Skip to Main Content

Virtual Reference Shelf: Education Online Reference

A listing of online reference sources available to users of HCU's Moody Library

General

College blue book
Call Number: Gale E-Book LA226.C685 (latest year)
Encyclopedia of education law
Call Number: Gale E-Book KF4117.E53 2008

History and Condition of Education

21st century education: a reference handbook
Call Number: Credo LA210 .A15 2008
Biographical dictionary of modern American educators
Call Number: ebrary LA2311 .O55 1997 (also Ebsco)
Education state rankings, 2006-2007: pre K-12 education in the 50 United States
Call Number: Ebsco LA217.2 .E383 2006

Theory and Practice

Edspeak: a glossary of education terms, phrases, buzzwords, and jargon
Call Number: ebrary LB15 .R285 2007 (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of American education
Call Number: Ebsco LB17 .U54 2007
Encyclopedia of cross-cultural school psychology
Call Number: Gale E-book LB1027.55.E539 2010
Encyclopedia of curriculum studies
Call Number: Credo LB2806.15.E48 2010 (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of educational leadership and administration
Call Number: Credo LB2805 .E527 2006
Encyclopedia of educational psychology
Call Number: Credo LB1050.9 .E63 2008
Encyclopedia of educational reform and dissent
Call Number: Credo LB2805 .E528 2010
Encyclopedia of school psychology
Call Number: Credo LB1027.55 .E523 2005
Encyclopedia of the social and cultural foundations of education
Call Number: Credo LB17 .E53 2009
Handbook of research on teaching the English language arts
Call Number: Credo LB1576 .H234 2010
Handbook of research on the education of young children
Call Number: Credo LB1119 .H25 2012
Historical dictionary of American education
Call Number: ebrary LB15 .H57 1999 (also Ebsco)
Historical encyclopedia of school psychology
Call Number: ebrary LB1027.55 .H57 1996
Key concepts in early childhood education & care
Call Number: Credo LB1139.23 .N88 2011
Key concepts in education
Call Number: Credo LB17 .I49 2008
Philosophy of education : an encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo LB17 .P485 1996
Philosophy of education: the key concepts
Call Number: Ebsco LB15 .W54 2008
Psychology of classroom learning : an encyclopedia
Call Number: GALE E-BOOK LB1060 .P89 2009
Secondary education: the key concepts
Call Number: Ebsco LB1607 .W37 2006

Special Aspects of Education

Dictionary of multicultural education
Call Number: ebrary LC1099 .D53 1997
Encyclopedia of African American education
Call Number: Credo LC2771 .E63 2010
Encyclopedia of African-American education
Call Number: ebrary LC2717 .E53 1996 (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of distributed learning
Call Number: Credo LC5211 .E52 2004
Encyclopedia of giftedness, creativity, and talent
Call Number: Credo LC3993.2 .E53 2009
Encyclopedia of multicultural education
Call Number: ebrary LC1099.3 .M58 1999 (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of special education: a reference for the education of children, adolescents, and adults with disabilities and other exceptional individuals, 3rd ed.
Call Number: Credo LC4007 .E53 2014
Gender and education: an encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo LC213 .G425 2007
Historical dictionary of school segregation and desegregation: the American experience
Call Number: ebrary LC212.52 .R34 1998
Historical dictionary of women's education in the United States
Call Number: ebrary LC1752 .H57 1998 (also Ebsco)
International handbook of giftedness and talent
Call Number: Credo LC3993 .I596 2000
Key concepts in adult education and training
Call Number: Ebsco LC5215 .T57 2002
Learning in adulthood: a comprehensive guide, 3rd ed.
Call Number: ebrary LC5225 .L42 M47 2007 (also Credo)
Praeger handbook of Latino education in the U.S.
Call Number: Credo LC2669 .P73 2007

Children's Literature

100 most popular children's authors: biographical sketches and bibliographies
Call Number: Ebsco PS490.M39 1999
100 most popular picture book authors and illustrators : biographical sketches and bibliographies
Call Number: Ebsco PS490.M395 2000
Across cultures: a guide to multicultural literature for children
Call Number: Ebsco Z1037 .E19 2007
Dictionary of American children's fiction, 1990-1994: books of recognized merit
Call Number: ebrary PS490 .H45 1996
Dictionary of American children's fiction, 1995-1999: books of recognized merit
Call Number: ebrary PS374 .C454 H45 2002
Essential guide to children's books and their creators
Call Number: Ebsco Z1232 .E85 2002
Keywords for children's literature
Call Number: Credo PN1009.A1 K48 2011 (also Ebsco)
Writers for young adults
Call Number: GALE E-BOOK PS490.W75 1997
Writers for young adults. Supplement.
Call Number: GALE E-BOOK PS490.W75 1997 SUPPL.