LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Best Resources

Top Resources

Please note the new resources that are now available. Also, please note the additional use of Gale Topic Finder for Criminal Justice, which helps you search for criminal justice topics in two visual formats (tile or wheel).

===========
Updated: 20221003/0854

Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes more than 18,000* titles that are exclusive to Alexander Street.

Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.

Permalinks are available as well as embed codes for use in Blackboard, web pages, or PowerPoint presentations.
Gale Legal Forms
Gale LegalForms offers a wide selection of essential state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms that may be customized for the most common legal procedures. These forms are used by attorneys and law firms. Includes real estate contracts, wills, premarital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant, and many others.

Many forms are ideal for supporting legal tasks relevant to business owners, such as filing for copyrights, patents and trademarks, articles of incorporation, licenses, and more.

FORMS & MORE Access a vast collection of official documents, including litigation forms, court samples, checklists, sample letters, and more.

LEGAL TOOLS Support your form use with Legal Definitions, a Law Digest, and Legal Q&A to build your understanding of key areas of law

SEARCH & BROWSE Search for a specific form or topic or click to browse major categories and sample searches.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more. The Criminal Justice makes research easy by bringing together information from more than 250 journals. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
NexisUni (formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic)
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, federal, and state cases including state laws. including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Also includes full text news, business, education, medical and reference information.
Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to cover the top 150 core academic subject reference areas. The database includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and important general interest magazines. This combination of general reference volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. ProQuest Research Library™ provides hundreds of general interest periodicals from around the world, so not only is it an invaluable database for a number of different academic disciplines, but it's also accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

Worth Watching: History of American Criminal Justice Video

HCU Network Login may be required from off-campus.

History of American Criminal Justice

Abstract

ACJ: BASIS IN LAW: Three Branches: Law Enforcement, Courts, Corrections; Ancient Origins of Criminal Justice; English Common Law and Colonial America ; Independence, Revolution and Bill of Rights;Due Process under 4th, 5th, 6th, 8th, 14th Amendments. U.S. LAW ENFORCEMENT: Police, U. S. Marshalls, Texas Rangers; August Vollmer and Police Professionalism; Detention, Arrest, Evidence; Federal Law Enforcement; Probable Cause, Miranda Warning. U.S. COURT SYSTEM: Local, State and Federal Courts; Prosecutors and Defense Attorneys; Hearings, Plea Bargaining and Trial; Punishment and Sentencing; Capital Punishment. U.S. CORRECTIONAL SYSTEM: Four Functions of Corrections; History of U.S. Jails and Prisons; Prisoner Rights and Litigation; Parole and Recidivism; Juvenile Justice System. FUTURE OF ACJ: Privatization of Prisons; In Psychology, Sociology, Social Work, Penology & Criminology; In Law Enforcement.

https://hc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://video.alexanderstreet.com/p/QkRJzR7kL