Skip to Main Content

Virtual Reference Shelf: Theology/Philosophy Online Reference

A listing of online reference sources available to users of HCU's Moody Library

Philosophy, General

Biographical dictionary of transcendentalism
Call Number: Credo B905 .B56 1996
Biographical dictionary of twentieth-century philosophers
Call Number: Credo B804 .B52 1996
Cambridge dictionary of philosophy
Call Number: Credo B41 .C35 1999b
Cambridge handbook of consciousness
Call Number: Credo B808.9 .C36 2007 (also Ebsco)
Companion encyclopedia of Asian philosophy
Call Number: Credo B121.C66 1997
Dictionary of modern American philosophers
Call Number: ebrary B851 .D538 2005
Dictionary of philosophy
Call Number: Credo B41 .D52 2002b
Dictionary of twentieth-century British philosophers
Call Number: Credo B104 .D52 2005
Dictionary of world philosophy
Call Number: Ebsco B41 .I26 2001 (also Credo)
Dictionary of world philosophy
Call Number: Ebsco B41 .I26 2001
Edinburgh encyclopedia of continental philosophy
Call Number: Credo B804 .E43 1999 (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of classical philosophy
Call Number: Credo B163 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of empiricism
Call Number: Credo B816 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of philosophers on religion
Call Number: Credo B104 .V47 2008
Encyclopedia of philosophy
Call Number: Gale E-book B51.E53 2006
Encyclopedia of postmodernism
Call Number: Credo B831.2 .E63 2001 (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Call Number: Oxford B802.E53
Encyclopedia of war and ethics
Call Number: ebrary B105 .W3 E53 1996
Fifty major philosophers
Call Number: Ebsco B72 .C59 2006
Great thinkers A-Z
Call Number: Credo B21 .G74 2004
Islamic philosophy A-Z
Call Number: Ebsco B741 .G76 2007
Kant dictionary
Call Number: Ebsco B2751.C38 2000
Key concepts in Eastern philosophy
Call Number: ebrary B121 .L43 1999
Meet the philosophers of ancient Greece : everything you always wanted to know about ancient Greek philosophy but didn't know who to ask
Call Number: Credo B171 .M44 2005
Oxford companion to philosophy
Call Number: ebrary B51 .O94 2005 (also Ebsco)
Oxford dictionary of philosophy
Call Number: Ebsco B41.B53 1996
Philosophers of the ancient world: an A to Z guide
Call Number: Ebsco B111.C87 2006
Shorter Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy
Call Number: Ebsco B51 .C58 2005

Logic

Dictionary of philosophical logic
Call Number: ebrary BC9 .C66 2009 (also Credo and Ebsco)

Speculative Philosophy

Encyclopedia of identity
Call Number: Credo BD236 .E42 2010
Philosophy of mind A-Z
Call Number: Ebsco BD418.3 .R35 2006

Aesthetics

Aesthetics A-Z
Call Number: Credo BH56 .G87 2010
Dictionary of visual discourse : a dialectical lexicon of terms
Call Number: Credo BH39 .S257 2011

Ethics

Encyclopedia of ethics 2nd ed
Call Number: Credo BJ63 .E45 2001
Westminster dictionary of Christian ethics
Call Number: Ebsco BJ1199.W47 1986

Hinduism

Encyclopedia of Hinduism
Call Number: Ebsco BL1105.J56 2007
Dictionary of Hindu lore and legend
Call Number: Credo BL1105 .D35 2002

Judaism

Dictionary of Jewish lore and legend
Call Number: Credo BM50 .U58 1997b
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls
Call Number: Oxford BM487.E53 2008
New encyclopedia of Judaism
Call Number: Credo BM50 .E63 2002
Oxford dictionary of the Jewish religion, 2nd ed.
Call Number: Oxford BM50.O94 2011
Routledge dictionary of Judaism
Call Number: Ebsco BM50 .N47 2004

Islam

Historical dictionary of the Bahá'í Faith
Call Number: Ebsco BP327 .A33 2007
Islam (Need to know)
Call Number: Credo BP161.3 .M38 2008
Islam: the key concepts
Call Number: Ebsco BP161.3 .A376 2008
Islamic biographical dictionary of the Eastern Kazakh Steppe, 1770-1912
Call Number: ebrary BP63 .K3 K43 2005
Qur'an: translation
Call Number: Credo BP109 2001

Buddhism

Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Call Number: Ebsco BQ128 .E53 2008

Religion -- General

Britannica encyclopedia of world religions
Call Number: ebrary BL31 .B75 2006
Contemporary American religion
Call Number: Gale E-book BL2525.C65 2000
Critical terms for religious studies
Call Number: Credo BL31 .C75 1998
Dictionary of philosophy of religion
Call Number: ebrary BL51.D514 2010
Encyclopedia of global religion
Call Number: Gale E-book BL80.3.E52 2012 (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of religion in America
Call Number: Gale E-Book BL2520 .E52 2010
Encyclopedia of science and religion
Call Number: GALE EBOOK BL240.3.E53 2003
Encyclopedia of world religions
Call Number: Ebsco BL80.3 .E54 2007
Handbook of Norse mythology
Call Number: ebrary BL860 .L56 2002
Hutchinson dictionary of world mythology
Call Number: ebrary BL303 H88 2005
Hutchinson dictionary of world religions
Call Number: ebrary BL31 .H88 2005
Myth: myths & legends of the world explained
Call Number: Credo BL303 .M25 1996b
Myths and legends of the Celts
Call Number: Credo BL900 .M4455 2006
Who's who in classical mythology
Call Number: Credo BL715 .G68 2002

Christianity

Blackwell encyclopedia of modern Christian thought
Call Number: Ebsco BR95.B58 1999
Companion encyclopedia of theology
Call Number: ebrary BR118 .C66 1995
Encyclopedia of ancient Christianity
Call Number: Ebsco BR66.5.E539 2014
Jesus in history, thought, and culture: an encyclopedia
Call Number: Ebsco BR145.3.H68 2003
Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church
Call Number: Oxford BR95.O8 2005
Religious right: a reference handbook
Call Number: Credo BR526.U88 2007
Westminster dictionary of theological terms
Call Number: Ebsco BR95.M378 1996
Who's who in Christianity
Call Number: Credo BR1700.2.C64 1998b

The Bible

Biblical studies on the Internet: a resource guide
Call Number: ebrary BS600.3 .W67 2008
Book of Bible quotations
Call Number: Credo BS391.3 M36 2005
Books of the Bible
Call Number: Gale E-Book BS540.B62 1989
Concise dictionary of Bible origins and interpretations
Call Number: Ebsco BV440.G55 2006
Dictionary of biblical criticism and interpretation
Call Number: Ebsco BS440 .D496 2007
Gesenius' Hebrew and Chaldee lexicon to Old Testament scriptures: numerically coded to Stong's exhaustive concirdance, with an English index of more than 12,00 entries
Call Number: Ref. BS425.S81 1981 (online)
Holy Bible: containing the Old and New Testaments translated out of the original tonguies
Call Number: Credo BS185.C35 1995
Oxford Bible atlas, 4th ed.
Call Number: ebrary BS630 .O96 2007 (also Ebsco)
Oxford companion to the Bible
Call Number: Oxford BS440.M434 1993
Oxford encyclopedia of the books of the Bible
Call Number: Oxford BS440.O93 2011
Oxford handbook of biblical studies
Call Number: Ebsco BS511.3 .O94 2006
Westminster guide to the books of the Bible
Call Number: Ebsco BS475.2.R36 1994
Who's who in the Jewish Bible
Call Number: ebrary BS570 .M36 2007
Who's who in the New Testament
Call Number: Credo BS2430 .B67 2002
Who's who in the Old Testament
Call Number: Credo BS570 .C64 2002

Doctrinal Theology

Armageddon now: the end of the world A to Z
Call Number: ebrary BT877 .W55 2006

Practical Theology

Cambridge dictionary of Christian theology
Call Number: Credo BV2.5 .C36 2011
Encyclopedia of religious and spiritual development
Call Number: Ebsco BV4571.3.E53 2006
Prime-time religion: an encyclopedia of religious broadcasting
Call Number: ebrary BV656 .M45 1997
Reference guide to Christian missionary societies in China: from the sixteenth to the twentieth century
Call Number: ebrary BV2010 .T54 2008

Christian Denominations

Blackwell dictionary of Eastern Christianity
Call Number: Ebsco BX100.7.B53 1999
Complete idiot's guide to understanding Catholicism
Call Number: Ebsco BX1754 .O35 2000
Encyclopedia of Catholicism
Call Number: Ebsco BX841 .F55 2007
New Catholic encyclopedia
Call Number: Gale E-book BX841.N44 2003
New Catholic encyclopedia. Supplement 2009
Call Number: Gale E-book BX841.N44 2009
Oxford dictionary of Saints 4th ed.
Call Number: Ebsco BR1710.F34 2000
Puritans and puritanism in Europe and America: a comprehensive encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref. BX9323.P85 2006 vol. 1-2

Other Classifications

Dictionary of linguistics & phonetics 6th ed.
Call Number: ebrary P29.C65 2008
Dictionary of the Targumim, the Talmud Babli and Yerushalmi, and the Midrashic literature
Call Number: Ref. PJ5205.J3 1996 (online)
Encyclopedia of religion, communication, and media
Call Number: Ebsco P94 .E48 2006
Gesenius' Hebrew grammar
Call Number: PJ4564.G5 1910 (online)
Islamic desk reference
Call Number: Ebsco DS35.53.I83 1994
Religious holidays and calendars: an encyclopedia handbook
Call Number: Credo CE6 .K45 2004