ERIC Educational Database: Home

Beginning April 24th, 2025, ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) – a key indexing database for education and the social sciences that is hosted by the federal government – will see a significant reduction in its content moving forward. Information about this reduction is changing and communication around what will happen has been vague; this page reflects knowledge that is currently known and will be updated as the library learns more.

Here's what we know:

• Journal availability in ERIC will be reduced from approximately 1,200 to 700 titles by April 25, 2025.  
• Journals cut from ERIC will not have new content added to those databases.  
• Records currently in ERIC will remain searchable, but full-text access still could be suspended. 
• Currently grassroots efforts have identified some of the journals being removed from ERIC's indexing and journal editors can submit their journal for inclusion on this list.  

Here's what we do not know:
 

• Whether or not the server will remain active.
• Whether the removal of journal titles from ERIC will be permanent. 
  • If ERIC remains unstaffed, current content and integrity may degrade because it will no longer be maintained (think: broken links, keyword issues, etc.). It is possible that an increasing number of journals will not be indexed. 
• What criteria is being employed to remove those titles. 
• If the ERIC full text of articles will be removed from ERIC on vendor platforms, too.
• Whether the 45% cuts to ERIC will be deeper. A 4/21/25 article from The Hechinger Report suggests the reduced budget proposal has not yet been approved.
   

How does this impact you?

• You will have less access to grey literature from ERIC; however, CloudSearch and ProQuest do pickup some of this information. Ask the librarians for more details.
• You will have to begin to look for content elsewhere; this likely means using the resources available on the library's education database page and changing the scope of CloudSearch searches (ask the librarians for more details).
• Fewer journals will over time, reduce the effectiveness of ERIC making it something more akin to an archive.
• The librarians are monitoring this situation and working with faculty on available options as this situation changes.
   

Gale OneFile

If you need ERIC, Gales Educator's Reference Complete may be helpful

From Gale's website:

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

=================

Last updated: 20250428/1146