Classical Music Scores is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable, authoritative, and online scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works.
The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars. With Classical Scores Library, your students and faculty will have access to:
• 51,000 titles and 1.3 million printable pages of the most important scores in classical music, ranging from the Middle Ages to the 21st century.
• More than 4,600 composers, from traditionally studied composers, such as Mozart and Tchaikovsky, to contemporary artists, including Kaija Saariaho, Peter Maxwell-Davies, and John Tavener.
• Quality in-copyright editions from well-known publishers like Boosey & Hawkes, Edition Peters, Faber Music, Music Sales, A-R Editions, Wirripang, and more.
This sites includes most of Mozart's scores for both his sacred and secular works. Some of the scores include audio options. Some of the more useful information (such as critiques) are, unfortunately, in German.
Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 15571 titles!
Music Online allows users cross search all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press. Music Online brings together on a single cross-searchable platform the entire suite of Alexander Street Press music products that your institution subscribes to. Music Online can potentially cross-search any combination of these databases such as African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, and Classical Scores Library.
IMSLP, also known as the International Music Score Library Project or Petrucci Music Library. The ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge.
However, another main goal of IMSLP is to facilitate the exchange of musical ideas outside of compositions: for example, the analysis of a particular piece of music. Therefore, feel free to create/edit a page with your analysis of a particular piece (please use the "Discussion" link on the work page of that particular piece). For general discussions, and IMSLP-related questions, score requests, etc. you can use the forums. We hope to build a growing community of dedicated musicians and music lovers, who can use this site as a platform for enjoying music.
IMSLP was started in 2006. The logo on the main page is a capital letter A. It was taken from the beginning of the very first printed book of music, the Harmonice Musices Odhecaton. It was published in Venice in 1501 by Ottaviano Petrucci, the library's namesake.
The University of Rochester's Sibley Music Library is the largest music library in North America. This site is an ongoing project to digitize public-domain music scores, emphasizing works not widely held or digitized elsewhere. The University of Rochester's Sibley Music Library is the largest music library in North America. This site is an ongoing project to digitize public-domain music scores, emphasizing works not widely held or digitized elsewhere.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive (i.e., not current). It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.
From the Library of Congress "American Memory" collection. The multi-format Aaron Copland Collection from which the online collection derives spans the years 1910 to 1990 and includes approximately 400,000 items documenting the multifaceted life of an extraordinary person who was composer, performer, teacher, writer, conductor, commentator, and administrator. It comprises both manuscript and printed music, personal and business correspondence, diaries, writings, scrapbooks, programs, newspaper articles, and more.
The Juilliard Manuscript Collection is an extraordinary collection of 138 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions that have been recently digitized. The composers included range from Bach to Copland.
