Career Planning: Career Books in Moody Library

This resource contains up-to-date information on more than 500 of the most promising jobs for the 21st century. Ranked by earnings, expected growth through 2012, and annual openings, these jobs provide information on educational requirements, earnings, duties, and relevant skills.

In this book psychologists discuss their work: what got them into it, what they like and don't like about it, and what a typical work week is like in their chosen specialty. These psychologists offer advice, information, and the inspiration of their own career paths. They speak frankly about salaries and job opportunities and about what it takes to make it in their field. Among the careers discussed in these pages are the following: School psychology, Consulting psychology, Industrial/organizational psychology, Counseling psychology, Clinical psychology in hospitals, Military psychology, Public service, Psychology in academic careers, Health psychology, Psychology in managed care.

Written for undergraduates, this title describes 26 occupations associated with the health care industry.

This book offers straightforward advice to anyone who is exploring career options and provides information that will help link academic choices to career paths.

Includes information about important steps to take before college, rising earning premiums, and more.

Includes specific information about preparing for a career, finding a job, the application process, and finally getting a job. The second section gives information on important career fields, such as Accounting, Biology, Computer Software, Education, Health Care, Law, Manufacturing, and many other fields.

Covers more than 100 careers in the health care field, including expanded coverage of careers in alternative medicine. Informed by interviews with people working in careers related to health care, each article contains an in-depth look at a particular job, including typical responsibilities, the training and skills required, salary and job outlook information and much more.

Lists 8,000 educational programs and 2,500 educational institutions in 77 different health professions, such as physician, dentist, nurse, radiographer, medical assistant, art therapist, physician assistant, rehabilitation counselor, and more. Includes occupational descriptions, employment characteristics, and information on educational programs, such as length, curriculum, and prerequisites.

In addition to Houston, this publication covers Beaumont, Baytown, Galveston, and many other area cities. Includes company profiles, addresses, phone & fax numbers, E-Mail & Web addresses, common professional positions, educational backgrounds sought, internships offered, benefits, and other information.

This extensive, authoritative resource includes detailed descriptions of 100 health-care careers education and training required, plus details on admission tests and financial aid, and thousands of training programs, with complete contact information . Also includes salary ranges, career potential, and advancement opportunities, sample health-care resumes and cover letters, certification and licensure procedures, and advice on choosing and planning a health-care career.

In this detailed survey of the teacher training market, readers get information on finding a school or program, funding their education, and choosing a district that is likely to meet their salary expectations. Chapters include an examination of teaching itself, alternate routes to the classroom, finding the school and the money, and how to get licensed. These are followed by indices of schools according to admission percentages, size, and success of students in state certification, as well as separate tables giving rates of pay for first-time teachers and those with master's degrees. This is followed by descriptions of schools and programs by state.