• Comprehensive business research database
• Full text
• Includes Wall Street Journal and access to company and executive profiles for more than 60,000 companies
• Full text
• Scholarly journals on accounting and tax.
• Includes current news & topics, as well as trends & history influencing important accounting & tax issues
You can search the EDGAR database for company filings with the SEC — including quarterly and annual reports, registration statements for IPOs and other offerings, insider trading reports, and proxy materials.
You can also search SEC.gov and Investor.gov together here for public statements, proposed and final rules, enforcement actions, educational materials, and other documents.
They have developed a versatile tool lets you search for keywords and phrases in over 20 years of EDGAR filings, and filter by date, company, person, filing category or location.
• Contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and private companies as well as 225,000 key executives
• Includes in-depth industry analyses, information on a company’s location, summary financials, top competitors, and more
• Provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas
• Over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals are covered
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, federal, and state cases including state laws. including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Also includes full text news, business, education, medical and reference information.
Occupational Outlook Handbook is produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It includes career information which is designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives and describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects. It is updated every two years.
Check out their video: Using the Occupational Outlook Handbook for Your Career Search.
• This database offers top-line international market research overviews focusing on 40+ industries in more than 40 countries worldwide, including regional summaries
• Provides market size, share, forecasts and segments
With regular updates, this Collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject reference works like encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions, and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. In addition to full-text content, the Academic Core Collection provides access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, as well as 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs, and maps.
ProQuest Ebook Central makes up about 1/2 (125,000+) of Moody Library's E-book collection. They have designed it with mobility in mind. Access the site from your tablet or phone, and download E-books for offline reading. Students will need to login a second time from off-campus with the HCU credentials per ProQuest requirements.
• Full text books covering all disciplines
• Books may be searched through the Library’s Catalog or from the ebrary website
• Includes over 70,000 titles
Covers resources in business, education, history, writing/literature, nursing, religion, science, and social science. Click the More Info button below to see the title list available.
Business:
* Business Plans Handbook
* CaseBase: Case Studyies in Global Business
* Encyclopedia of American Industries (6th 3e., 2011)
* Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society (2008)
* Encyclopedia Emerging Industries (5th ed., 2007)
* Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies (2007)
* International Directory of Company Histories
Education:
* College Blue Book (v35-current)
* Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology (2010)
* Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies (v.1-2, 2010)
* Encyclopedia of Education Law (2008)
* Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia (v1-2, 2009)
* Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans: A Guide to Education-Related Financial Aid Programs for Students and Professionals, 38th ed, 2021
* American Decades, 10 vols. 1900-1999, 2001.
* American Decades Primary Sources, 2004.
* American Decades: 2000-2009, 2011.
* American Decades Primary Sources, Vol. 11: 2000-2009, 2013.
* American Eras: Primary Sources
* Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World, 2004.
* Ancient Greece and Rome: An Encyclopedia for Students, 1998.
* The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students, 2000.
* Anti-Immigration in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia, 2011.
* Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 2002.
* Encyclopedia of European Social History, 2001.
* Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450, 2007.
* Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, 2004.
* Vietnam War Reference Library, 2001. 5 vols.
Writing/Literature
* Encyclopedia of Journalism, 2009.
* Reference Guide to Holocaust Literature, 2002.
Nursing
* The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, 2013. 6 vols.
* NOTE: Other nursing books are outdated.
Religion
* Contemporary American Religion, 2000.
* Encyclopedia of Global Religion, 2012.
* Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2006.
* Encyclopedia of Religion in America, 2010.
* Encyclopedia of Science and Religion, 2003.
* New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2003. 15 vols.
* New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2009.
Science
* Chemical Compounds, 2006.
* Chemical Elements, 2nd ed., 2010.
* Chemistry: Foundations and Applications, 2004.
* Encyclopedia of Bioethics, 3rd ed., 2004.
* Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics, 2005.
* Genetics, 2003.
* The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2010.
* Encyclopedia of Counseling, 2008.
Social Science
* Censorshipm Lauri S. Friedman, ed. Writing the Critical Essay: An Opposing Viewpoints Guide Detroit, MI: Greenhaven Press, 2009.
* Countries and Their Cultures, 2001.
* Encyclopedia of Aging, 2002.
* Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2009.
* Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery, 2009.
* Encyclopedia of World Cultures: Supplement, 2002.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive (i.e., not current). It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.
• Service offered by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission
• Searches through catalogs of 76 public libraries, 52 academic libraries, 4 unique libraries, and 17 TexShare commercial databases
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. Click the More Info button that includes links to two helpful videos to enhance your use.
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.
OED Labs – Our goal is to further develop the OED’s offering to actively support the needs of academic research as they evolve in the coming years. Take a look at new ways to access OED data, including the OED Researcher API and the OED Text Visualizer.
Video guides: Take a look at our short guides to help you get the most out of your OED access.
• Full text, multidicsiplinary database
• Indexes more than 19,000 titles, with over 13,000 in full text
• In addition to journals, the database also includes newspapers, dissertations, and business information
ScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 1,750 active journals and 39,000 books to help users discover more novel science, use their time efficiently, and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information.
Our collection includes Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities (including Arts, Business, Education, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, and Psychology).
WorldCat is a a database of billions of bibliographic records for books and other materials in libraries, literally, across the world. By inputting your location or zip code, WorldCat shows you what libraries carry the book title of interest. You WILL need to verify that the item you want is available for checkout before going to visit. You can also use the public web site version instead.
NOTE: HCU Moody Library can provide TexShare cards to HCU students giving the holder the right to check out up to four items from affiliated TexShare libraries around the state. Cards are valid for only one semester at a time and available at the Moody Library Reference Desk. SPECIAL NOTE ABOUT RICE UNIVERSITY: To borrow materials from Rice, you must first speak with the HCU Reference Librarian to receive permission from Rice, according to their policy. Please stop by for a visit or give us a call at 281-649-3180.
If You Need Help
The library offers so many business subject-specific databases that it might be hard to know where to start.
For assistance during regular business hours call the Reference Desk on 281-649-3180 or email (reference@hc.edu).
You may be transfered by phone to the Reference Desk from the Library Circulation Desk- 281-649-3304.
The librarian on call can answer many question over the phone, or may set up a in-person visit. We promise to return your email within one business day.
Access note: If you are accessing these databases from home you will need your HCU network id/password.
