LibGuides: Moody Library: Term Paper Starter

TERM PAPER STARTER

Finding Information for Term Papers

Choosing a Topic

1. State your topic in question form.

2. Identify key terms, synonyms, and variant spellings. This will be critical to database searching.

3. Be ready to broaden or narrow your topic.

4. Ask the basic questions: Who, What, Where, When, Why, and How.

The Flow of Information/Where to Look for Information

Report of Event	Time Frame	How to Access	Characterictics
Radio/TV/Web	Seconds/minutes	Web search tools	ANYONE can publish a web page. This information can be biased and could include advertisements. Quality varies. Facts come in as they are gathered. Usually consists of immediate responses and quick analyses. Can include prominent people in appropriate fields to give commentary.
Newspapers	Day/Days	Newspaper Indexes	General audience, shorter articles written by journalists. Any subject. Local coverage.
Magazines	Week/Weeks	Periodical Indexes	General audience. Short to medium length articles written by journalists. Often contains graphics, charts, photographs and advertisements. Usually does not include bibliography.
Journals	6 months +	Periodical Indexes	Longer articles written by scholars for specialists in the field. May use technical jargon. Detailed examination of issues. Includes tables, charts, statistics. Usually includes extensive bibliography.
Books	2+ years	Library Online Catalog	Wide range of audience. In-depth coverage of topic. Written by specialists/scholars. Extensive bibliography.
Reference Sources (e.g. Encyclopedias, Handbooks, etc.)	2+ years	Library Online Catalog	Overview of topic. Includes analysis, statistics, bibliography. Very good place to begin.

What Do I Do Now?

1. Choose a database appropriate for the subject being searched. Use the synonyms and variant spelling terms (from above) in your search. Pay attention to the citation. If you find articles that looking relevant, be sure to check the "Subject" or "Descriptor" terms. You may need to add those to your list.

2. Read the help screens for that database. Also, check the Reference Tips page for database codes. See also the "How Do I" web page for Search Tips and Problems page for searching tips and ideas. This includes methods of narrowing searches if you find too much or too little information. Ask the reference librarian on duty for help. You can also email the reference librarian at reference@hc.edu or call the reference desk at 281-649-3180.

3. Remember to evaluate the pages for accuracy, authority, objectivity, etc. For a quick overview visit the "Evaluating Web Sites" page or check some of the web sites on the bibliography listed below.

4. Don't forget to check with your professor about the correct method for citing your sources.

Suggested Sites

Help with research basics:
» http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/681/01/
» http://www.lib.washington.edu/uwill/research101/
» http://gethelp.library.upenn.edu/PORT/

How to narrow your topic:
» http://www.davidson.edu/administrative/library/refer/narrowing.asp
» http://libraries.mit.edu/tutorials/general/refine1.html
» http://www.library.uni.edu/instruction/narrowing.shtml

How to cite a source:
» http://www.bedfordstmartins.com/online/citex.html
» http://www.liu.edu/CWIS/CWP/library/workshop/citation.htm
» http://library.duke.edu/research/citing/
» Additional citation help

How to avoid plagiarism:
» http://www.indiana.edu/~wts/pamphlets/plagiarism.shtml
» http://www.uk-student.net/modules/wfsection/viewarticles.php?category=8
» http://www.lib.duke.edu/libguide/plagiarism.htm