LibGuides: Shakespeare: Databases

Literature Databases

Remember you can limit your serch to Peer Reviewed or Scholarly Journals if that choice is given in the search interface. For any Ebscohost or ProQuest databases, use the advanced search option. Doing this will remove magazines, newspapers, and trade journals.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a full-text archival collection of backfiles of scholarly journals.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
•

ProQuest
ProQuest is a large aggregated full-text database covering all subjects including fine arts, language, literature, history and the social sciences and totaling more than 17,580 titles—with over 11,490 titles in full text. There are also options for creating an account to save and access your research.
MLA International Bibliography

Other useful databases

Shakespeare's Birthplace is a carefully restored 16th century half-timbered house situated in Henley Street, Stratford-upoon-Avon, Warwickshire, England, where it is believed that William Shakespeare was born in 1564 and spent his childhood years.

Electronic Journals Service (Ebsco)

Google Scholar (click more info for HCU recognition)

MasterFile Premier

Ebsco Comprehensive e-Journal Search

WorldCat (FirstSearch) (TexShare)