Advanced Philosophy 2

This second edition has a truly global perspective. It contains more than 2,100 entries. Among the many wide-ranging topics covered are African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more. Additionally, the second edition also features 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought throughout history.

The Shorter Routlege Encyclopedia of Philosophy presents the very best of the acclaimed ten volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy in a single volume. It makes a selection of the most important entries available for the first time and covers all you need to know about philosophy, from Aristotle to Wittgenstein and animals and ethics to scientific method.Comprising over 900 entries and covering the major philosophers and philosophical topics, this resource includes the following special features: Unrivaled coverage of major philosophers, themes, movements and periods making the volume indispensable for any student or general reader. Fully cross-referenced. Revised versions of many of the most important entries, including fresh suggestions for further reading. Newer topics include Cloning and Sustainability along with entries by many leading philosophers such as Bernard Williams, Martha Nussbaum, Richard Rorty, Onora O'Neill, T.M. Scanlon and Anthony Appiah. Striking new text design to help locate key entries quickly and easily

Presents a broad survey of philosophical thought. Each chapter explores, and places in context, a major area of philosophical enquiry - including the theory of meaning and of truth, the theory of knowledge, the philosophies of mathematics, science and metaphysics, the philosophy of mind, moral and political philosophy, aesthetics, and religion. Annotated bibliographies for each chapter and indexes of names and subjects. Glossary of commonly-used philosophical terms. Chronological table of the history of philosophy from 1600`It is a fine achievement and deserves the warmest praise.