Literature: Basic: Related websites

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century is a digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920.

Eric Lease Morgan, systems librarian at North Carolina , has assembled electronic text files of literature (American and British) and of Western philosophy. Morgan has two criteria: that it is in public domain and 2) that it is generally considered a "classic".

According to its home page, "THE CAMELOT PROJECT is designed to make available in electronic format a database of Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information . . . "

The Humanities Text Initiative is a unit of the University of Michigan's Digital Library Production Service. The collections on this site are freely available to the Internet community.

The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet.

Part of the Internet Public Library. Provides links to online resources.

Full texts of numerous famous and important books.

The Rossetti Archive facilitates the scholarly study of Dante Gabriel Rossetti, the painter, designer, writer, and translator who was, according to both John Ruskin and Walter Pater, the most important and original artistic force in the second half of the nineteenth century in Great Britain.

Entries for this site range from lists of Asimov's books and essays to a chronology of events.

This site has information about JRR Tolkien, the books he wrote, his life, books others have written about him, and on the Society and its events.

A wiki for J. R. R. Tolkien.

Selected items from an exhibition of 25 September to 11 December 1998 shown in the Heller Gallery of The Bancroft Library, University of California at Berkeley that examined the role of travel in Twain's writing and his life.

Beyond the membership information, the Academy provides tip sheets on readings and displays, resource guides listing publishers, etc.

An internet publisher of literature, reference, and verse providing students, researchers, and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.

An internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion.

A useful site for translating a word or phrase.

Lists of links.

The site includes self-instructional materials in basic skills and pedagogical resources for teachers of writing across the curriculum. OWL also has starting pointers for Internet research, pointers to search engines, and advice on searching the Web.

Committed to directing users to Asian area content in the humanities and social sciences, the Portal to Asian Internet Resources (PAIR) is supported by an impressive complement of area studies scholars, bibliographers and subject selectors based at the libraries of the University of Wisconsin, the University of Minnesota and the Ohio State University.

First published as a book, it is a research and reference tool. Provides information on the major literary and historical perspectives, cycles, or movements in American literature.

Primarily covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

Articles on writing including tips and career information.

Provides citations to articles, books, news reports, obituaries, motion picture reviews and other material about science fiction and fantasy. Some coverage of horror, gothic and utopian literature is included.

Shakespeare Oxford Society is a non-profit, educational organization dedicated to exploring the Shakespeare authorship question and researching the evidence that Edward de Vere, the 17th Earl of Oxford (1550 – 1604) is the true author of the poems and plays of “William Shakespeare.”

Internet information relating to 116 poets.

This Indiana University website focuses on 19th century women writers.