Skip to Main Content

Virtual Reference Shelf: Nursing, Medicine, & Allied Health Online Reference

A listing of online reference sources available to users of HCU's Moody Library

Medicine -- General

Black's medical dictionary, 42nd ed.
Call Number: Credo R121 .B598 2010
Cambridge handbook of psychology, health and medicine, 2nd ed.
Call Number: Credo R726.5 .C354 2007
Cambridge historical dictionary of disease
Call Number: Credo RC41 .C365 2003b
Careers in healthcare
Call Number: ebrary R690.C374 2014
Collins dictionary of medicine
Call Number: Credo R121 .Y68 2005
Dictionary of health information technology and security
Call Number: ebrary R858 .D53 2007
Dictionary of medical terms
Call Number: Credo R121 .R854 2013
Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary
Call Number: Credo R121 .D73 2012
Experimental design: a handbook and dictionary for medical and behavioral research
Call Number: ebrary R852 .K73 2000
Facts on File encyclopedia of health and medicine
Call Number: Ebsco R125 .R68 2006
Jablonski's dictionary of medical acronyms & abbreviations, 6th ed.
Call Number: Credo R123 .J24 2009
Merriam-Webster's medical desk dictionary, rev. ed.
Call Number: Credo R121 .M564 2006
Mosby's dictionary of complementary & alternative medicine
Call Number: Credo R733.M678 2005
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing and health professions
Call Number: Ref. R121 .M89 2013 (at the Reference Desk, also Credo)
Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary, 21st ed.
Call Number: Credo R121 .T18 2009
Webster's New World medical dictionary, 2nd ed.
Call Number: Credo R121 .W35 2008

Public Aspects of Medicine

Dictionary of epidemiology 5th ed.
Call Number: ebrary RA651.D553 2008 (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of medical anthropology: health and illness in the world's cultures
Call Number: Credo RA418 .E354 2004
Encyclopedia of women's health
Call Number: Credo RA778 .E5825 2004
Key concepts in medical sociology
Call Number: Credo RA418 .G27 2004 (also ebrary)
Key concepts in public health
Call Number: Credo RA425 .K447 2009
Medicaid: a medical dictionary, bibliography and annotated research guide to Internet references
Call Number: Ebsco RA412.4 .M43 2004
Medicare: a medical dictionary, bibliography and annotated research guide to Internet references
Call Number: Ebsco RA412.3 .M43 2004
New Harvard guide to women's health
Call Number: Credo RA778 .C2164 2004

Internal Medicine

Clinical neuropathology: text and color atlas
Call Number: Ebsco RC347 .H33 2007
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior
Call Number: Gale E-book RC563.4.E5 2001
Encyclopedia of substance abuse prevention, treatment, & recovery
Call Number: Gale E-Book RC563.4 .E53 2009
Encyclopedia of work-related illnesses, injuries, and health issues
Call Number: Ebsco RC963 .A3 K348 2004
Gale encyclopedia of cancer: a guide to cancer and its treatments
Call Number: Gale E-Book RC254.5 .G353 2010
Mosby's emergency dictionary: EMS, rescue, and special operations
Call Number: Credo RC86.7 .M663 1998
Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia: the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
Call Number: Credo RC81 .A2 Y68 2001

Nursing

101 careers in nursing
Call Number: ebrary RT82 .A15 2006
Churchill Livingstone's dictionary of nursing, 19th ed.
Call Number: Credo RT21 .C487 2006
Clinical care classification (CCC) system manual: a guide to nursing documentation
Call Number: ebrary RT50 .S23 2007
Dictionary of nursing
Call Number: ebrary RT21 .D53694 2007
Dictionary of nursing theory and research
Call Number: ebrary RT81.5 .P69 2011 (also Credo and Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of nursing research
Call Number: Credo RT81.5 .E53 2012
Gale encyclopedia of nursing and allied health, 3rd ed.
Call Number: Gale-E-book RT21.G353 2013
Key concepts in nursing
Call Number: Credo RT41 .K49 2008
Nursing leadership: a concise encyclopedia, 2nd ed.
Call Number: ebrary RT89 .N87 2012 (also Ebsco and Credo)

Pathology

Gale encyclopedia of genetic disorders
Call Number: Gale E-Book RB155.5 .G35 2011
Gene therapy: a medical dictionary, bibliography, and annotated research guide to Internet references
Call Number: Ebsco RB155.8.G46 2004

Surgery

A to Z of plastic surgery
Call Number: Ebsco RD118 .H63 2008
Operating department practice A-Z
Call Number: ebrary RD16 .O626 2004

Gynecology and Obstetrics

Baillière's midwives' dictionary, 12th ed.
Call Number: Credo RG45 .B3 2012

Pediatrics

Encyclopedia of children's health and wellness
Call Number: Ebsco RJ45 .T9465 2004
Gale encyclopedia of children's health: infancy through adolescence
Call Number: Gale E-Book RJ26.G35 2011
Inheriting the world: the atlas of children's health and the environment
Call Number: ebrary RJ101 .G67 2004 (also Ebsco)

Pharmacology & Pharmacy

2007 USP dictionary of USAN and international drug names
Call Number: ebrary RS55 .A17 2007
Dictionary of pharmacoepidemiology
Call Number: Ebsco RM302.5.B443 2000
Modell's essential drugs in current use and new drugs 2006
Call Number: ebrary RM301.12 .M64 2006
Mosby's handbook of herbs & natural supplements, 4th ed.
Call Number: Credo RM666 .H33 S575 2010
Pharmaceutical medicine dictionary
Call Number: Credo RS192 .A445 2001b
Ready reference for critical care drugs with nursing care plans
Call Number: Ebsco RM147.S74 1996

Other Classifications

Encyclopedia of the human brain
Call Number: Credo QP376 .E586 2002
Human body book: an illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders
Call Number: Credo QP38 .P37 2009
International dictionary of homeopathy
Call Number: Credo RX41 .C48 2000b
Mosby's dental dictionary, 3rd ed.
Call Number: Credo RK27 .M672 2014
Natural medicine instructions for patients
Call Number: Credo RZ440 .P55 2002