Finding quality information about small, or even large, private businesses is, without a doubt, the most challenging endeavor for any business researcher. Private companies are not subject to the same stringent public filing rules as SEC governed public companies. Many times, therefore, finding good financial information on privates is just not possible.
There are several resources available at Moody Library, however, to aid in profiling small companies. The goal of this resource is to provide a gateway to what is available for small business and private company research.
Note: Also try Business Plans LibGuide
SWOT analysis involves analyzing a company's Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats. One goal of SWOT analysis deals with facts for individual companies. Another goal is to benchmark that company within the industry groups in which the company does business. There are several resources that aid in SWOT analysis for small/ private companies.
Click HERE for Online Version of BPH
Business Plans Handbook is a collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America. For those looking for examples of how to approach, structure and compose their own business plans, the Handbook presents 24 sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries — only the company names and addresses have been changed.
Typical business plans include type of business; statement of purpose; executive summary; business/industry description; market; product and production; management/personnel; and financial specifics. This edition also contains a business plan template and two fictional business plans — all of which can aid users in developing business plans of their own. Also featured is a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants; a glossary of small business terms; and an updated bibliography. (from the Publisher's site)
Almanac of Business and Financial Ratios (on the Ready Reference shelf behind the Reference Desk.)
Also consult RMA's Annual Statement Studies: Financial Ratio Benchmarks....
The Copyright Clearing House's (CCH's) Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios is the first step in helping to determine a company's true measure of performance and value. The comprehensive resource puts 50 comparative performance indicators at the practitioner's command and covers all of North America (U.S., Canada, and Mexico) using NAICS data.
The Almanac provides financial information that is calculated and derived from the latest available IRS data on nearly 5 million U.S. and international companies. The Almanac gives you accurate performance data for 50 operating and financial factors in 199 industries. (content description from Google Books: http://books.google.com)
North American Industry Classification System (NAIC Codes - online and in print at the Reference Desk)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
NAICS was developed under the auspices of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), and adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. It was developed jointly by the U.S. Economic Classification Policy Committee (ECPC), Statistics Canada 
, and Mexico's Instituto Nacional de Estadistica, Geografia e Informatica , to allow for a high level of comparability in business statistics among the North American countries.
This official U.S. Government Web site provides the latest information on plans for NAICS revisions, as well as access to various NAICS reference files and tools.
The official 2007 U.S. NAICS Manual, includes definitions for each industry, background information, tables showing changes between 2002 and 2007, and a comprehensive index. The official 2007 U.S. NAICS Manual is available in print and on CD_ROM from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) at (800) 553-6847 or (703) 605-6000, or through the NTIS Web site. Previous versions of the NAICS Manual are available. (http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/)
