For this annotated bibliography, you will locate 10 academic sources on the seminar paper topic you worked out with your instructor in Discussion Board 2.2. Last week’s presentations on navigating the library and developing an annotated bibliography should guide you through this process.
You will compile your bibliography in Turabian format and add an annotation immediately following each source, summarizing the source’s content and explaining how it could be useful to your planned argument. These annotations should each be 100-150 words. Please note that at this point, you need have only a general familiarity with each source gained through targeted reading of the abstract, introduction, table of contents, and the like (though any careful reading and note-taking you do now will benefit you later).
Topic Options:
The role of rhetoric in apologetics
The role of the imagination in apologetics
Apologetics for the church
The relationship between apologetics and evangelism
The promise and peril of apologetics
Contemporary challenges for apologetics
Lessons for today from an early church apologist
The Great Commandment and apologetics
Apologetics and spiritual formation
1. Define or identify your research need. This will be evident in your thesis statement. What kind of information do you need?
Using the Oxford English Dictionary or Dictionaries located in the Credo Reference Sets look up Kairos and Appologetics.
2. Find: Locate, access, retrieve, books, articles ethically etc. Do you know how to access the sources or database to use? Do you know how to input keyword searches efficiently for your search? (Suggested Databases: Jstor, Atla, Philosophy and Religion, Academic Search Complete and Science Direct OR OneSearch.
3. Evaluate what you have found; is it reputable? Is it an editorial, opinion, or an eye witness account? Is it a study? How will you know if the source if reliable? Sort your sources, read and write your annotated bibliography for each. Use Turabian citation.
Did you use Peer Reviewed Journals and academic books?
4. Organize or decide how you will apply or use the knowledge. Sort your information pieces so you know how they will fit into your research outline. Remember some sources might be used several times in the same piece.
5. Acknowledge where you found the information and back up your statements. Use your footnotes and bibliography. Others will want to see who backs up your argument.
