This list has been assembled by Murl Winters, Associate Library Director, at Evangel University, Springfield, Missouri.
•ATLA Collaborative List of E-Journals www.atla.com/international_collab/ejournals.htm (Especially see the final page of the list for sources checked.)
•Bible, Judaism, Christianity via Google Book Search
https://umdrive.memphis.edu/mhooker/google_books-bible_judaism_christianity.html, (maintained by Mischa Hooker [SBL Forum. The Wired Scholar: Five Free Tool You May Not Know About. ] •Free Books in Biblical Studies and Related Fields- http://docs.google.com/View?docid=d9xh4s8_21x7n3f, maintained by Bob Buller [SBL Forum. The Wired Scholar: Five Free Tools You May Not Know About. ]
•Google Books Google Books, … , continues its aggressive effort to digitize books and make them available for public searching. A Google executive has stated that they aim to make every book ever published full-text searchable within ten years. This developing resource has already made itself indispensable, and its value will only increase. Included within this effort are journals bound as books. [SBL Forum. The Wired Scholar: Five Free Tools You May Not Know About. ]
•Google Scholar Google Scholar is a heavily used search tool that indexes the vast majority of periodicals that are available online. Google Scholar also indexes the articles themselves, if they are available online, although a user needs to have access through a library or personal subscription to read or download them. [SBL Forum. The Wired Scholar: Five Free Tools You May Not Know About. ]
•Google Directory of major world religions (whose sites may be searched for their journals)
Religion and Spirituality - www.google.com/Top/Society/Religion_and_Spirituality
• Google Directory of Christian denominations (whose sites may be searched for their journals- www.google.com/Top/Society/Religion_and_Spirituality/Christianity/Denominations
•ETANA and ABZU ought also to be mentioned: ETANA makes available a large number of quality texts related to ancient Near Eastern Studies, and ABZU catalogs over four hundred freely available online books, articles, and websites related to the ancient Near East. [SBL Forum. The Wired Scholar: Five Free Tools you may not know about. ]
•Indian Theological Library Association http://www.geocities.com/itla_in/e-journals.html
•Journal of Early Christian Studies - Abbreviations - comprehensive guide to abbreviations for a variety of religious studies journals and reference tools. http://www.press.jhu.edu/journals/journal_of_early_christian_studies/abbreviations.html#b (index of abbreviations and journal links)
•Okeanos: website for Biblical, Classical and Ancient Near Eastern Studies Journals - http://faculty.washington.edu/snoegel/okeanos10.html#journals (links to journal catalogs)
• PubList - International Periodical Directory searchable by key word; provides information on frequency, publisher, circulation etc. http://www.publist.com/ (search engine of journals, may require a password)
•Religious Studies Web Guide: Religious Studies Electronic Journals
http://www.ucalgary.ca/~lipton/journalss.html Maintained by Saundra Lipton
(lipton@acs.ucalgary.ca) This list is focused on journals supporting academic research.
•Sally Jo Shelton has created a custom search engine Theological Journals Search using Google which presently searches 311 sites http://www.google.com/coop/cse?cx=018443097211386924752%3Aluwi5uy2qbe . It includes missions and theology.
•The site of Religious and Theological Abstracts http://www.rtabst.org/ allows you to do a limited free search.
•DMOZ: Open Directory Project - http://www.dmoz.org/Society/Religion_and_Spirituality/Religious_Studies/Journals/
•Jewish Theological Seminary Library E-Content, E-Periodicals (includes many open access titles - www.jtsa.edu/x688.xml
•Resource Index: Theological Journals http://www.rctr.org/thejourn.htm
•Webliography of Non-Christian Religious Resources. The resources suggested are generally “written indigenously by adherents of the religions and (so-called) neutrally by academics in the area.” http://webliography.xmmedia.net/private/index.php