• Full text books covering all disciplines
• Books may be searched through the Library’s Catalog or from the ebrary website
• Includes over 70,000 titles
Business:
* Business Plans Handbook
* CaseBase: Case Studyies in Global Business
* Encyclopedia of American Industries (6th 3e., 2011)
* Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society (2008)
* Encyclopedia Emerging Industries (5th ed., 2007)
* Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies (2007)
* International Directory of Company Histories
Education:
* College Blue Book (v35-current)
* Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology (2010)
* Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies (v.1-2, 2010)
* Encyclopedia of Education Law (2008)
* Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia (v1-2, 2009)
* Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans: A Guide to Education-Related Financial Aid Programs for Students and Professionals, 38th ed, 2021
* American Decades, 10 vols. 1900-1999, 2001.
* American Decades Primary Sources, 2004.
* American Decades: 2000-2009, 2011.
* American Decades Primary Sources, Vol. 11: 2000-2009, 2013.
* American Eras: Primary Sources
* Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World, 2004.
* Ancient Greece and Rome: An Encyclopedia for Students, 1998.
* The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students, 2000.
* Anti-Immigration in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia, 2011.
* Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 2002.
* Encyclopedia of European Social History, 2001.
* Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450, 2007.
* Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, 2004.
* Vietnam War Reference Library, 2001. 5 vols.
Writing/Literature
* Encyclopedia of Journalism, 2009.
* Reference Guide to Holocaust Literature, 2002.
Nursing
* The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, 2013. 6 vols.
* NOTE: Other nursing books are outdated.
Religion
* Contemporary American Religion, 2000.
* Encyclopedia of Global Religion, 2012.
* Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2006.
* Encyclopedia of Religion in America, 2010.
* Encyclopedia of Science and Religion, 2003.
* New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2003. 15 vols.
* New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2009.
Science
* Chemical Compounds, 2006.
* Chemical Elements, 2nd ed., 2010.
* Chemistry: Foundations and Applications, 2004.
* Encyclopedia of Bioethics, 3rd ed., 2004.
* Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics, 2005.
* Genetics, 2003.
* The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2010.
* Encyclopedia of Counseling, 2008.
Social Science
* Censorshipm Lauri S. Friedman, ed. Writing the Critical Essay: An Opposing Viewpoints Guide Detroit, MI: Greenhaven Press, 2009.
* Countries and Their Cultures, 2001.
* Encyclopedia of Aging, 2002.
* Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2009.
* Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery, 2009.
* Encyclopedia of World Cultures: Supplement, 2002.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.
• Service offered by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission
• Searches through catalogs of 76 public libraries, 52 academic libraries, 4 unique libraries, and 17 TexShare commercial databases
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.
OED Labs – Our goal is to further develop the OED’s offering to actively support the needs of academic research as they evolve in the coming years. Take a look at new ways to access OED data, including the OED Researcher API and the OED Text Visualizer.
Video guides: Take a look at our short guides to help you get the most out of your OED access.
