American Religious History: Reference Books & General Histories

Not on Dr. Frear's bibliography.

This work describes various aspects of religious life in America from 1965 to the present. Each signed entry offers a clearly written, well-balanced discussion of the topic followed by see-also references and a bibliography. Major religions and smaller and fringe groups are represented as are individuals, symbols, traditions, beliefs, and practices. Coverage extends to subjects that readers might not initially think of in this context such as "Charles Colson" or "dowsing." Discussions of potentially controversial issues, e.g., "Wicca" or cults, are descriptive and nonjudgmental. The examinations of the moral issues involved in a number of contemporary, often highly charged political issues such as abortion are particularly valuable.

Useful for students of the Baptist tradition in America, this dictionary emphasizes Southern Baptists, although many other Baptist traditions, especially American Baptists, receive some attention. Each entry is historical in approach and attempts to offer brief information about persons, ideas, and movements that have been important in Baptist tradition in the US. Most entries, two to four to a page, cover persons (e.g., Carnell Edward John, John R. Rice, William Williams), all deceased, giving birth and death dates, something about their education, and the ways in which they influenced the thinking or organizational structure of a Baptist group in America. The dictionary also covers denominations or conventions, mission societies, colleges and seminaries, beliefs, and historical movements of the Baptist tradition.

Contains 2400 authoritative articles on nearly every aspect of Christianity in America. Includes the history, beliefs and practices of the major-as well as numerous minor--Christian traditions in America.

Covering facets of American religion, from the early days of the American republic to the rise of the Christian Right, 600 alphabetical entries describe religious and political leaders, historical events, court cases, and religious denominations, and discuss issues such as prayer in public schools, Native American sacred grounds, and polygamy.

A comprehensive reference on American religion and religious life, past and present. It covers many forms of religion such as Christianity, Hinduism, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, African-American religion, alternative religious movements and sects, trends such as Scientology and the Jesus Movement, and Native American religions. Some 700 alphabetical entries address important people, denominations, organizations, controversial issues (e.g., abortion, evolution, homosexuality), events and themes, and movements

With a range of topics as diverse as Native American religions and religion and film, this set traces the effects of particular religions on American history and the influence of American culture on the growth of religions and religious movements.

Provides information on historical background, doctrine, organization, and membership for each of more than two hundred twenty-five religious bodies in the United States.

This collection of 62 portraits provides an overview of the leading personalities of a North American phenomenon: popular religion that exists outside the denominational mainstream, is usually media-based, and depends upon the individual charisma of its leaders. Each entry includes a biography, appraisal, survey of criticism, and bibliography. Personalities range from Pat Robertson to Malcolm X, from Aimee Semple McPherson to the Berrigan brothers.

Now in two volumes, the Encyclopedia presents and analyzes an unmatched wealth of information about the extent, status, and characteristics of twentieth-century Christianity worldwide. It takes full account of Christianity's ecclesiastical branches, subdivisions, and denominations, and treats Christianity in relation to other faiths and the secular realm. It offers an unparalleled comparative study of churches and religions throughout the modern world.