LibGuides: Women in American History: Online Resources for American Women's History

Access Online Resources from Off Campus

Moody Library is pleased to offer remote access to the library's many databases. The databases are available to currently-enrolled HCU students, faculty, and staff. An HCU network User ID and password is required for proper authentication.

Online Journal Databases with Full Text

The following databases index and in many cases provide full-text access to the peer-reviewed journal literature, i.e. secondary literature, of history.

Note: A digital archives such as JSTOR a can be considered a primary-source database depending upon the researcher's purpose.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text archival collection of backfiles of scholarly journals in all fields, including a large number of American history journals.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.

Important American Women's History Websites

Many of the websites listed below contain primary source documents for historical research. All of these sites are freely accessible to users of the Internet.

American Memory
Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
American Women (Library of Congress)
A gateway to sources on the history of American women.
American Women Through Time
Detailed timeline with links to relevant online sources, such as diaries, letters, photo collections, and lectures by historians.
American Women's History: a Research Guide
Excellent guide to women's history resources, on and off the Internet. Includes: bibliographies, scholarly books, encyclopedias, biographical sources, Internet multimedia exhibits, and state-specific research guides.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Provides digitized copies of newspaper pages from 1880-1910. Also contains directory information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Currently contains the newspapers from 9 states & the District of Columbia, including Texas.
Civil War Women
This site provides an annotated collection of "links to primary sources on the Internet that are directly related to women & the Civil War." It is organized into three categories: Diaries, Letters, Documents; Photographs & Prints, & General pages.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement
The materials in this on-line archival collection document various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focus specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s.
History of Women's Suffrage
See also the brief profiles of Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, & other influential suffragists; timelines; a bibliography; & links to related resources. From the Anthony Center for Women's Leadership at the University of Rochester, New York.
Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription Project