LibGuides: Biblical Commentaries: Finding Resources

ATLA Religion (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
American Theological Library Association. This is the premier database for research in the field of religion and theology.
• Searchable by scripture text. We recommend book and chapter (excluding verses) for best results.
• 1949 – present
• Index of journals articles, multi-author works, and books reviews in the field of religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive (i.e., not current). It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.

Perseus
From Tufts University. The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Collaborators initially formed the project to construct a large, heterogeneous collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world. The project has expanded into other areas of the humanities adding tools for more languages, a variety of collections, and new types of materials.
more...less...
The classical foundation has paved the way for literary and historical collections ranging from the English Renaissance to the American Civil War, and Greek tools became a foundation for the development of resources in Latin, Italian, and Arabic.

The project continues to explore new ways of presenting complex resources for electronic publication. Collaboration with the Digital Collections and Archives of Tufts University led to the Bolles Collection on London. Other collections in development include the American Civil War.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy provides access to high quality work in philosophy. It was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered primarily include history, philosophy, and religion. You are invited to enjoy its Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations, in familiar ways and in surprisingly new ones. This is the complete collection. Moody Library has about two-thirds of the physical collection.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
With regular updates, this Collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject reference works like encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions, and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. In addition to full-text content, the Academic Core Collection provides access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, as well as 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs, and maps.

Philosophy and Religion Virtual Reference Shelf.
- All these resources are digital.
- If you experience an access problem, please let us know.

Biblical Commentaries: Finding Resources