click here to Login or Register for EasyBib.

View an introductory video on EasyBib.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip