Paul and His Letters: Theology & Interpretation Journals

NOTE: This is an e-journal. HCU ID and password required for viewing. In this case, the link opens to a listing of all articles in the journal. Click the "Search in this publication" link to search. The ATR is a quarterly journal of theological reflection. In the spirit of sound learning that has been the hallmark of Anglican divinity, our aim is to foster scholarly excellence and thoughtful conversation in and for the church.

This is an e-journal. HCU ID and password required. Coverage: 1998-present. One year embargo.

Modern Theology publishes scholarly articles addressing issues specific to the discipline of theology and wider issues from a theological perspective. The editorial policy is ecumenical, and the journal also publishes critical book reviews, review essays and responses to articles.

Microfiche: vol. 4 (1987/88)-23
Academic Search Complete: vol. 14-

HCU access does include back issues from 1954-1998.

New Testament Studies is an international peer-reviewed periodical whose contributors include the leading New Testament scholars writing in the world today. The journal publishes original articles and short studies in English, French and German on a wide range of issues pertaining to the origins, history, context and theology of the New Testament and early Christianity. All contributions represent research at the cutting edge of the discipline, which has developed a wide range of methods. The journal welcomes submissions employing any such methods, such as exegetical, historical, literary-critical, sociological, hermeneutical and theological approaches to the New Testament, including studies that employ gender, ethnicity or ideology as categories of analysis, and studies in its history of interpretation and effects.

This is an e-journal. HCU ID and password required. Coverage: 1999-present. One year embargo but we receive this journal in paper. Back issues from 1956-2016 are available via JSTOR.

Novum Testamentum is a leading international journal devoted to the study of the New Testament and related subjects. This includes text-critical, philological, and exegetical studies, and investigations which seek to situate early Christian texts (both canonical and non-canonical) and theology in the broader context of Jewish and Graeco-Roman history, culture, religion, and literature.

● For 50 years an unrivalled resource for the subject.
● Articles in English, French and German.
● Extensive Book Review section in each volume, introducing the reader to a large section of related titles.

JSTOR: vol. 1 (1956)-45
Bound: vol. 46-48
Academic Search Complete: vol. 41-
Electronic Journals Service: vol. 37-
Current issues retained for one year.

This is an e-journal HCU ID and password required. Digital Coverage: 2010-present. See below for bound journals going farther back.

Scottish Journal of Theology is an international journal of systematic, historical and biblical theology. Since its foundation in 1948, it has become established as one of the world's leading theological journals. As well as publishing original research articles, each issue contains an article review consisting of an article-length review of a recent book, with a reply from the author. Scottish Journal of Theology provides an ecumenical forum for debate, and engages in extensive reviewing of theological and biblical literature.

Bound: vol. 14 (1961)-43; 45-
Electronic Journals Service: vol. 55-

Kept in the bound journal section on the second floor.

This is an e-journal. HCU ID and password required. Coverage: 1988-present. For older articles dating to 1944, please use the ATLA database.

Theology Today, a quarterly ecumenical journal of Christian theology, publishes articles on a wide range of classical and contemporary issues in Christian theology by many of the finest theologians working today. Theology Today is published by Princeton Theological Seminary in Princeton, NJ.

Bound: vol. 1 (1944/45)-43; 61-
ATLA Religion: vol. 1 (1944/45)-
Microfiche: vol. 44-49
ProQuest: vol. 44, no. 4-61, no. 3

This is an e-journal. HCU ID and password required. Coverage: 1999-present with a 3-year delay. For older articles dating to 1951, please use JSTOR.

Vetus Testamentum is a leading journal covering all aspects of Old Testament study. It includes articles on history, literature, religion and theology, text, versions, language, and the bearing on the Old Testament of archaeology and the study of the Ancient Near East.

● Since 1951 generally recognized to be indispensable for scholarly work on the Old Testament.
● Articles of interest in English, French and German.
● Detailed book review section in every issue.

JSTOR: vol. 1 (1951)-53
Academic Search Complete: vol. 49-

This is an e-journal. HCU ID and password required. Coverage:
* 1938 - present - ATLA
* 2004 - present - Academic Search Complete

Since 1938, The Westminster Theological Journal has published scholarly articles and book reviews.

As the first issue stated, it is "founded upon the conviction that the Holy Scriptures are the word of God, the only infallible rule of faith and of practice, and that the system of belief commonly designated the Reformed Faith is the purest and the most consistent formulation and expression of the system of truth set forth in the Holy Scriptures." (vol. 1, p. 1).

Its editors are appointed by the faculty of Westminster Theological Seminary, and it has the purpose of publishing scholarly work that defends and advances understanding the Bible's teaching and its implications for the larger world.

Microfiche: vol. 52 (1990)-61
Bound: vol. 62-