Note: Anything with a 
icon means that the ebook only has a three-user limit (i.e., three users at the same time). To minimize access problems, please do not keep the book open for extended periods of time. If the ebook is open for any reason, whether you are reading or not, the book is considered "in use" and blocking accessed by others. Please use efficiently, then be sure to close the tab to allow others the privilege of reading. Thank you!
Genesis 1-11 : Bible Commentaries from Muslim Contexts
by
**NOTE** - This book only has a three user limit. Please do not keep the book open for extended periods of times. Please use, then close to allow others the privilege of reading. Thank you! // Genesis is the book of beginnings; and creation begins with light. Most religious people live with shuttered windows, receiving light only from their own people and their own tradition. Genesis 1-11 calls us to recognize all peoples as created by God and under the rainbow covenant of his light. This commentary opens windows on seeds of truth from Genesis 1-11 which are planted in the various environments "in front of the text" - including the New Testament, rabbinic tradition, the Qur'an, and Bangladeshi culture. It examines those seeds in their original seedbed, discerning how their truths will unfurl from the fragrant Genesis 1-11 bud of theology through the blessings given to Eve, Noah, and Abraham.Windows on the Text is a ground-breaking Bible commentary series written by followers of Jesus in Muslim contexts. It develops biblical insight in deliberate conversation with the Qur'an, the Hadith, and local Islamic cultures. Confi dent that the Bible in its entirety speaks directly into Muslim contexts, it opens new windows into the holy word of God to equip and empower believers to live out their faith in loving service and clear communication within their communities.
The Gospels in Islamic Context
by
Bringing together scholars from across the world, this publication shows Christians and Muslims - individually or together - reading the canonical Gospels of the New Testament in 'conversation' with Islamic texts and contexts. In the discovery of meaning between text, context and praxis, this volume asks 'what are the texts doing?' in contexts as far flung as Indonesia, the Hijaz of early Islam, in Persian poetry of medieval times or modern Sunni interpretation in north America. This second edited volume in the series Reading the Bible in Islamic Context, continues the pioneering venture in contextual and intertextual reading. It shows the richness of cooperative scholarship that results from reading the New Testament in Islamic context, and exploring how the Gospel is understood in various religious traditions. The Gospels in Islamic Context will be of interest to scholars, students, and practitioners, encouraging them to explore new methods for taking into account intertextual factors as well as the history of Muslim-Christian relations that arises from them. It is a venture in which Muslims and Christians travel side by side and in conversation with each other, although with significantly different perspectives and often different agendas.
The Higher Objectives of Islamic Theology
by
In the Islamic tradition, fiqh (Islamic law) is generally regarded as the science of furū'al-dīn (matters complementary to the Islamic faith), as opposed to kalām (Islamic theology) which is known as the science of uṣūl al-dīn (matters primary to the Islamic faith). Over time, however, fiqh has significantly surpassed Kalām in terms of cognitive maturation and epistemic development. In The Higher Objectives of Islamic Theology, Mohammed Gamal Abdelnour argues that far too little attention has been paid to parallel developments in Islamic theology. Consequently, the theological project in the Islamic tradition has largely become limited to definitions and deliberations about the nature and qualities of the transcendent God, and has barely developed as a systematic discipline devoted to the higher objectives of Islamic theology, similar to those of Maqāṣid al-Sharī?a (higher objectives of Islamic law).Addressing this gap and drawing on the full-fledged genre of Maqāṣid al-Sharī?a, this study aims to develop a genre of Maqāṣid al-?Aqīda (higher objectives of Islamic theology) based on a scheme of core values (Truth, Justice, Beauty), instead of a scheme of ḥudūd (penalties). Arguing that the tradition's current overemphasis on law (Justice) has relegated both theology (Truth) and Sufism (Beauty) to the periphery of the tradition, Abdelnour illustrates how this marginalisation of theology and Sufism leaves less room for an "ethical Islam" and instead prioritises "legal" and "political Islam." In shifting the focus from law to theology, the book thereby grapples with such questions as: why did Islamic theology fail to develop a systemic genre of Maqāṣid al-?Aqīda? How do we chart out a map to guide the process of founding such an area? In what ways can the emerging Maqāṣid al-?Aqīda benefit from the well-established Maqāṣid al-Sharī?a? What are the ramifications of having an underdeveloped theology?
The Kalam Cosmological Argument
by
Does God exist? Of the many ongoing debates to answer this question, William Craig examines one of the most controversial proofs for the existence of God; the Kalam cosmological argument. Dr. Craig provides a broad assessment of the argument in lieu of recent developments in philosophy, mathematics, science and theology.
Misquoting Muhammad
by
Few things provoke controversy in the modern world like the religion brought by Muhammad. Modern media are replete with alarm over jihad, underage marriage and the threat of amputation or stoning under Shariah law. Sometimes rumor, sometimes based in fact and often misunderstood, the tenets of Islamic law and dogma were not set in the religion's founding moments. They were developed over centuries by the clerical class of Muslim scholars. "Misquoting Muhammad" takes the reader back in time through Islamic civilization and traces how and why such controversies developed, offering an inside view into how key and controversial aspects of Islam took shape. From the protests of the Arab Spring to Istanbul at the fall of the Ottoman Empire, and from the ochre red walls of Delhi's great mosques to the trade routes of Islam's Indian Ocean world, Misquoting Muhammad lays out how Muslim intellectuals have sought to balance reason and revelation, weigh science and religion, and negotiate the eternal truths of scripture amid shifting values.
Muslim Exegesis of the Bible in Medieval Cairo
by
Najm al-Dīn al-Ṭūfī's (d. 716/1316) extraordinary commentary on the Christian scriptures has not received the scholarly attention it deserves. Illustrating the way in which the Bible was read, interpreted and used as a proof-text in the construction of early 14th century Muslim views of Christianity, his al-Ta'līq 'alā al-Anājīl al-arba'a wa-al-ta'līq 'alā al-Tawrāh wa-'alā ghayrihā min kutub al-anbiyā' (Critical Commentary on the Four Gospels, the Torah and other Books of the Prophets) is an invaluable treasure for the study of Muslim-Christian dialogue and its history. In Muslim Exegesis of the Bible in Medieval Cairo, Lejla Demiri makes this important and unusual work available for the first time in a scholarly edition and English translation, with a full introduction that places Ṭūfī in his intellectual context.
The Oxford Dictionary of Islam
by
The dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, stressing topics of most interest to Westerners. What emerges is a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world. Naturally, readers will find many entries on topics of intense current interest, such as terrorism and the Taliban, Osama bin Laden and al-Qaida, the PLO and HAMAS. But the coverage goes well beyond recent headlines. There are biographical profiles, ranging from Naguib Mahfouz (the Nobel Prize winner from Egypt) to Malcolm X, including political leaders, influential thinkers, poets, scientists, and writers. Other entries cover major political movements, militant groups, and religious sects as well as terms from Islamic law, culture, and religion, key historical events, and important landmarks (such as Mecca and Medina). A series of entries looks at Islam in individual nations, such as Afghanistan, the West Bank and Gaza, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and the United States, and more.
Psalms Through the Centuries, Volume 1
by
This is the first of a two-volume bible commentary covering the Psalms and examining the role of these biblical poems throughout Jewish and Christian history. Provides a fascinating introduction to the literary, historical, and theological background of psalmody Examines the psalms through liturgy and prayer, study and preaching, translation and imitation, and musical composition and artistic illustration Includes illustrations of significant psalms, helpful maps, and an extensive bibliography; an expanded bibliography to accompany the book is also available at www.wiley.com/go/gillingham A forthcoming second volume is planned, which will take an alternative psalm-by-psalm approach Now available in paperback, and published in the innovative reception-history series, Blackwell Bible Commentaries
Psalms Through the Centuries, Volume 2
by
**NOTE** - This book only has a three user limit. Please do not keep the book open for extended periods of times. Please use, then close to allow others the privilege of reading. Thank you! // Psalms Through the Centuries: Volume Two provides the first ever extensive commentary on the Jewish and Christian reception history of the first two books of the Psalter (Psalms 1-41 and 42-72). It explores the various uses of the Psalms, over two millennia, in translation and commentary, liturgy and prayer, study and preaching, musical composition and artistic illustration, poetic and dramatic imitation, and contemporary discourse. With lavish illustrations, using examples from both music and art, Psalms Through the Centuries: Volume Two offers a detailed commentary on each psalm, with an extensive bibliography, a large glossary of terms, and helpful indices. It is an ideal resource both for students and scholars in the academy and for lay people and ministers in church and synagogue. Psalms Through the Centuries is published within the Wiley Blackwell Commentary series
Psalms Through the Centuries, Volume 3
by
This third volume completes the set of a groundbreaking reception history of the Psalter, the culmination of two decades' work In Volume Threeof Psalms Through the Centuries: A Reception History Commentary on Psalms 73-151, the internationally recognized biblical scholar Professor Susan Gillingham examines the Jewish and Christian cultural and reception history of Books Three to Five of the Psalter. She examines the changing ways in which psalms have been understood in translations and commentaries, liturgy and prayer, study and preaching, music and art, poetic and dramatic performance, and political and ethical discourse. Lavishly illustrated with thirty colour plates, several black and white images and a number of musical scores, this volume also includes a comprehensive glossary of terms for readers less familiar with the subject and a full, selective bibliography complete with footnote references for each psalm. Numerous links to website resources also allow readers to pursue topics at greater depth, and three clearly organized indices facilitate searches by specific psalms or authors, or types of reception for selected psalms. This structure makes the commentary easy to use, whether for private study, teaching or preaching. The book also offers: A one-of-a-kind treatment of the reception history of the psalms that starts where most commentaries end-- beginning with the trajectory of the Psalter's multi-faceted reception over two millennia Specific discussions of both Jewish and Christian responses to individual psalms Psalms Through the Centuries: A Reception History Commentary on Psalms 73-151, like the previous two volumes, will earn a distinctive place in the libraries of faculties, colleges, seminaries, and religious communities as well as in private collections of students and scholars of biblical studies, theology, and religion.
Qur'an Commentary and the Biblical Turn
by
The Qur'an and the Bible have been called "intertwined scriptures" due to the Qur'an's frequent invocation of biblical narratives and figures. But what is the history of Muslims' exegetical engagement with the biblical text? Through a comprehensive survey of more than 170 Qur'an commentaries, Samuel Ross traces the longitudinal history of the Bible in tafsῑr. Offering detailed case studies and rich in historical context, Ross's narrative culminates in the remarkable late-nineteenth and early-twentieth-century biblical turn. Global in scope, this development has not only generated new Muslim views of the Bible but even new interpretations of the Qur'an itself. This monograph has been awarded the annual BRAIS - De Gruyter Prize in the Study of Islam and the Muslim World.
The Qur'an in Context
by
For Westerners the Qur'an is a deeply foreign book. Christians who venture within this sacred scripture of Islam encounter a world where echoes of biblical figures and themes resound. But the Qur'an speaks in accents and forms that defy our expectations. For it captures an oral recitation of an open-ended drama, one rooted in seventh-century Arabia. Its context of people, events and ideas strikes us not only as poetically allusive but as enigmatic. And yet the Qur'an and its contested interpretations scroll in shadowed text between the headlines of our daily news. In The Qur'an in Context Mark Anderson offers a gateway into the original world and worldview of the Qur'an. With keen attention to the Qur'an's character, reception and theology, he opens up a hermeneutical space for Christians and others to engage its fabric of religious claims. The Qur'an's theology, anthropology, soteriology, spirituality as well as its portrayal of Jesus are all carefully examined. Finally, the Qur'an's claim to be the Bible's sequel is probed and evaluated. Forthright in Christian conviction and yet sympathetically open to dialogue, The Qur'an in Context is a reliable guide for those who want to explore the holy book of Islam in its varied facets.
The Qur'an with Cross-References
by
The Qur'an with Cross-References provides for nearly every verse in the Qur'an a selection of other verses which shed light upon, clarify, or explain the verse you are reading. The Qur'an in its printed edition has not yet been cross-referenced, despite the fact that Qur'an commentators realized quite early on the central importance of tafsīr al-Qur'ān bi'l-Qur'ān (interpreting the Qur'an through the Qur'an itself). Even some modern Muslim exegetes claim to follow this method. However, the cross-references they provided are very limited. Perhaps, the most extensive treatment and pioneered work on tafsīr al-Qur'ān bi'l-Qur'ān is that composed by Rudi Paret entitled Der Koran: Kommentar und Konkordanz. Paret's work is certainly very rich, which includes - in addition to possible cross-references - interpretations of and alternate renderings for a given verse or passage. Furthermore, as the term "Konkordanz" may indicate, his Der Koran provides all identical or similar phraseology and usage in different places of the Qur'an, a model that will not be followed in this Qur'an cross-references project. Instead, The Qur'an with Cross-References is based on connection between words, phrases, themes, concepts, events, and characters. One word may occur several times in the Qur'an, but the cross references will be made only where there is connection in meaning between two or more verses or passages. In preparing this cross-references project, several models and methods used for the cross-references of the Bible are consulted. As is well-known, Bible cross-references have been a long-established tradition, while the Qur'an, at least in its printed edition, has not been cross-referenced. The Qur'an with Cross-References is the first of its kind. The field has needed something like this, because in the existing Qur'an there is nothing to indicate that certain passages can shed light upon, clarify, or explain other passages.
Qur'anic Hermeneutics in the 19th and 20th Century
by
The fourth volume of the groundbreaking Handbook of Qurʾānic Hermeneutics comprises 29 chapters dealing with the hermeneutical approach to the Qurʾān by Muslim authors of the 19thand 20th centuries. These authors had to deal with the changes and influences of modernity on Muslim society. Scientific progress and related developments in the natural sciences and humanities posed new questions and challenges to the traditional interpretation of the Qurʾān. The confrontation with the colonial period also shaped the way of thinking of some of these authors and their hermeneutical work. This led them to a search for identity and a reassessment of their own traditions and beliefs. Authors in this volume reflect on these historical experiences in their interpretation of the Qurʾān. The hermeneutical approaches to the Qurʾān in this volume are, thus, closely linked to the social, political, and intellectual conditions in which the authors have done their work. They represent a response to the challenges and changes of their time. By critically engaging with modernity, scientific progress, and the colonial legacy, these authors contributed to understanding and interpreting Islam in a new context.
Recovering the Female Voice in Islamic Scripture Women Who Protest and the Making of Abrahamic Theology
by
Protest is an activity not associated with the pious and collectively-minded, but more often seen as an activity of the liberal and rebellious. Judaism, Christianity and Islam are commonly understood as paragons of submission and obedience following Abraham's example. Yet, the scriptures of all three faiths are founded in the prophets protesting wrongs in the social order. The Qur'an claims that men and women, and the relations between them are a sign from God. The question is to what extent are women silenced in the text, and do they share with men in shaping the prophetic scriptures? This book finds that far from silencing women, the Qur'an affirms the female voice as protester for justice and as questioner of Theology. In this reading of the female role in divine revelation in the Islamic text, Georgina Jardim returns to the scriptures of the Judeo-Christian counterpart of the Abrahamic faiths, to investigate whether the Bible may claim women as brokers of revelation. The result is an enriched understanding of divine communication in the Abrahamic scriptures and a commonplace for reasoning about the female voice as speaker in the Word of God.
A Short History of Islamic Thought
by
For general readers, a compact and illuminating introduction to Islam, from its beginnings almost 1500 years ago to the present moment.While much has been written about Islam, particularly over the twenty-five years, few books have explored the full range of the ideas that have defined the faith over a millennium and a half. Fitzroy Morrissey provides a clear and concise introduction to the origins and sources of Islamic thought, from its beginnings in the 7th century to the current moment. He explores the major ideas and introduces the major figures--those who over the centuries have broached life's major questions, from the nature of God and the existence of free will to gender relations and the ordering of society, and in the process defined Islam. Drawing on Arabic and Persian primary texts, as well as the latest scholarship, A Short History of Islamic Thought explains the key teachings of the Qur'an and Hadith, the great books of Islamic theology, philosophy, and law, as well as the mystical writings of the Sufis. It evaluates the impact of foreign cultures-Greek and Persian, Jewish and Christian-on early Islam, accounts for the crystallization of the Sunni and Shi'i forms of the faith, and accounts for the rise of such trends as Islamic modernism and Islamism. Above all, it reveals the fundamental principles of Islamic thought, both as a source of inspiration for Muslims today and as illuminating and rewarding in their own right.