Primary: Before it occurs injury or disease. PREVENT*
Secondary: Stop or reverse before symptomatic evidence found.
Tertiary: Reducing disability and improving functionality from disease or injury.
Complete Alphabetical Listing of Library Databases by Title
Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Includes the Houston Chronicle.
Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
American Indian Histories and CulturesAmerican Indian Histories and Cultures’ is a unique resource that makes available, for the first time, many rare and significant documents from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.
Spanning four hundred years, document types include manuscripts, artworks, speeches and petitions, diaries, correspondence, linguistic and ethnographic studies, photographs, maps, photographs, rare printed books and American Indian newspapers. Full color. Searchable. Multiple added features.
American WestSourced from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago, ‘The American West’ allows browsers to explore tales of frontier life, Pioneers, Wild West shows, the Gold Rush, vigilantes and outlaws.
Document types include: manuscripts, trade cards, wanted posters, photographs, claim certificates, news sheets, rare printed works, brand books, broadsides, correspondence, diaries, directories, journals, pamphlets, periodicals, and artworks. Full color. Searchable. Multiple added features.
American Theological Library Association. This is the premier database for research in the field of religion and theology.
• Searchable by scripture text. We recommend book and chapter (excluding verses) for best results.
• 1949 – present
• Index of journals articles, multi-author works, and books reviews in the field of religion.
Cabells is the complete source for journal info, evaluation metrics, and submission details-for universities of any size. If you want to publish or inquire about what the top journals are, or finding the right audience, then Cabells is for you. Sources available for business.
CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed.
This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
ProQuest Ebook Central makes up about 1/2 (125,000+) of Moody Library's E-book collection. They have designed it with mobility in mind. Access the site from your tablet or phone, and download E-books for offline reading. Students will need to login a second time from off-campus with the HCU credentials per ProQuest requirements.
• Full text books covering all disciplines
• Books may be searched through the Library’s Catalog or from the ebrary website
• Includes over 70,000 titles
Not full text. Abstracts cover areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, and educational research.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. This URL takes patrons to the government's interface, NOT EBSCO. There is a difference in search capabilities and result presentation.
The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.
• Full text
• Single federated search gateway to all HBU subscribed Gale e-Reference Books and e-books
• All books in this collection may also be accessed through the library catalog
The Handbook of Texas is a digital state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) that is freely available. The Handbook consists of overview, general, and biographical entries focused on the entire history of Texas from the indigenous Native Americans and the Prehistoric Era to the state’s diverse population and the Modern Age.
These entries emphasize the role Texans played in state, national, and world history. The TSHA continuously expands the Handbook through multi-year special projects that focus on diverse topics to preserve all Texans’ history. In 2016 the Handbook website experienced 10,454,137 page views with 4,657,707 unique users from 201 countries and territories, making it not only a Texas resource, but a global one.
The Handbook of Texas project began in 1939 as an effort led by University of Texas Professor Walter Prescott Webb to preserve Texas history and create “the most useful book that has ever been published in Texas.”
Provides information for students in health sciences programs, as well as consumers and health care professionals.
This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics related to patient and consumer health information including fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Access millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters, reference sources, as well as hundreds of health-related multimedia demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 15571 titles!
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive (i.e., not current). It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.
• Contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries
• Presents an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain
• Collection contains more than 26,000 pamphlets leading to over 1,000,000 pages of resources. Click More button to see collection types and date ranges.
Collection contains:
• Cowen Tracts (1603-1898)
• Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection (1800-1900)
• Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection (1545-1900)
• Hume Tracts (1769-1890)
• Knowsley Pamphlet Collection (1792-1868)
• Selections – University of Manchester British Political Pamphlets Collection (1799-1900)
• Selections – London School of Economics and Political Science (1800-1899)
• Selections – University of Bristol (1800-1899)
• Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection (1761-1900)
In today’s global economy emphasizing 21st Century skills, career-based knowledge and ongoing professional improvement is critical to succeeding in the workplace and in life. LearningExpress Library’s unique, interactive online learning platform provides patrons with the most comprehensive selection of career-oriented and academic resources available to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes, and re-entry into the workforce. Click the More button to see the variety of ways it can help you.
Organized into targeted learning centers, this e-resource supports those looking to improve core academic skills, find a job, or change careers. Learning centers include:
College admissions and placement exams (ACT®, SAT®, AP® and TOEFL®)
Academic skills-improvement through college (reading, writing, math, science)
Graduate School Admissions exams (DAT®, GRE®, GMAT®, LSAT®, MAT® and MCAT®)
Exploring careers
College Success Skills
Job search and workplace skills. This section also includes some professional practice, including NCLEX. This also includes a resume builder, with more than 120 model resumes.
Legal Information Reference Center offers everyday users the necessary tools and detailed how-to instructions covering a wide-range of legal issues. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. With the Legal Forms by U.S. State feature, users can search state-specific legal forms by top subject areas including adoption, bankruptcy, name changes and more.
Subjects covered primarily include history, philosophy, and religion. You are invited to enjoy its Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations, in familiar ways and in surprisingly new ones. This is the complete collection. Moody Library has about two-thirds of the physical collection.
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print. Much more detail in the More Info section.
All Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) entries contain descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in the English language and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.
Content Includes:
• Full-text reviews of 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments
• All previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938 (10,000+ full-text reviews)
• Tests In Print (TIP) — a bibliographical database to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
Micromedex is a significant resource for our nursing students. Click the More Info button for more about the variety of modules and smartphone options!
MODULES
1. Clinical Knowledge: Medication, Disease and Toxicology Management
- Evidence based clinical resources to support informed diagnosis and treatment decisions.
- Unbiased, referenced Clinical Decision Support (CDS) for medication, toxicology, disease, and alternative medicine.
- Safely and reliably manage drug therapy for pediatric and neonatal patients with NeoFax and Pediatrics evidence-based drug information.
- RED BOOK for drug pricing, drug data, and manufacturer information.
Find information about additional Micromedex at https://www.ibm.com/watson/health/provider-client-training/micromedex/
2. Formulary: Facility wide Formulary Management
- Easy-to-use online tool to effectively manage and update hospital formulary and communicate the most current information facility-wide.
3. Patient Connect: CareNotes
- Provides patients with complete, easy-to-understand patient education handouts.
- Patient education for conditions and diagnoses, labs, and procedures, written for every stage of care.
- Medication Instructions deliver a single source of evidence-based patient education.
- Documents are written at a 5th-7th grade reading level, and are available in up to 15 languages.
4. Medication Essential Fact Sheets
- Short and to-the-point drug information that supports better patient understanding and adherence.
- Helps improve medication-related Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) scores.
For more information about CareNotes Patient Education and Medication Essential Fact Sheets, visit https://www.ibm.com/watson/health/provider-client-training/micromedex-carenotes/
5. Pharmaceutical Knowledge: A Role-Based Solution for Pharmaceutical Professionals
- A tailored interface providing trusted evidence and global guidance with a Pharmaceutical perspective.
- Enhanced for advanced searching, ability to compare drug results, and aggregation with other information resources.
MOBLE APPS
There is an app for MicroMedex for our nursing students! According to iTunes and Google Play, MicroMedex has several apps:
•Micromedex Drug Int.
•Micromedex Drug Ref
•Micromedex IV Comp
*Micromedex Pediatrics
* NOTE: We do not have NeoFax.
When I click into MicroMedex website via desktop for our campus, it appears that we have access to those on the web version, so we should access via the app as well. Librarians are not nurses and don't use the app but wanted clarification on how our nursing students can login to these apps. On campus, they would have to validate through our proxy server. I would doubt the app has that capability, so we wanted to find out how they can successfully login as our student.
Solution:
You can find the passwords for Micromedex by logging into our subscription. On the top corner of the Micromedex homepage, in the upper right corner, look for the Mobile Application Access link. Click it will take you to IBM mobile Micromedex page. Now, please click on Micromedex Native Mobile Apps which will take you to the mobile passwords page. The passwords must be entered exactly as they appear onscreen. Please keep this email for future reference to find the passwords, as needed. We recommend doing this over a laptop or desktop. Passwords are only good for one year. You lose access sometime, so check the password.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, federal, and state cases including state laws. including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Also includes full text news, business, education, medical and reference information.
The library subscribes to only five journals from OVID: The American Journal of Nursing, Journal of Nursing Administration, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing Management, and Nursing. If you discover other articles of interest from other journals, you will need to submit an interlibrary loan request form to request them.
Occupational Outlook Handbook is produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It includes career information which is designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives and describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects. It is updated every two years.
Check out their video: Using the Occupational Outlook Handbook for Your Career Search.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 5,835,480 theses and dissertations.
This cross-curricular research database supports economics, environment, politics, science, social studies, current events, language arts classes and much more. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Includes doctoral dissertations and master's theses for the humanities and social sciences. This includes education, psychology, sociology, business, economics, literature, history, criminal justice, etc.
This is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses and is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
ProQuest - SciTech Premium CollectionThe SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research. This is primarily abstracts, not full-text unless HCU subscribes to that journal. You can request articles from interlibrary loan for email delivery between 24-72 hours.
Content notes:
* Coverage dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present
* Authored and edited books and book chapters
* Dissertations selected from Dissertation Abstracts International (Sections A and B)
* Publications from more than 50 countries
* Journals published in 29 languages
This database is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. This includes validity and reliability.
Includes thousands of actual test instruments. Cover fields of psychology, psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work among others.
Professionally indexed, APA PsycTests makes it easy to download select ready-to-use research instruments, including a wide range of reliable measures never made commercially available. Extensive coverage along with thousands of research instruments makes APA PsycTests an ideal starting point for researchers initiating new research projects.
APA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures.
Research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files
Select measurements available in more than 40 languages
Coverage spanning more than 100 years, with a strong emphasis on current research instruments.
The indexing employed in APA PsycTests allows for intuitive searching and browsing, providing detailed results using a variety of customized fields, including construct and research instrument type.
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites, including journals to which HCU subscribes, such as JAMA.
The PubMed database does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Science in Context (Gale)Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
ScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 1,750 active journals and 39,000 books to help users discover more novel science, use their time efficiently, and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information.
Our collection includes Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities (including Arts, Business, Education, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, and Psychology).
A collection of large-scale, detailed maps from 1867-1970 depicting the commercial, industrial, and residential sections of Texas towns and cities. Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.
Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape. Come explore America's rich and diverse building history.
In 1971 Marianne McDonald, then a graduate student in Classics at the University of California, Irvine, motivated by her dissertation research on "terms of happiness" in Euripides, proposed the creation of a computerized databank of Greek Literature. Founded in 1972 the TLG represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. The concept was extraordinary since no one until then had considered the marriage of Classical scholarship with the rapidly emerging new technologies.
WorldCat is a a database of billions of bibliographic records for books and other materials in libraries, literally, across the world. By inputting your location or zip code, WorldCat shows you what libraries carry the book title of interest. You WILL need to verify that the item you want is available for checkout before going to visit. You can also use the public web site version instead.
NOTE: HCU Moody Library can provide TexShare cards to HCU students giving the holder the right to check out up to four items from affiliated TexShare libraries around the state. Cards are valid for only one semester at a time and available at the Moody Library Reference Desk. SPECIAL NOTE ABOUT RICE UNIVERSITY: To borrow materials from Rice, you must first speak with the HCU Reference Librarian to receive permission from Rice, according to their policy. Please stop by for a visit or give us a call at 281-649-3180.
The definitive source of English words and word origins (etymologies).
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.
OED Labs – Our goal is to further develop the OED’s offering to actively support the needs of academic research as they evolve in the coming years. Take a look at new ways to access OED data, including the OED Researcher API and the OED Text Visualizer.
Video guides: Take a look at our short guides to help you get the most out of your OED access.
DISCLAIMER: These databases are provided for educational and informational purposes only, and does not constitute medical advice. The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Never disregard professional medical advice or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this database. Information provided in these databases should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Any personal medical advice taken by patrons based on using these databases alone is taken at your own personal risk. Speak to your physician first.
The R2 Digital Library is a web-based database available from Rittenhouse Book Distributors. It offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health, and psychology source book content from key health science publishers, on a web-based platform.
During the trial, the entire database will be open for viewing and use. The Library will monitor what books are used. After the trial, the Library will work with the nursing faculty to select books needed to support the Nursing and Allied Health programs and the entire database will be closed. Only books under consideration for purchase will be viewable.
CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed.
This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
Provides information for students in health sciences programs, as well as consumers and health care professionals.
This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics related to patient and consumer health information including fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Access millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters, reference sources, as well as hundreds of health-related multimedia demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Authoritative, up-to-date information on health topics.
offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
What dietary habits are associated with developing adult-onset diabetes? Are antioxidants really effective? What new advances have been made in the treatment of HIV/ AIDS? Gale Health and Wellness is your first-stop resource for answers to these and other health-related questions.
Features include:
* An updated, easy-to-navigate interface featuring topic portals with curated content on diseases and conditions; drugs; diagnostics and tests; and therapies, treatments, and surgeries
* A broad collection of premier full-text reference works, including Gale exclusives such as The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets
* Millions of articles from both scholarly medical journals and general-interest health magazines
* Spanish editions of notable content and a Spanish-language search filter
* Streaming video, audio, and images
* Mobile-responsive design
* Google and Microsoft integration
* Citation tools
* ReadSpeaker text-to-speech technology
* Improved translation
Provide access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
WHO is gathering the latest international multilingual scientific findings and knowledge on COVID-19. The global literature cited in the WHO COVID-19 database is updated daily (Monday through Friday) from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searching, and the addition of other expert-referred scientific articles. This database represents a comprehensive multilingual source of current literature on the topic. While it may not be exhaustive, new research is added regularly.
The Health Research Premium Collection is uniquely suited for libraries whose users require content for learning and researching medicine and related subject areas including medical and mental health. Our content helps health science librarians meet the research needs of many audiences, whether it’s supporting a clinical research study or providing faculty with instructional multimedia content to help students connect theory to practice.
While other providers tend to focus solely on the information needs of established professionals, ProQuest's unique mix of training content, scholarly literature, and clinical reference materials is accessible to those preparing for a career in healthcare. The variety of source types makes it easier for students and researchers alike to understand new subjects, access relevant literature, and monitor the latest thinking.
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print. Much more detail in the More Info section.
All Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) entries contain descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in the English language and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.
Content Includes:
• Full-text reviews of 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments
• All previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938 (10,000+ full-text reviews)
• Tests In Print (TIP) — a bibliographical database to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
Micromedex is a significant resource for our nursing students. Click the More Info button for more about the variety of modules and smartphone options!
MODULES
1. Clinical Knowledge: Medication, Disease and Toxicology Management
- Evidence based clinical resources to support informed diagnosis and treatment decisions.
- Unbiased, referenced Clinical Decision Support (CDS) for medication, toxicology, disease, and alternative medicine.
- Safely and reliably manage drug therapy for pediatric and neonatal patients with NeoFax and Pediatrics evidence-based drug information.
- RED BOOK for drug pricing, drug data, and manufacturer information.
Find information about additional Micromedex at https://www.ibm.com/watson/health/provider-client-training/micromedex/
2. Formulary: Facility wide Formulary Management
- Easy-to-use online tool to effectively manage and update hospital formulary and communicate the most current information facility-wide.
3. Patient Connect: CareNotes
- Provides patients with complete, easy-to-understand patient education handouts.
- Patient education for conditions and diagnoses, labs, and procedures, written for every stage of care.
- Medication Instructions deliver a single source of evidence-based patient education.
- Documents are written at a 5th-7th grade reading level, and are available in up to 15 languages.
4. Medication Essential Fact Sheets
- Short and to-the-point drug information that supports better patient understanding and adherence.
- Helps improve medication-related Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) scores.
For more information about CareNotes Patient Education and Medication Essential Fact Sheets, visit https://www.ibm.com/watson/health/provider-client-training/micromedex-carenotes/
5. Pharmaceutical Knowledge: A Role-Based Solution for Pharmaceutical Professionals
- A tailored interface providing trusted evidence and global guidance with a Pharmaceutical perspective.
- Enhanced for advanced searching, ability to compare drug results, and aggregation with other information resources.
MOBLE APPS
There is an app for MicroMedex for our nursing students! According to iTunes and Google Play, MicroMedex has several apps:
•Micromedex Drug Int.
•Micromedex Drug Ref
•Micromedex IV Comp
*Micromedex Pediatrics
* NOTE: We do not have NeoFax.
When I click into MicroMedex website via desktop for our campus, it appears that we have access to those on the web version, so we should access via the app as well. Librarians are not nurses and don't use the app but wanted clarification on how our nursing students can login to these apps. On campus, they would have to validate through our proxy server. I would doubt the app has that capability, so we wanted to find out how they can successfully login as our student.
Solution:
You can find the passwords for Micromedex by logging into our subscription. On the top corner of the Micromedex homepage, in the upper right corner, look for the Mobile Application Access link. Click it will take you to IBM mobile Micromedex page. Now, please click on Micromedex Native Mobile Apps which will take you to the mobile passwords page. The passwords must be entered exactly as they appear onscreen. Please keep this email for future reference to find the passwords, as needed. We recommend doing this over a laptop or desktop. Passwords are only good for one year. You lose access sometime, so check the password.
The library subscribes to only five journals from OVID: The American Journal of Nursing, Journal of Nursing Administration, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing Management, and Nursing2020. If you discover other articles of interest from other journals, you will need to submit an interlibrary loan request form to request them.
Occupational Outlook Handbook is produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It includes career information which is designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives and describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects. It is updated every two years.
Check out their video: Using the Occupational Outlook Handbook for Your Career Search.
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites, including journals to which HCU subscribes, such as JAMA.
The PubMed database does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
This database is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. This includes validity and reliability.
Includes thousands of actual test instruments. Cover fields of psychology, psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work among others.
Professionally indexed, APA PsycTests makes it easy to download select ready-to-use research instruments, including a wide range of reliable measures never made commercially available. Extensive coverage along with thousands of research instruments makes APA PsycTests an ideal starting point for researchers initiating new research projects.
APA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures.
Research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files
Select measurements available in more than 40 languages
Coverage spanning more than 100 years, with a strong emphasis on current research instruments.
The indexing employed in APA PsycTests allows for intuitive searching and browsing, providing detailed results using a variety of customized fields, including construct and research instrument type.
ScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 1,750 active journals and 39,000 books to help users discover more novel science, use their time efficiently, and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information.
Our collection includes Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities (including Arts, Business, Education, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, and Psychology).
