History of Britain: Reference Books

Contents: Introduction -- The Background -- Events -- Administration -- The Economy -- The Church.

Focusing on political, military, religious, and constitutional history of Medieval England, this reference offers information that is often elusive or difficult to understand within the covers of specialized monographs and journal articles.

A ready reference for general readers, undergraduate and graduate students, teachers, and scholars, this volume contains 320 entries by 80 experts, covering a broad range of topics, plus a lengthy chronology and extensive bibliography. The entries include biographical profiles of major figures; the courts, exchequer, and other institutions; major court cases and documents, such as the Great Contract and Bill of Rights; and controversial examples of the royal prerogative. The Civil Wars, Glorious Revolution, and other rebellions and the Dutch, French, and Spanish Wars are also covered as well as religious movements, political groups, social and economic topics, and cultural subjects.

The Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World provides its users with clear definitions and descriptions of people, events, institutions, ideas, and terminology relating in some significant way to the Elizabethan period. The first dictionary of history to focus exclusively on the reign of Elizabeth I, this volume is also the first to take abroad trans-Atlantic approach to the period by including relevant individuals and terms from Irish, Scottish, Welsh, American, and Western European history.

Covers social, cultural, and political life from the Anglo-Saxon invasions of the fifth century to the turn of the sixteenth century. Includes such aspects as art, architecture, law, literature, kings, commoners, women, music, commerce, technology, warfare, and religion. Also provides insights into England's ties with the Celtic world of Wales, Scotland, and Ireland; the French and Anglo-Norman world on the continent; the Viking and Scandinavian world of the North Sea; and to Christendom.

The first encyclopedia devoted to the study of the Tudor period (1485-1603). Consists of more than 700 entries, incorporating the current state of scholarship of some 240 experts. Covers not only the colorful personalities of the era, but also the history, music, art, politics, science, society, and literature of the Tudor period.

In addition to profiling literary figures, this database also includes information about many historians.

From the end of the Victorian era to the age of Blair, more than 750 entries trace the key political, diplomatic, and military events that shaped Britain in the 20th century. Appeasement, the blitz, and "bloody Sunday" in Ireland; flying bombs and flying pickets; D.H. Lawrence and Lawrence of Arabia; the "angry young men" of theater and film and the "four mop tops" known as the Beatles; all these and more receive in-depth coverage.

An encyclopedia portrayal of the period between 1837 and 1901, the reign of Great Britain's Queen Victoria, a time during which the aspirin was discovered and some of the most enduring work in literature, philosophy, and science were created. The alphabetical entries focus on Britain, though the books's scope is global, and represent significant people, places, and events in politics, art, literature, music, science, philosophy, war, business, architecture, and every day life and fashion.

An excellent guide to 20th-century British political history, this companion contains more than 3,000 entries prepared by 125 contributors. About a third of the entries are biographical sketches (politicians, royalty, civil servants, judges, and academics), while the remainder cover issues, events, organizations, and quotes. All entries are written strictly from a political perspective. The companion's coverage includes politics of Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland, as well as Ireland to 1921.

A comprehensive overview of modern Britain in some 600 signed, alphabetical entries. Some one-third of the entries are biographical, with many of the individuals also discussed in general thematic essays, especially those on politics, literature, and the arts. Other topics covered include academic disciplines, architecture, communications, economics and finance, education, foreign and imperial relations, government, health and personal life, industry and labor, music and dance, and organizations.

900 signed articles, ranging from 250 to 1500 words, written by 335 scholars and researchers. Covers all the major events, establishments, and accomplishments in Great Britain during Queen Victoria's reign. Each entry includes a bibliography of the standard secondary sources, the most authoritative recent work and those books or articles that contain bibliographies. Comprehensive index, with an appendix of sources, tables, and a chronology.

A unique history covering every major aspect of British life, with full coverage of England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland; contributions from 60 major scholars; an 840-entry biographical Who's Who; and 930 ready reference entries on key dates and events.

Includes primary source documents from about 500 to 1914.

The authoritative and indispensable record of all holders of major offices in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland.

Covering more than 2,000 years of British history, this one-volume historical dictionary includes social, political, military, cultural, economic, scientific, and biographical events. All entries are signed by the contributor and run from short 50-word descriptions to longer 1,000-to 1,500-word essays. Cited references are noted by an asterisk, and, when appropriate, cross-references are also provided. Entries cover the range of history from major political figures, such as Disraeli and Elizabeth I, to music, literature, and science, with entries for the Beatles, Mary Shelley, and Sir Isaac Newton.