JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive (i.e., not current). It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.
WorldCat is a a database of billions of bibliographic records for books and other materials in libraries, literally, across the world. By inputting your location or zip code, WorldCat shows you what libraries carry the book title of interest. You WILL need to verify that the item you want is available for checkout before going to visit. You can also use the public web site version instead.
NOTE: HCU Moody Library can provide TexShare cards to HCU students giving the holder the right to check out up to four items from affiliated TexShare libraries around the state. Cards are valid for only one semester at a time and available at the Moody Library Reference Desk. SPECIAL NOTE ABOUT RICE UNIVERSITY: To borrow materials from Rice, you must first speak with the HCU Reference Librarian to receive permission from Rice, according to their policy. Please stop by for a visit or give us a call at 281-649-3180.
