Skip to Main Content

Virtual Reference Shelf: Psychology/Sociology Online Reference

A listing of online reference sources available to users of HCU's Moody Library

Social Sciences--General Works

Encyclopedia of evaluation
Call Number: Credo H62 .E583 2005

Psychology

21st century psychology: a reference handbook
Call Number: Credo BF131 .A15 2008
Biographical dictionary of psychology
Call Number: Credo BF109 .A1 B56 2002
Cambridge handbook of computational psychology
Call Number: Credo BF311.C187 2008
Cambridge handbook of expertise and expert performance
Call Number: Credo BF431.C26835 2006
Comprehensive dictionary of psychoanalysis
Call Number: ebrary BF173 .A5767 2009
Concise Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science, 3rd ed.
Call Number: Credo BF31 .E52 2004 (also Ebsco)
Concise dictionary of psychology
Call Number: ebrary BF31 .S62 1998
Corsini encyclopedia of psychology 4th ed.
Call Number: Gale E-book BF31.C8262 2010
Dictionary of cognitive science: neuroscience, psychology, artificial intelligernce, linguistics and philosophy
Call Number: Ebsco BF311 .V56713 2004
Dictionary of psychological testing, assessment and treatment
Call Number: ebrary BF176 .S78 2007 (also Ebsco)
Dictionary of theories, laws, and concepts in psychology
Call Number: ebrary BF31 .R625 1998 (also Ebsco)
Elsevier's dictionary of psychological theories
Call Number: Credo BF31 .E44 2006
Encyclopedia of adult development
Call Number: ebrary BF724.5 .E53 1993 (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of applied psychology
Call Number: Credo BF636 .E52 2004
Encyclopedia of cognitive science
Call Number: Credo BF311 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of consciousness
Call Number: Credo BF311 .E53 2009
Encyclopedia of counseling
Call Number: Gale E-Book BF636.54.E53 2008
Encyclopedia of perception
Call Number: Credo BF311 .E497 2010
Encyclopedia of psychological assessment
Call Number: Credo BF39 .E497 2003
Experimental phenomena of consciousness: a brief dictionary
Call Number: ebrary BF311 .B35 2007 (also Ebsco)
Key concepts in developmental psychology
Call Number: Credo BF713 .S32 2006
Key thinkers in psychology
Call Number: Credo BF95 .H37 2006
Oxford companion to the mind
Call Number: Ebsco BF31.O94 1987
Penguin dictionary of psychology, 4th ed.
Call Number: Credo BF31 .R43 2009

Psychiatry

Dictionary of existential psychotherapy and counselling
Call Number: ebrary RC489.E93 V357 2005
Dictionary of forensic psychology
Call Number: Credo RA1148 .D53 2008
Edinburgh international encyclopaedia of psychoanalysis
Call Number: Credo RC501.4 .E35 2006
Encyclopedia of autism spectrum disorders
Call Number: Ebsco RC553 .A88 T87 2007
Encyclopedia of elder care: the comprehensive resource on geriatric and social care
Call Number: ebrary RC954 .E53 2008
Encyclopedia of neuropsychological disorders
Call Number: Credo RC341 .E53 2012
Encyclopedia of schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders
Call Number: Ebsco RC514 .N63 2007
Encyclopedia of substance abuse prevention, treatment & recovery
Call Number: GALE E-BOOK RC563.4 .E53 2009
International encyclopedia of depression
Call Number: Credo RC537.I573 2009
Gale encyclopedia of mental health, 3rd ed.
Call Number: Gale E-book RC437.G36 2012

Anthropology

Biographical dictionary of anthropologists
Call Number: Credo GN20 .S84 2009
Dictionary of race, ethnicity and culture
Call Number: Credo GN495.6.D53 2003
Encyclopedia of modern ethnic conflicts
Call Number: Ebsco GN496 .E56 2003
Encyclopedia of multicultural psychology
Call Number: Credo GN502 .E63 2006
Routledge encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology, 2nd ed.
Call Number: Credo GN307 .E525 2010

Communities, Classes, Races

Encyclopedia of emancipation and abolition in the Transatlantic world
Call Number: Credo HT985 .E53 2007
Encyclopedia of urban America: the cities and suburbs
Call Number: Credo HT123 .E5 1998
Key concepts in urban studies
Call Number: Credo HT109 .G68 2005

Socialism, Communism, Anarchism

Dictionary of alternatives : utopianism and organisation
Call Number: Credo HX806 .P36 2007

Sociology -- General

American Attitudes: What Americans think about issues that shape our lives
Call Number: Ref. HN90.P8 A527 2008
Baby Boom: Americans born 1946 to 1964
Call Number: ebrary HC110.C6 B339 2015
Blackwell dictionary of sociology: a user's guide to sociological language
Call Number: Credo HM425 .J64 2000b (also Ebsco)
Cambridge dictionary of sociology
Call Number: Credo HM425.C36 2006
Cambridge handbook of sociocultural psychology
Call Number: Ebsco HM1033.C34 2007 (also Credo)
Collins dictionary of sociology
Call Number: Credo HM425.C65 2005
Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000
Call Number: Gale E-Book HN373.E63
Encyclopedia of group processes & intergroup relations
Call Number: Credo HM716 .E53 2010
Encyclopedia of human relationships
Call Number: Credo HM1106 .E53 2009
Encyclopedia of power
Call Number: Ebsco HN49.P6 E53 2011
Encyclopedia of relationships across the lifespan
Call Number: ebrary HM132 .T83 1996
Encyclopedia of social psychology
Call Number: Credo HM1007 .E53 2007
Encyclopedia of social theory
Call Number: Ebsco HM425.E47 2005
Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict
Call Number: Credo HM1121 .E59 2008
Handbook of economic sociology
Call Number: Credo HM548 .H25 2005
Penguin dictionary of sociology
Call Number: Credo HM425.A23 2006
Propaganda and mass persuasion: a historical encyclopedia, 1500 to the present
Call Number: Credo HM1231.C85 2003
Public opinion and polling around the world: a historical encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo HM1236.P83 2004
Sage dictionary of cultural studies
Call Number: Credo HM623.B374 2004

Marriage, Family, Women

Cambridge encyclopedia of child development
Call Number: Credo HQ767.9.C352 2005
Contemporary youth culture: an international encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo HQ796.C8154 2006
Dictionary of homophobia: a global history of gay & lesbian experience
Call Number: ebrary HQ76.4 .D5313 2008
Domestic violence: a reference handbook
Call Number: Ebsco HQ809.3.U5 M385 1999
Encyclopedia of adolescence
Call Number: Springer HQ796 .E53 2011
Encyclopedia of aging
Call Number: ebrary HQ1061.E53 2006 (also Credo)
Encyclopedia of aging
Call Number: Gale E-Book HQ1061.E534 2002
Encyclopedia of feminist theories
Call Number: ebrary HQ1190 .E63 2002
Encyclopedia of motherhood
Call Number: Credo HQ759 .E52 2010
Encyclopedia of sex and gender: men and women in the world's cultures
Call Number: Credo HQ16 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of women and gender : sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender
Call Number: Credo HQ1115 .E43 2001
Encyclopedia of women social reformers
Call Number: Credo HQ1236 .R29 2001
Encyclopedia of women's autobiography
Call Number: Credo HQ1185 .E63 2005
Feminist philosophies A-Z
Call Number: Credo HQ1190.M386 2008
From suffrage to the Senate: America's political women, an encyclopedia of leaders, causes & issues
Call Number: Credo HQ1236.5.U6 S32 2013
Girl culture: an encyclopedia
Call Number: Ebsco HQ798 .G523 2008
Handbook of aging and the social sciences
Call Number: Credo HQ1061 .H336 2015
Historical and multicultural encyclopedia of women's reproductive rights in the United States
Call Number: ebrary HQ766.5 .U5 H57 2002 (also Ebsco)
International encyclopedia of men and masculinities
Call Number: Ebsco HQ1090 .I58 2007
Key concepts in feminist theory and research
Call Number: Credo HQ1190 .H84 2002 (also ebrary)
Reader's companion to U.S. women's history
Call Number: Credo HQ1410 .R43 1998 (also Ebsco)
Women's studies encyclopedia
Call Number: ebrary HQ1115 .W645 1999
Women in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo HQ1143.W643 2004

Social pathology, Criminology

9/11 encyclopedia 2nd ed.
Call Number: Credo HV6432.7.A85 2011
Alcohol and temperance in modern history: an international encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo HV5017.A43 2003
Crime in the United States
Call Number: Online HV6787.A3
Dictionary of policing
Call Number: Credo HV8195.A2 D53 2008
Dictionary of prisons and punishment
Call Number: Credo HV7411.D53 2008
Dictionary of probation and offender management
Call Number: Credo HV9345.A5 D53 2007
Dictionary of youth justice
Call Number: Credo HV9145 .A5 D54 2008
Encyclopedia of adoption
Call Number: Ebsco HV875.55 .A28 2007
Encyclopedia of capital punishment in the United States
Call Number: Credo HV8694 .P35 2008
Encyclopedia of domestic violence
Call Number: Ebsco HV6626 .E534 2007
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior
Call Number: Gale E-book HV5804.E53 2001
Encyclopedia of white-collar and corporate crime
Call Number: Ebsco HV6768.E63 2013
Guns in American society: an encyclopedia of history, politics, culture and the law
Call Number: Credo HV7436.G8783 2012
Historical dictionary of law enforcement
Call Number: ebrary HV7903 .R67 2001
Sage dictionary of criminology
Call Number: ebrary HV6017 .S23 2001
Sage encyclopedia of terrorism, 2nd ed.
Call Number: Gale E-book HV6431.K883 2011 (also Ebsco)
Social history of crime and punishment in America: an encyclopedia
Call Number: Ebsco HV6779.S63 2012
Terrorism: essential primary sources
Call Number: GALE E-BOOK HV6431 .T4432 2006
World of criminal justice
Call Number: Credo HV7411.W67 2002b