American History Resources: Resources for Texas History

"The Austin papers are the collection of materials accumulated by Moses and Stephen F. Austin in the progress of their ... enterprises from Virginia ... to Texas. They consist of business memoranda, physiographical observations, petitions and memorials ... political addresses and proclamations, and ... personal and official correspondence."--Pref.
This, the third volume of the Austin papers, completes the collection. The first two volumes (v.1 in 2 parts), covering the years 1789-1834, were published in 1924-28, by the American historical association as vol. II of its Annual report for the years 1919 and 1922 respectively. cf. Pref.

Contents: Free women of color -- Slavery -- Reconstruction and beyond -- Education -- The arts -- Churches, clubs, and community building -- Earning a living -- Politics and protest.

"The present publication consists mainly of letters and reports to the British government, hitherto unpublished, written by the two principal British officials stationed in Texas. These were Charles Elliot, chargé d'affaires, and William Kennedy, consul at Galveston."--Introd.

Accompanying material consists of "facsimile reproductions of significant historical documents from the Collection of the Archives Division, Texas State Library

This volume, first published in 1889, is one of the most thorough accounts of Indian warfare in Texas.

Contents: Private memoirs, 1798-1849.--Memoranda [comprising memorandum books, no. 1-11, July, 1838--Nov. 20, 1854]--Anson Jones in 1835 (extract from the "National vindicator" July, 1844)--Copies of various documents unpublished or out of print [1835-1845]--Letters, etc., to and from Anson Jones. Mostly of a public or semi-official character. From 1836 to 18-- With my endorsements and notes at the time.

Originally published in 1910.

In the summer of 1863 Kate Stone, a twenty-two-year-old refugee from Louisiana, wrote that in Texas she had certainly found "a dark corner of the Confederacy." Excerpts from her diary are among the forty documents dating from the eve of the Civil War to the collapse of the Confederacy, by civilians as well as soldiers in all parts of the state, that make up this lively and informative collection.

"Containing a detailed account of his captivity among the Indians, his singular escape through the instrumentality of his watch, and fully illustrating Indian life as it is on the war path and in the camp."
Reprint. Originally published: Albany : B. Taylor, 1859.

Translation of Reseña y diario de la campaña de Texas.

Women who lived in the white rural South in the late nineteenth century were not expected to voice political opinions. But they were not ignorant of the issues of the day, and in the Dallas-based Populist newspaper the "Southern Mercury," they found a strong outlet for expression.

"Alamo Sourcebook 1836" covers all facets of one of the greatest battles known to mankind. This book covers the Siege and the Final Battle. It offers insight into the opposing armies, the weapons, uniforms and equipment. It provides biographical information on the leaders of both sides. It names the men that died and the aftermaths of the battle. But the story and legend of the Alamo did not end on March 6, 1836. It lives on in books, movies, television shows, music and lore. This book covers it all and then some.

Presents at least one event, anecdote, or item of information for each day of the year, covering the full 150-plus-year range of Texas history.

A guide to the people, places, battles, politics, and documents of the Texas Revolution of 1835-36, and its most famous battle, the Alamo, covering the period from the settlements of Texas through the forming of the Republic. Entries on key figures and events are several pages in length, while other entries are relatively brief. The 13-day Siege and Battle of the Alamo is highlighted with a detailed day-by-day account. Biographies of revolution participants from both sides include every Alamo defender as well as prominent Mexican army officers, many of whom have been previously overlooked.

Organized in two major sections, this definitive reference work provides historical essays by leading scholars in the field and surveys of the principal archival holdings in Texas, with special emphasis on those significant to the history of the state.

This study of Texas heritage begins by focusing on the natural resources that have contributed to the state's history. Subsequent maps follow the movement of various ethnic groups, geology and plant life. Contains maps of the Spanish and French occupations, the Anglo- American intrusion, the Texas Revolution, the Republic of Texas era, the state's secession movement, the Civil War in Texas, cattle drives and petroleum discoveries together with special-interest maps featuring hurricanes, military installations, conservation areas, and political and economic districts. Sixty-four maps accompanied by interpretive essays.

"Prepared in conjunction with the exhibit "Crossroads of empire: printed maps of Texas and the Southwest, 1513-1900" produced by the Amon Carter Museum, Fort Worth"--Verso t.p.

Provides information about the history, culture, political climate, and geography of the state of Texas. The library has some earlier issues in the Hicks collection.

A facsimile of the original in the collection of the Texas State Library.