Renaissance and Reformation: Reference Books

This book--the sixth volume in The Great Cultural Eras of the Western World series--provides information on more than 400 individuals who created and played a role in the era's intellectual and cultural activity. The book's focus is on cultural figures--those whose inventions and discoveries contributed to the scientific revolution, those whose line of reasoning contributed to secularism, groundbreaking artists like Rembrandt, lesser known painters, and contributors to art and music.

An authoritative and extensive encyclopedia of art in all locations and time periods. Because art is to important to medieval studies, this reference set is a valuable asset to research.

"This two-volume set on Islam is a timely resource aimed at the general reader. More than 500 articles, 200-5,000 words in length, describe the Islamic world from its known beginnings to the present day. A 'Synoptic Outline of Entries' at the beginning of volume one presents a thematic overview of the encyclopedia that facilitates browsing. A glossary of terms and a pronunciation key appear at the end of volume two, followed by genealogies, timelines, and a detailed index."

This six-volume reference work will prove to be an indispensable resource on any topic imaginable (from cooking methods to midwifery) in Renaissance studies. Grendler (history, Univ. of Toronto) has assembled nearly 1200 clearly written articles of varying length by over 600 international contributors. Designed to be of use to both student and scholar, the articles cover the period from approximately 1350 to the eve of the 30 Years' War in 1618, treating the Renaissance as both a specific period in history and as a cultural movement.

This resource chronicles the extraordinary changes in "natural philosophy" from the beginning of the sixteenth century to the end of the seventeenth century, the phenomenon known as the scientific revolution. Coverage is broader than in a traditional science encyclopedia, encompassing the political, religious, social, and technological factors bearing on developments in science. Scholarly without being obtuse, the 441 entries by a broad representation of international experts are signed and include short bibliographies. The choice of topics reflects recent studies in the history of science. Examples include both the positive and negative impact of the Jesuits on the scientific revolution, biographical pieces on individuals such as Jakob Bernoulli and Isaac Newton, and discussions on topics like Agriculture and Aristotelianism. A broad topical outline, chronology, and index are included.

his encyclopedia benefits from 30 years' worth of investigation and writing as well as the publication of works by Renaissance women. While 135 of the 180 entries are biographical, the remainder are stylish essays on topics as varied as Alchemy; Marriage; Music and women; Old age and women; Printers, the book trade, and women; and Sappho and the Sapphic tradition. As indicated by the subtitle, the focus is on Italy, France, and England, and the intent is to give as full a picture as possible of the life of women during the time.

Online version of a six-volume survey of European history from 1450, the beginning of the print revolution, to 1789 and the French Revolution. Presents over 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries covering the period's most significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare.

Authoritative companion to the Renaissance, covering not only Italy but developments in the arts, sciences, and ideas across Europe.

Provides introductory information on leading cultural figures of late medieval and early modern Europe.

The "Longman History Handbooks" have long been staples on reading lists of history courses in British universities, and this new edition of the early modern Europe handbook makes it easy to see why. In its coverage of European history from the fall of Constantinople in 1453 to the Treaty of Paris in 1763, it could hardly be more comprehensive. Chapters deal with political history, warfare and diplomacy, religion, European expansion, economy, and culture. Included are chronologies, encyclopedic description of events, biographies of major figures, a glossary of terms, statistics and graphs, genealogies, and maps. Included are detailed bibliographies for each subject or theme, accompanied by sample essay questions to guide further reading or study.

This four-volume set provides and analyzes 125 important primary-source documents and covers a broad range of world history-from the 2350 B.C.E. Reform Edict of Urukagina to 2000's Constitutive Act of the African Union-and targets all geographic regions. It includes influential documents such as Christopher Columbus's letter to Raphael Sanxis on the discovery of America, Martin Luther's 95 theses, Winston Churchill's "The sinews of peace" speech, and the Northern Ireland peace agreement. The primary sources incorporate laws and legal codes, treaties, edicts, and political speeches. Essays are compiled by a team of 75 noted historians and contain detailed bibliographies, time lines, key quotes from the documents, and study questions.

This 2nd edition is the standard reference book for all questions Catholic. Within its 15 volumes are excellent articles on theology, church history, and canon law; and thoughtful discussions on other religions, other forms of Christianity, and such topics as "Anarchism," "Poverty," and "Prostitution" (seen, of course, in the light of the Catholic faith and intellectual tradition). The entries range from lengthy and somewhat scholarly pieces on historical figures like Aristotle, Napoleon I, or Paul the Apostle to short biographies of the many lesser-known saints and popes and brief, explanatory articles on theological terms like "Joy" and "Hope" as well as many obscure sects and movements.

This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the first major reference to cover the immense subject of the Reformation in its entirety. Setting the issues of theology and ecclesiology within the broader context of the social and intellectual history of the time, it is the most authoritative reference available on early modern European society as a whole. The Encyclopedia is a unique compendium of contemporary scholarship focusing on the complete range of religious and social changes wrought by the Reformation - including not only issues of church polity and theology but also related developments in politics, economics, demographics, art, and literature. It is an unparalleled source of information on the personalities and events of the era, with broad coverage ranging from biographies to extensive treatments of topics such as Lutheranism, women, law, the Augsburg Confession, music, the Holy Roman Empire, peasants, the Bible, persecution, and literacy. Offering exhaustive interdisciplinary and international coverage of all aspects of the Reformation, this is the ultimate reference on the subject. Transcending the bounds of denominational encyclopedias and dictionaries of Reformation history currently available, it offers the only comprehensive picture of western Europe and the British Isles, along with southern Europe, Scandinavia, and east-central Europe in the early modern period.

An online music reference book source, Oxford Music, formerly called Grove Music Online, includes the full text of The New Grove Music Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, The New Grove Dictonary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, as well as The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, second edition, revised.

This accessibly written reference for students and general readers contains alphabetically arranged entries on important people, events, and places in French history from the Renaissance to the present. A sampling of topics includes Leon Blum, the Crimean War, the French Resistance, Huguenots, Emile Zola, and the Treaty of Aix-la- Chapelle.

Providing the chronological setting for many of Shakespeare's plays, various swashbuckling novels and Hollywood films, late Medieval England is superficially well known. Yet its true complexity remains elusive, locked in the covers of specialized monographs and journal articles. Covering political, military, religious and constitutional subjects as well as social and economic topics, this work is a useful resource for undergraduate and graduate students, scholars and educated laymen.; Rightly characterized as an age of crisis, the 14th century saw the Hundred Years War, the Black Death, the Peasants' Revolt of 1381, the Avignon Papacy, and the Great Schism of the Western Church. All placed great stresses on English society, aggravating old problems and creating new ones. The entries in this book synthesize recent scholarship on these and other historical events.

A ready reference for general readers, undergraduate and graduate students, teachers, and scholars, this volume contains 320 entries by 80 experts, covering a broad range of topics, plus a lengthy chronology and extensive bibliography. The entries include biographical profiles of major figures; the courts, exchequer, and other institutions; major court cases and documents, such as the Great Contract and Bill of Rights; and controversial examples of the royal prerogative. The Civil Wars, Glorious Revolution, and other rebellions and the Dutch, French, and Spanish Wars are also covered as well as religious movements, political groups, social and economic topics, and cultural subjects.

The Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World provides its users with clear definitions and descriptions of people, events, institutions, ideas, and terminology relating in some significant way to the Elizabethan period. The first dictionary of history to focus exclusively on the reign of Elizabeth I, this volume is also the first to take abroad trans-Atlantic approach to the period by including relevant individuals and terms from Irish, Scottish, Welsh, American, and Western European history.

The emphasis on this volume is on men and events in Italy, although it includes important entries on non-Italians. Includes biographical information on painters, popes, poets, writers, soldiers, rulers, sculptors, etc.

Contains entries covering music (eg Palestrina), architecture (eg palazzo), war, diplomacy (Machiavelli), religion, literature and social history, as well as the visual arts (eg Leonardo da Vinci). Includes entries written by major scholars such as Dennis Arnold, Brian Pullan and Marie Boas Hall.

The first encyclopedia devoted to the study of the Tudor period (1485-1603). Consists of more than 700 entries, incorporating the current state of scholarship of some 240 experts. Covers not only the colorful personalities of the era, but also the history, music, art, politics, science, society, and literature of the Tudor period.

This reference source includes entries on over 450 historians, dating from Herodotus to the present. Individuals have not necessarily been chosen on account of the importance of their own research but rather for their interest in, and influence on, the theory and practice of history and the role of the historian. In particular the Dictionary includes details of historians most frequently encountered by students following courses on historiography.

In addition to profiling literary figures, this database also includes information about many historians.