From the website: "The Angel Capital Association is a peer organization of angel investing groups in North America. The professional association focuses on networking and sharing of best practices among these angel groups."
A project by the Library of Congress to select and catalog business, economic, and related Web resources. There are eighty-eight different subject topics including accounting, business plans, companies by industry, price indexes, women in business, Black Business, and much more.
Business.gov helps small businesses understand their legal requirements, and locate government services supporting the nation’s small business community.
This guide includes books and other resources that discuss marketing to particular segments of the population along with other sources that are important in determining the size and power of a particular market segment. Also included are statistical books and other sources whose main focus is on a specific generational, ethnic or other group. In addition, the guide includes references to selected articles and online sources.
Meeting Business Regulations. The Doing Business Project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 181 economies and selected cities and the subnational and regional level.
According to their "About Us" page, Edgar Online provides interactive business and financial data on global companies. EDGAR Online delivers a broad spectrum of data including SEC filings, fundamental data, institutional holdings, insider trades, IPO/SPO registrations, and access to global annual reports and conference call transcripts. EDGAR Online's products facilitate deep company and industry analysis including benchmarking, peer analysis, valuation modeling, scenario testing and contribution analysis among others.
"The Fed serves as a barometric gauge of the economy. Under Research and Data at this web site, find current interest rates, daily exchange rates, and more. Some data sets go back 50 years. The Beige Book, often quoted when reporting on economy growth and consumer spending, can be found under Monetary Policy. Fed Chair Alan Greenspan's testimonies are also available." -- Library Journal, 4/15/01 (See Economic Research available at the St. Louis Federal Reserve. Go to http://research.stlouisfed.org/index.html. To view the various banks, Click "About the Fed." Then click "Federal Reserve Districts and Banks."
FedStats.org is a data hub for several types of U.S. Government collected data including Census (U.S. and World), Population Demographics (U.S. and World) and Geneology/ Family Tree information. Also featured are U.S. Government Job Sites, Government Grants and Tax Forms.
In response to the United Nation’s Millennium Declaration of 2000, this report strives to rate the progress by this declaration. Using the development goals set by the UN, this report rates if countries are reducing poverty rates, child mortality rates, the spread of disease, the growth of educational opportunities, and solidifying political alliances. Other subjects addressed are these: human rights, longevity, income, gender issues, spending and trade. 2005 and other years available.
From the website: The National Association of Small Business Investment Companies (NASBIC) is the professional association for the Small Business Investment Company (SBIC) industry.
From the website: "The National Business Incubation Association (NBIA) is the world's leading organization advancing business incubation and entrepreneurship."
From the website: "The National Venture Capital Association (NVCA) is the premier trade association that represents the U. S. venture capital industry.
For over sixty years, the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system has served as the structure for the collection, aggregation, presentation, and analysis of the economy. An industry consists of a group of establishments primarily engaged in producing or handling the same product or group of products or in rendering the same services. Industry definitions used in the Bureau of Labor Statistics programs come from the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Manual. Because the SIC is used by many other federal government statistical programs, it is possible for users to assemble a comprehensive statistical picture of an industry. Developed in cooperation with and , the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) represents one of the most profound changes for statistical programs focusing on emerging economic activities. NAICS, developed using a production-oriented conceptual framework, groups establishments into industries based on the activity in which they are primarily engaged. Establishments using similar raw material inputs, similar capital equipment, and similar labor are classified in the same industry. In other words, establishments that do similar things in similar ways are classified together.
Includes information regarding startup, Internet business, general and personnel management, sales and marketing, and buying and selling a business. Meir Liraz, owner of Bizmove.com has 23 years experience as a business coach and small business consultant. The site can be searched but there are no help screen to assist users.
Occupational Outlook Handbook is produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It includes career information which is designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives and describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects. It is updated every two years.
Check out their video: Using the Occupational Outlook Handbook for Your Career Search.
The USPTO registers trademarks based on the Commerce Clause of the Constitution (Article 1, Section 8, Clause 3). Under this system of protection, American industry has flourished. New products have been invented, new uses for old ones discovered, and employment opportunities created for millions of Americans. The strength and vitality of the U.S. economy depends directly on effective mechanisms that protect new ideas and investments in innovation and creativity. The continued demand for patents and trademarks underscores the ingenuity of American inventors and entrepreneurs. The USPTO is at the cutting edge of the Nation's technological progress and achievement.
You can search the EDGAR database for company filings with the SEC — including quarterly and annual reports, registration statements for IPOs and other offerings, insider trading reports, and proxy materials.
You can also search SEC.gov and Investor.gov together here for public statements, proposed and final rules, enforcement actions, educational materials, and other documents.
They have developed a versatile tool lets you search for keywords and phrases in over 20 years of EDGAR filings, and filter by date, company, person, filing category or location.
A very well-organized site, according to Choice , even the site map. Choice goes on to say that "the annual World Development Report overview is particularly useful in providing a contextual setting for understanding the present and future challenges facing nations and regions in the developing world.
The World Trade Organization website contains material for a range of users, from the general public to students, academics and trade specialists. It includes introductions to WTO activities and a large database of official documents
Search for a specific company and click on 'Ratios' from the company information page. Company, industry, sector, and S&P 500 ratios are included in this free resource.
Meeting Business Regulations. The Doing Business Project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 181 economies and selected cities and the subnational and regional level.
Make sure to visit WHOSIS, the WHO Statistical Information System. It holds health statistics gathered from the 193 member countries. Use a quick search for example to look for number of hospital beds. In print this annual publication is called The World
Industries at a Glance Employment, Hours, and Earnings—National, State, and Area Occupations Safety and Health Producer Price Index (PPI) Employment Cost Trends Labor Productivity and Costs and Multifactor Productivity
See Job Openings and Labor Turnover Tables to find if the workers you need are looking for jobs or already employed. See Standard Occupational Classifications from the BLS; These are codes that the Government used to categorize jobs.
Use these codes (SIC & NAICS) to find company financial data by industry. Follow instructions on the Company Info. and Industry Trends and Market Research Tabs above.
From this link, "This page allows the user to search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 2,3,4-digit SIC".
From this link, "NAICS 2007 is exactly the same as NAICS 2002 for thirteen of the twenty sectors. There was restructuring within part of the information sector. Industry changes affect the boundaries of three sectors."
NAICS uses a six-digit hierarchical coding system to classify all economic activity into twenty industry sectors. More "Five sectors are mainly goods-producing sectors and fifteen are entirely services-producing sectors. This six-digit hierarchical structure allows greater coding flexibility than the four-digit structure of the SIC. NAICS allows for the identification of 1,170 industries compared to the 1,004 found in the SIC system".
