Troubleshooting Library Database Access Issues: Clearing Browser Cache and Cookies

Cache

Cache are temporary internet files stored on your device making it faster to load pages to which you go frequently. Clearing these will usually cause no difficulty.

Clearing Cache in Chrome

• Click vertical dots beneath the X-close button.

• Click Settings

• Type Cache in the search box. Click clear browsing data.

• Click the Cached Images and Files button and nothing else. 

• Time range: All Time.

• It is usually a good idea to restart your browser.

Clearing Cache in Firefox

• Click the "hamburger" (triple dashes beneath the X-close browser button.

• Click Settings

• Type Cookies in the search box and press Enter.

• Click the Clear Data button.

• Click the Cached Web Content button only.

• It is usually a good idea to restart the browser.

DISCLAIMER

• The procedures documented here are designed to help you through access issues. 
• Neither the Library nor HCU ITS can help if:
  • if a Windows update or browser updates changes something on your system.
  • if you have may personal changes to the computer or browser, including aggressive anti-virus or malware software, these could have an adverse affect on database access.
• Neither the Library nor ITS is not responsible for the loss of access, data, or computer problems resulting from use of these instructions. If you are concerned about doing this yourself, work with a computer technician or someone whom you trust.
   

Notes:

Troubleshooting is a tricky art to master. The steps below often work, but neither the Library nor our Information Technology Department can guarantee a 100% success because there are many variables that could interfere.

This page is designed to give you some helpful ways of resolving issues on your own. We will do our best to help, but please be aware that the library can only go so far in troubleshooting web issues for the reasons stated above. Also, network or server problems can happen anywhere on the line (from your home, to your Internet Service Provider, to the HCU proxy server, or the database server.

==============

Instructions

• Be sure you are accessing database from the HCU database page and not some other URL. 
• Make sure your password works on the student portal. If not call 281-649-3410 to reset.
  • If you have not done so, make sure to set up your LetMeIn.hbu.edu information with a secondary email account to send verification codes, I highly encourage you to do so. If you need to reset your password or your account is locked, the system can send you a verification code to reset or release your account; however, that code is sent to the secondary email address.
• One easy solution is to try another browser. Web designers or companies will often create web pages that favor one browser over another. If you have trouble accessing a database or pages are not loading correctly, try using a different browser. Chrome and Firefox are the main standards. Browser updates can impact performance.
• Clear your browser's cache (temporary Internet files) using the instructions on the left. Close the browser and try again.
• If no success, then use the instructions on the left to clear SPECIFIC cookies. Beware that clearing ALL cookies will mean that you must login to every website you had been logged into. You should clear cookies for:
  • the specific database you are having trouble with (JSTOR, ProQuest, EBSCO, etc.), and
  • you should probably clear cookies for libproxy.hbu.edu as well.
  • Close the browser and try again.
• If you still have trouble:
  • You may want to explore anti-virus or cookie-blocking software you may have installed and make an exception for Libproxy.hbu.edu.
  • Maybe the browser is too outdated and needs updating.
  • Explore any personal browser settings you may have changed that affects cookies.
  • You can use the library technology report form to submit problems. Students can work directly with specific vendors. Use the report to specify your problems. The library can share the vendor contact information.

If databases can be accessed on campus and off-campus, then the problem is not with the HCU network, systems, or library database vendors. Beyond the ideas listed above, neither the library nor ITS will be able to help any further.

Cookies

The following instructions are designed to clear specific cookies. This will not affect other web sites still logged into, or anything related to passwords. For this example, let's assume you need to clear EBSCO cookies.

Clearing Cookies in Chrome

• Click vertical dots beneath the X-close button.

• Click Settings

• Type Cookies in the search box. Click Cookies and Other Site Data (NOT Clear Browsing Data and cache).

• About halfway down the page, click See All Cookies and Site Data.

• In the search box, type EBSCO, for example. It may be another database. 

• Click the trash can (delete) all EBSCO cookies. We're clearing only EBSCO cookies, nothing else.

• Click the X to close the browser and restart.

Clearing Cookies in Firefox

• Click the "hamburger" (triple dashes beneath the X-close browser button.

• Click Settings

• Type Cookies in the search box and press Enter.

• At the bottom, look for the Cookies and Site Data section

• Click the Manage Data button.

• Type EBSCO in the search box.

• Click the Remove All Shown button.

• Close browser and restart.