Skip to Main Content

American History Resources: History Online Reference

Use this guide to find important information on American history.

General History

Chambers biographical dictionary
Call Number: Credo CT103 .C4 2011
Chambers dictionary of world history
Call Number: Credo D9 .L33 2005
Companion to Hispanic studies
Call Number: Credo CB226 .C57 2002
Dictionary of contemporary history, 1945 to the present
Call Number: Credo D842 .T69 1999b (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of archaeology
Call Number: Credo CC70 .E54 2008
Encyclopedia of archaeology: history and discoveries
Call Number: Credo CC100 .E54 2001
Encyclopedia of sixties cool
Call Number: ebrary CT120 S76 2007
Encyclopedia of world history : ancient, medieval, and modern, chronologically arranged
Call Number: Credo D21 .E578 2001
Essentials of global politics
Call Number: Credo D860 .L3545 2006
Great Irish lives
Call Number: Credo CT861 .G74 2008
Great lives: a century in obituaries
Call Number: Credo CT120 .G685 2007
Great Victorian lives: an era in obituaries
Call Number: Credo CT782 .G74 2007
Hutchinson chronology of world history
Call Number: Credo D20 .H88 2015
Hutchinson dictionary of 20th-century world history
Call Number: ebrary D419 .H88 2005
Hutchinson dictionary of world history
Call Number: ebrary D9 .H87 2006
Hutchinson encyclopedia of modern political biography
Call Number: ebrary D412.6 .H88 2005
Hutchinson encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: ebrary CB361 .H88 2005
Late medieval age of crisis and renewal, 1300-1500: a biographical dictionary
Call Number: ebrary CB353 .L38 2001
Oxford companion to World War II
Call Number: Oxford D740.O94 2001
Oxford dictionary of the Renaissance
Call Number: Oxford CB361.C27 2003
Palgrave Macmillan dictionary of women's biography
Call Number: Credo CT3202 .P26 2005
Religious holidays and calendars: an encyclopedic handbook
Call Number: Credo CE6 .K45 2004
Renaissance and Reformation, 1500-1620: a biographical dictionary
Call Number: ebrary CT759 .R46 2001
World history encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo D9.W67 2011
World politics since 1945
Call Number: Credo D843 .C25 2009

European History

Ancient Europe 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000 : encyclopedia of the Barbarian world
Call Number: Gale E-book D62.A52 2004a
Ancient Greece and Rome : an encyclopedia for students
Call Number: Gale E-Book DE5.A57 1998
Biographical dictionary of British prime ministers
Call Number: Ebsco DA28.4 .B56 2002
Brewer's Britain & Ireland
Call Number: Credo DA640.A98 2005
Brewer's dictionary of Irish phrase & fable
Call Number: Credo DA906 .M36 2004
Collins dictionary of British history
Call Number: Credo DA34 .C65 2002
Companion to British history
Call Number: Credo DA34.A76 2001b
Dictionary of British history, New ed.
Call Number: Credo DA34 .C65 2002
Dictionary of British institutions: a student's guide
Call Number: ebrary DA110 .O254 1993 (also Ebsco)
Dictionary of British military history, 2nd ed.
Call Number: Ebsco DA52 .U74 2006
Encyclopedia of contemporary British culture
Call Number: ebrary DA589.4 .E53 1999 (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of contemporary French culture
Call Number: ebrary DC33.7 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of contemporary German culture
Call Number: Ebsco DD290.26.E53 1999
Encyclopedia of contemporary Spanish culture
Call Number: ebrary DP233.5 .E63 1999 (also Ebsco)
Europe, 1450 to 1789: encyclopedia of the early modern world
Call Number: Gale E-book D209.E97 2004a
Former Soviet Union's diverse peoples: a reference sourcebook
Call Number: Credo DK33.M54 2004
Former Yugoslavia's diverse peoples: a refernce sourcebook
Call Number: Credo DR1246 .K59 2004
Guide to the ancient world: a dictionary of classical place names
Call Number: Credo DE25 .G72 1986
Historical dictionary of late medieval England, 1272-1485
Call Number: ebrary DA175 .H56 2002 (also Ebsco)
Historical dictionary of the 1940s
Call Number: ebrary D419 .R88 2006
Historical dictionary of World War II France: the Occupation, Vichy, and the Resistance, 1938-1946
Call Number: ebrary DC397 .H58 1998
Hutchinson illustrated encyclopedia of British history
Call Number: ebrary DA34 .H88 2006
Late antiquity: a guide to the postclassical world
Call Number: Credo DE5.L29 1999
Oxford classical dictionary, 3rd ed., rev.
Call Number: Oxford DE5.O9 2009
Oxford companion to British history
Call Number: Oxford DA34.E54 2009
Oxford dictionary of Byzantium
Call Number: Oxford DF521.O93 2005
Oxford dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: Oxford D114.O94 2010
Reader's guide to British history
Call Number: Credo DA34 .R43 2003
Rise of the medieval world, 500-1300: a biographical dictionary /
Call Number: ebrary CT114 .R57 2002 (also Ebsco)
Routledge dictionary of modern British history
Call Number: Ebsco DA529 .P58 2006
Thames and Hudson encyclopedia of the Italian Renaissance
Call Number: Credo DG445 .T43 1985b
Who was who at Waterloo: a biography of the battle
Call Number: Credo DC242.S85 2007
Who's who in the Greek world
Call Number: ebrary DE7.H39 2002
Who's who in the Roman world
Call Number: Credo DG203 .H39 2001

Asian History

Ancient Near East : an encyclopedia for students
Call Number: Gale E-Book DS57.A677 2000
Britannica guide to modern China: a comprehensive introduction to the worlds' new economic giant
Call Number: ebrary DS735 .B75 2008
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: a political, social and military history
Call Number: Credo DS557.7 .E53 2011
Ethnohistorical dictionary of China
Call Number: ebrary DS730 .O47 1998
Vietnam war reference library
Call Number: GALE E-BOOK DS557.7.H55 2001
Who's who in the Ancient Near East
Call Number: Ebsco DS62.2 .L45 2002

Africa

Africa and the Americas: culture, politics, and history, a multidisciplinary encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo DT31 .A43 2008
African biographical dictionary
Call Number: Credo DT18 .B76 2006
Biographical dictionary of ancient Egypt
Call Number: ebrary DT83 .D2 1996
Encyclopedia of African history
Call Number: Credo DT20 .E53 2005
Key events in African history: a reference guide
Call Number: ebrary DT20 .F35 2002
Peoples of Africa: an ethnohistorical dictionary
Call Number: ebrary GN645 .O47 1996
Who's who in ancient Egypt
Call Number: Credo DT83 .R47 1999b

Latin American History

Companion to Latin American studies
Call Number: Credo F1408.3 .C6 2003
Dictionary of Latin American cultural studies
Call Number: Ebsco F1408.3.D5513 2012
Dictionary of Mexican rulers, 1325-1997
Call Number: ebrary F1205 .V34 1997
Encyclopedia of Mexico: history, society & culture
Call Number: Credo F1210 .E63 1997
Mexico: an encyclopedia of contemporary culture and history
Call Number: Credo F1234 .C67 2004

Military and Naval Science

Dictionary of military terms
Call Number: Ebsco U24 .B69 2007
Encyclopedia of Cold War espionage, spies, and secret operations
Call Number: ebrary UB270.T73 2009
Historical dictionary of the U.S. Army
Call Number: ebrary UA25 .H67 2001
Reader's companion to military history
Call Number: Credo U27.R348 1996 (also Ebsco)
Ships of the world: an historical encyclopedia
Call Number: Ebsco V23.P24 1997 (also Credo)
World military leaders: a biographical dictionary
Call Number: Ebsco U51 .G76 2007

United States History

American decades
Call Number: Gale E-Book E169.12 .A419 1994
American decades: 2000-2009
Call Number: Gale E-Book E169.12.A419 2011
American decades primary sources
Call Number: Gale E-book E169.1.A471977 2004
Black firsts: 4,000 ground-breaking and pioneering historical events
Call Number: Credo E185 .B574 2013
Britain and the Americas: culture, politics, and history: a multidisciplinary encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo E18.75 .B75 2005
Chronology of American Indian history
Call Number: Ebsco E77 .S72 S66 2007
Civil War almanac
Call Number: Ebsco E468 .F85 2007
Dictionary of American history
Call Number: Ebsco E174.P87 1997
Distinguished Asian Americans: a biographical dictionary
Call Number: ebrary E184 .O6 D57 1999 (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of African-American heritage
Call Number: Ebsco E185.A455 1999
Encyclopedia of American cultural & intellectual history
Call Number: Credo E169.1 .E624 2012
Encyclopedia of American foreign policy
Call Number: Gale E-Book E183.7.E52 2002
Encyclopedia of American studies: EAS
Call Number: Credo E169.1 .E625 2016
Encyclopedia of North American Indians
Call Number: Credo E76.2 .E53 1996 (also Ebsco)
Encyclopedia of race and racism
Call Number: Gale E-book E184.A1 E584 2008
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
Call Number: Credo E468 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of the Great Plains Indians
Call Number: Ebsco E78 .G73 E53 2007
Encyclopedia of the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois Confederacy)
Call Number: ebrary E99 .I7 E53 2000
Encyclopedia of the industrial revolution in America
Call Number: ebrary HC105 .O45 2002
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American civil rights movement
Call Number: ebrary E184 .M5 M458 2000
Encyclopedia of the United States in the nineteenth century
Call Number: Credo E169.1 .E626 2001
First ladies of the United States: a biographical dictionary
Call Number: Credo E176.2.W369 2001
France and the Americas: culture, politics and history: a multidisciplinary encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo E18.75 .F73 2005
Freedom facts and firsts : 400 years of the African American civil rights experience
Call Number: ebrary E185.61 .S636 2009 (also Ebsco and Credo)
Germany and the Americas: culture, politics, and history: a multidisciplinary encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo E18.75 .G48 2005
Great American history fact-finder: the who, what, where, when, and why of American history
Call Number: Credo E174 .C67 2004
Historical dictionary of the 1950s
Call Number: ebrary E169.12 .O44 2000
Historical dictionary of the 1960s
Call Number: ebrary E841 .H58 1999 (also Ebsco)
Historical dictionary of the 1970s
Call Number: ebrary E839 .H57 1999
Historical dictionary of the civil rights movement
Call Number: ebrary E185.61.L84 2014
Historical dictionary of the civil rights movement
Call Number: ebrary E185.61.L84 2014
Historical dictionary of the Spanish American War
Call Number: ebrary E715 .D93 1996
Historical encyclopedia of American labor
Call Number: Credo HD8066 .H57 2004
Historical encyclopedia of U.S. presidential use of force, 1789-2000
Call Number: ebrary E176.1 .H56 2001 (also Ebsco)
Hutchinson dictionary of American history
Call Number: ebrary E174.H88 2005
Iberia and the Americas: culture, politics, and history: a multidisciplinary encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo E18.75 .I24 2006
Latinas in the United States: a historical encyclopedia
Call Number: ebrary E184 .S75 L35 2006
Leaders of the American Civil War : a biographical and historiographical dictionaryLeaders of the American Civil Wa : a biographical and historiographical dictionary
Call Number: ebrary E467 .L43 1998
Modern American lives: individuals and issues in American history since 1945
Call Number: Credo E747.B87 2008 (also Ebsco)
New dictionary of cultural literacy
Call Number: Credo E169.1 .H614 2002
Notable Latino Americans: a biographical dictionary
Call Number: ebrary E184 .S75 M435 1997 (also Ebsco)
Notable U.S. ambassadors since 1775: a biographical dictionary
Call Number: ebrary E176 .N895 1997
Poverty and the government in America : a historical encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo HC110 .P6 P595 2009
Reader's companion to American history
Call Number: Credo E174.R43 1991 (also Ebsco)
Reader's companion to the American presidency
Call Number: Credo E176.1.R295 2000
Ripples of hope: great American civil rights speeches
Call Number: Credo E184 .A1 R53 2003
Routledge atlas of American history, 5th ed.
Call Number: Ebsco G1201.S1 G532 2006
Slavery in the United States : a social, political, and historical encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo E441 .S635 2007
Underground Railroad: an encyclopedia of people, places, and operations
Call Number: Credo E450 .S65 2008
Women during the Civil War: an encyclopedia
Call Number: Ebsco E628 .H37 2004

United States Local History

Encyclopedia of the Alamo and the Texas revolution
Call Number: Credo F390 .H33 2007
Encyclopedia of the antebellum South
Call Number: Credo F213 .V65 2000
Great Plains region
Call Number: Credo F591 .G75 2004
Mid-Atlantic region (The Greenwood encyclopedia of American regional cultures)
Call Number: Credo F106 .M586 2004
Midwest (The Greenwood encyclopedia of American regional cultures)
Call Number: Credo F351 .M59 2004
New encyclopedia of the American west
Call Number: Credo F591.N46 1998
New England (The Greenwood encyclopedia of American regional cultures)
Call Number: Credo F4 .N47 2004
Pacific region (The Greenwood encyclopedia of American regional cultures)
Call Number: Credo F851 .P1955 2004
Rocky Mountain region (The Greenwood encyclopedia of American regional cultures)
Call Number: Credo F721 .R74 2004
South (The Greenwood encyclopedia of American regional cultures)
Call Number: Credo F209 .S68 2004
Southwest (The Greenwood encyclopedia of American regional cultures)
Call Number: Credo F786 .S747 2004

Canadian History

Canada's diverse peoples: a reference handbook
Call Number: Credo F1035 .A1 B86 2003

Australia/New Zealand/Pacific Islands

Other Subject Areas

Encyclopedia of antislavery and abolition
Call Number: Ebsco HT1031 .E53 2007
Encyclopedia of global change
Call Number: Oxford GE149.E445 2001
Oxford companion to world exploration
Call Number: Oxford G80.O95 2007
Terrorism: essential primary sources
Call Number: GALE E-BOOK HV6431 .T4432 2006