Basic Philosophy: Existentialism

French novelist, dramatist, and essayist, noted for his pessimistic portrayal of man's condition of isolation in an absurd world.

French writer noted for his diaries and novels, such as The Immoralist (1902) and Lafcadio's Adventures (1914), which examine alienation and the drive for individuality in an often disapproving society.

French philosopher and playwright, a major representative of French existential thought.

German psychiatrist, philosopher, and theologian. A founder of modern existentialism, he was concerned with human reactions to extreme situations.

From Dictionary of Existentialism
Lev Shestov was the son of a wealthy Kiev textile manufacturer. After studying mathematics and law at the universities of Moscow and Kiev, he worked in his father's company.

Spanish philosopher and writer. His novels, poetry, and philosophical studies, such as The Tragic Sense of Life (1913) often address the conflict between reason and faith and the solitary nature of human existence.

From Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Russian religious thinker. He began as a “Kantian Marxist” in epistemology, ethical theory, and philosophy of history, but soon turned away from Marxism (although he continued to accept Marx’s critique of capitalism) toward a theistic philosophy of existence.

Samuel Beckett achieved worldwide fame in 1953 with his play Waiting for Godot. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1969 and was a hugely influential figure in twentieth-century drama.

From The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
German term for a special form of anxiety, an emotion seen by existentialists as both constituting and revealing the human condition.

Anticipatory tension or vague dread persisting in the absence of a specific threat. In contrast to fear, which is a realistic reaction to actual danger, anxiety is generally related to an unconscious threat.

From The Encyclopedia of Ethics
The term, introduced into existentialist philosophy by Martin Heidegger (1889-1976), was popularized by Jean-Paul Sartre (1905-1980).

From A Dictionary of Philosophy
Usually equivalent in the verbal sense to 'existence' (see is). As the most general property of all reality this is often considered to be the defining subject of metaphysical enquiry.

The state of being aware of oneself and one's surroundings, without hindrance from sleep, illness, drugs, or hypnotism. This awareness is not purely of external events or phenomena, but also of one's own feelings, beliefs, and mental events.

From Dictionary of Existentialism
Since Plato and Aristotle the term “essence” and the closely related term “idea” have been key terms in Western PHILOSOPHY.

From The Edinburgh International Encyclopaedia of Psychoanalysis
A term utilized by Heidegger to characterize the matter-of-fact, concretely individual aspect of human life as it is experientially lived.

From Dictionary of Visual Discourse: A Dialectical Lexicon of Terms
The prescientific life-world, or the concrete world of everyday life prior to all theorizing, science and philosophy.

From The Encyclopedia of Postmodernism
Nothingness is a term denoting the absence of essence or inherent existence in things. Every world philosophy eventually deals with the subject of nothingness.

From A Dictionary of Philosophy, Macmillan
That which has no meaning, reason, or purpose despite a human need or prima facie appearance to the contrary.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Philosophical and literary movement in which man and his capabilities are the central concern.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Derived from the Latin nihil, “nothing,” nihilism in ethical discourse is generally defined as the absolute denial or negation of values.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Modern school of philosophy founded by Edmund Husserl. Its influence extended throughout Europe and was particularly important to the early development of existentialism.

Term used to designate a multitude of trends—in the arts, philosophy, religion, technology, and many other areas—that come after and deviate from the many 20th-cent. movements that constituted modernism.