SCROLL DOWN FOR ALL THE PAGES OF NOTES!!!!
Doni Wilson Hinton 207 #20.
10-15 page research paper--...MLA format at least 6 sources... Can be anything legit (newspapers and magazines are fine).
Library Homepage. (Mobile vs. Computer version)
Library Services- InterLibrary Loan/ TexShare
Nine Boxes. OneSearch and Databases
Search the Catalog. 2/3rd are Ebooks the others should be on the 2nd floor of Moody Library.
See LibGuide For Downloading Ebooks.
Link to Ebooks from EBSCO. Link to Ebooks from Ebrary.
You should be able to search the books in the catalog and hit the URL icon to open the ebooks.
It should work off campus.
Databases: Sign in when you see the Welcome to HCU Databases page. Use your HCU Email and Password.
Most databases (ProQuest or EBSCO) will give you the choice to limit to Peer Reviewed/ Scholarly Journals.
Jstor is 98% Peer Reviewed sources.
Today I displayed how to use the Catalog, CQ Researcher, Jstor and ATLA
Library Homepage--HCU.edu/moody
Find related topics that you can use to support your theories or suppositions you have made on your own.
Using Library Databases
Your are paying for them.
You can limit to Academic/and or Peer Reviewed Journal Articles
You can download, save, or email the full-text articles
(Not all are full-text)
The database tries to help you cite the work.
Explain hbu.edu/moody
Truncation Symbol in most databases is the asterisk. * Alcohol* retrieves alcohol, alcoholism, alcohols etc.
Boolean Operators-
AND OR
Alcohol AND Prohibition Alcohol* OR Liquor*
Explain catalog vs. databases.
CATALOG Examples: (Homepage under Find Books and Media)
Catalog under Find Books and Media— Books on shelf by Call Number. – E-Books also.
NOT Search Author: Jacob Grimm
Search Author: Grimm, Jacob or Grimm, Wilhelm Different formats- ebook and print.
NOT Search Title: THE Grimms' German folk tales
Search Title: Grimms' German folk tales Call Numbers.
Subject: When searching for personal subjects- names of people use the same format that you used to search for authors, last name, first initial or spell out the names.
Subject: Grimm, J or Grimm, Jacob
(Red Books behind the Reference Desk) Library of Congress Subject Headings.
Retrieve- 8 titles.
DATABASE Examples: (login with my.hbu.edu HCU EMAIL & Password
HCU OneSearch - (Found on Library Homepage or Find Articles Link) This searches most databases and books.
Chart for Topics.
SEE the notes I added for each topic by clicking the KDC# by your topic.
|
Topic: |
Suggest Sources: |
Searches |
|
|
|
CQ Researcher, Catalog |
Death Penalty or Capital Punishment |
|
|
|
|
Glorious Revolution[KDC2] |
Catalog, Jstor |
1688, Prince of Orange, William III, (Dutch), Bloodless Revolution. |
|
|
|
Diagnosis of Psychological[KDC3] Disorders |
DSM, Catalog, PSYCArticles, PSYCINFO |
Narrow this down? Search Psychological Disorders- chapters. Articles. |
|
|
|
Catalog, Jstor CQ Researcher. |
18th amendment. 21 amendment. Prohibition. |
|
|
|
|
Catalog, CQ Researcher, HCU OneSearch with different terms. |
Adoption and History? |
|
|
|
|
Catalog, CQ Researcher, Databases |
Attention Deficit Add history if you wish. |
|
|
|
|
Catalog, Jstor |
Grimm, Jacob or Grimm, Wilhelm or fairy tales? |
|
|
|
|
Gender and Social Class in rules in the 19th Century[KDC8]
|
Catalog, Jstor, |
19th century, women, 1800’s, (gender, females, women etc.) Roles, etc.
|
|
|
|
See me. Frear |
|
|
|
|
|
The Puritans |
Catalog, Jstor, Narrow down with other terms or location. |
Puritans (and history or names of prominent leaders or colonies) |
|
|
|
Catalog, ATLA, Jstor. |
Trinity as subject. Trinity and heresy or heresies in Power Search in the catalog and the ATLA database. |
|
|
|
|
Humanity of the Unborn Child. |
Catalog, CQ Researcher -search ABORTION. ProLife., HCU OneSearch. |
Is a fetus human? What makes a human? When does like begin? Fetus after 8 weeks gestation? Embryo – 2nd to 8th week. Zygote? Definitions.
|
OneSearch Database linked to this Open Access Article: The value of human life and the attitude towards abortion A christian and bioethic approach Dialogo. 2014;1(1):137-140 https://doaj.org/article/d200efae749e41ca973e818c93f9298a |
|
[KDC1]Execution, Death Sentence, Pro Life, Death Row, Legalized Killing, Capital Punishment, Death Warrant, Judicial Execution etc.
[KDC2]Revolution of 1688, Bloodless Revolution, James II, Roman Catholic, Declaration of Indulgence 1687, John Churchill, Mary II and husband William III, Prince of Orange (Is William spelled Wilheim?)
[KDC3]See DSM -5 Ref. RC455.2.C4 D536 2012. What disorder? Narrow down.
[KDC4]Temperance, Alcoholism, Intoxication, Law, Legal, History, Where, America, Britain? 18th Amendment/ 21 Amendment- liquor, prohibiting alcoholic no production, transportation, or sale of alcohol. Can drink it and privately own it. (Marijuana tie in).
[KDC5]Where? USA, Europe, International? Controversy. Pros Cons.
[KDC6]Controversy. Food additives. Medicating children. Attention Deficit will pull both. History. Ritalin.
[KDC7]Grimm, Jacob & Grimm, Wilhelm. Search name and open all in subjects in catalog.
[KDC8]19th Century, Nineteenth Century, 1800’s, Where? Social Class, Mores, Ethics.
[KDC9]Frear’s sources, Subjecting in context to the time things were written, Negro, Colored, Black, African American, Soldiers, GI’s Infantry etc.
[KDC10]Online site: reclaimingthemind –What the trinity is not.