US Criminal Justice (from Credo Reference): Books

Provides a short, accessible overview of the transformational and ongoing struggles against America's prison system.

From a team of leading experts comes a comprehensive, multidisciplinary examination of the most current research including the complex issue of violence and violent behavior.

Provides ready information on all aspects of capital punishment in America. Details virtually every capital punishment decision rendered by the United States Supreme Court through 2006, including more than 40 cases decided since publication of the first edition.

Offers an authoritative introduction to key issues in the area of crime as it connects to society.

Written by leading experts, this book gives you all the key knowledge and information you need to succeed quickly and easily.

Presents a series of original essays by renowned authors from around the world, reflecting the latest scholarship on the nature, causes, and patterns of homicide, as well as policies and practices for its investigation and prevention.

Presents an engaging overview of the history of law enforcement and intelligence organizations, as well as the tools and techniques that they use.

Exploring the history and the various clauses, amendments, and interpretations, as well as addressing the debate over how well the country has lived up to the Preamble's lofty goals, this text makes the groundbreaking document more understandable.

Entries (of between 500 and 1500 words) on key terms and concepts in forensic psychology arranged alphabetically.

Consists of entries, including summary definition, main text and key texts and sources, contributed by leading academic and practitioners in policing.

The essential source of reference for the increasing number of people studying in, working in prisons and working with prisoners.

Contemporary probation practice is developing rapidly and is become increasingly professionalized. Probation officers are typically described now as offender managers, and the creation of NOMS (National Offender Management Service) has broadened the remit of the Probation Service. As well as bringing an increased emphasis on skills and qualifications it has also introduced a new set of ideas and concepts into the established probation lexicon - including institutional, legal, political and theoretical terms of its own as well as importing concepts from the disciplines of sociology, criminology and psychology.

Explicitly addresses the historical, legal, theoretical, organisational, policy, practice, research and evidential contexts within which 'modern' youth justice in the UK and beyond is located.

Provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms. Addresses topics in the field of violence, peace, and conflict studies, with coverage of issues as disparate as peace education, trends in warfare, mental illness, and violence towards animals. Covers topics of concern to contemporary society, such as ethnic conflict, hate crimes, drug control policies, and child abuse.

Designed as an alternative to overly comprehensive, lengthy, and expensive introductory texts, this is a concise overview of the field. Guides students through the various definitions of crime and the different ways crime is measured.

Provides professionals with current, practical, and empirically based information to guide their work in forensic settings.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of abortion.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of due process.

2nd edition; contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of freedom of religion.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issues of freedom of speech, assembly, and expression.

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of freedom of the press.

Over 10,000 entries explain the vocabulary used in legal situations. Entries include definitions pronunciations, and frequent supplementary notes.

First book to examine the historical development of prison gangs worldwide, from those that emerged inside the mid-nineteenth-century Neapolitan prisons to the new generation of younger inmates challenging the status quo within gang subcultures today.

Concise, engaging overview of forensic psychology, spanning its origins as a discipline through the many varied opportunities for employment today.

Based largely upon new research, this book explores the history of repeating and multi-fire weapons, beginning with the Chinese repeating crossbow in the 4th century BCE, and ending with the world's most common firearm, the Kalashnikov AK-47.

Delves into the global phenomenon of serial and spree murderers.

Edward M. Spiers breaks new ground by presenting his analysis in both historical and contemporary contexts, giving a comprehensive chronological account of why, where and when such weapons were used or suspected to be deployed.

The purpose of this Companion is to augment that Series, by taking stock of the current state of literature on migration law, theory and policy, and to sketch out the contours of its future long-term development, in what is now a vastly expanded research agenda.

Delves into some of history's most notorious acts, unveiling an intriguing cast of characters, nail-biting drama and many unintended consequences.

Provides students, researchers, journalists, and policymakers with a complete survey of what seems to be an ongoing problem. Entries offer comprehensive coverage of the events, people, organizations, and places that have played a major role in international terrorism.

With public debate of gun violence at an all-time high, this new 3rd edition is a must-have resource for all libraries.

Collection of essays explaining the benefits and concerns, the policies and actions, and the future of the controversial issue - marijuana legalization.

Thematic essays address such topics as immigration law and policy, refugees, unauthorized migrants, racial and ethnic identity, assimilation, nationalization, economy, politics, religion, education, and family relations. Comprehensive articles on immigration from the thirty most significant nations or regions of origin.

Explores the origins and impacts of what many experts now call a pandemic of opioid abuse in America. With commentary from public heath experts and the inclusion of more than 30 primary sources, this text also explores the origins, costs, and sharply polarized opinions regarding the decades old war on drugs, including discussion of opinions related to disparities in drug law convictions and punishments, and the effects of mass criminalization.

Traces the history of immigration in the United States from the eighteenth century to present day, and examines, through analysis of primary and secondary documents, how immigration policy and activism relate to public opinion. This work is about how opinions and ideas shaped and continue to shape the history of immigration and, as such, focuses on the power of ideologies, prejudices, attitudes, fears, and hopes that shape the immigrant debate.

Takes a look at the history and philosophy of policing in America from the vigilante slave catchers of the American South, to the first modern police departments of the Northeast, to the drug war of the 1980s and 1990s.

Covers aspects of the privacy vs security debate from the nineteenth century through the twenty-first century. In 2000, all Americans were entitled to a basic right to privacy established through constitutional law, common law, and statutory law. However, due to the ongoing threat of radical militant groups, U.S. laws changed between 2001 and 2017, providing government agents with broad powers to invade the privacy of American citizens for the purposes of combating this threat.

From the Revolutionary War to the national crisis brought about by mass shootings in the 21st century, Guns in America provides a historical look at the controversial debate over gun rights and gun control.

Looks at the evolution of the death penalty debate within the context of major events in the history of American criminal justice, from the nation's first execution, in the famed Jamestown Colony of Virginia, to the cells of America's modern death rows. Tracing this history through the courts, the legislature, and the academic, religious, and popular debates that have surrounded the issue, this volume will reveal how American ideas about execution have evolved and continue to change.

Provides biographical summaries of more than 100 assassins and terrorists, and aims for a more complete understanding of the motivations behind violent extremism.

Examines the persistence of racial discrimination in the practice of capital punishment, the dynamics that drive it, and the human consequences of both.

Provides a rich overview of the most important theoretical and empirical work in the field, organized by relationship type.

Provides a comprehensive, interdisciplinary and global look at the diverse issues surrounding human trafficking and slavery in the post-1945 environment.

Offers a unified framework to take stock of the theoretical and empirical literature on crime, conflict, and violence and to discuss how the international community organizes itself to address security as a regional and global public good.

Presents current and future studies on the changing dynamics of the role of immigrants and the impact of immigration, across the United States and industrialized and developing nations. It covers the changing dynamics of race, ethnicity, and immigration, and discusses how it all contributes to variations in crime, policing, and the overall justice system.