LibGuides: Shakespeare: Reference works on Shakespeare and his time

Shakespeare and his works

Cambridge introduction to Shakespeare's tragedies by Janette Dillon
Call Number: Ebsco PR2983 .D55 2007
ISBN: 0521674921
Columbia dictionary of quotations from Shakespeare by selected by Mary and Reginald Foakes
Call Number: Ref PR2892.F48 1998
ISBN: 0231104340
Complete concordance or verbal index to words, phrases, and passages in the dramatic works of Shakespeare, with a supplementary concordance to the poems by John Bartlett
Call Number: Ref PR2892.B34 1966
ISBN: 0312156456
Dictionary of Shakespeare by Louise McConnell
Call Number: Credo PR2892 .M398 2000b
ISBN: 1901659399
Reader's encyclopedia of Shakespeare by edited by Oscar James Campbell
Call Number: Ref PR2892.C3
ISBN: 1567312578
Shakespeare glossary by C.T. Onions ; enlarged and revised throughout by Robert D. Eagleson
Call Number: Ref PR2892.O6 1986
ISBN: 0198125216
Shakespeare lexicon; a complete dictionary of all the English words, phrases and constructions in the works of the poet by Alexander Schmidt
Call Number: Ref PR2892.S4 1968 vol. 1-2
ISBN: 1602067864

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by Paul F. Grendler, editor in chief
Call Number: Ref CB361.E52 1999 vol.1-6
ISBN: 0684805146
Historical dictionary of the Elizabethan world : Britain, Ireland, Europe, and America by John A. Wagner
Call Number: DA357.W34 1999
ISBN: 1573562009
Hutchinson encyclopedia of the Renaissance by general editor, David Rundle.
Call Number: ebrary CB361 .H88 2005
ISBN: 1859863329
Oxford handbook of Tudor literature, 1485-1603 by cedited by Mike Pincombe and Cathy Shrank
Call Number: PR413.O94 2009
ISBN: 0199205884
This titled is shelved on the second floor and can be checked out.
Tudor England : an encyclopedia / by Eugene D. Hill and William B. Long, co-editors.
Call Number: Ref. DA315.T753 2001
ISBN: 0815307934
The first encyclopedia devoted to the study of the Tudor period (1485-1603). Consists of more than 700 entries, incorporating the current state of scholarship of some 240 experts. Covers not only the colorful personalities of the era, but also the history, music, art, politics, science, society, and literature of the Tudor period.
Who's who in Shakespeare's England by Alan & Veronica Palmer
Call Number: PR2910.P3 1999
ISBN: 0312220863