LibGuides: Federal & State: Codes and Cases....: Home

Nexis Uni Database

Nexis Uni Instructions can be found below.

Find a document by legal citation using Shepard's.
Find Case Law Documents
Legal, Law, Government etc. Databases
List of All Moody Library Databases
Nexis Uni Keyword & Wildcard searching
Nexis Uni special symbols etc.
Phase and Connector Searching
VERY advanced searching tips in Nexis Uni
Restrict my search to a specific jurisdiction.
http://help.lexisnexis.com/tabula-rasa/nexisuni/restrictsearchtojurisdiction_hdi-task?lbu=US&locale=en_US&audience=all
Restrict my search to a certain content type.
Like a statutes, cases or secondary material.
more...less...
http://help.lexisnexis.com/tabula-rasa/nexisuni/restrictsearchtocontentype_hdi-task?lbu=US&locale=en_US&audience=all
Restrict my search by a date or date range.

These below are tips on how to search.

Databases- Moody Library

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 1,750 active journals and 39,000 books to help users discover more novel science, use their time efficiently, and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information.

Our collection includes Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities (including Arts, Business, Education, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, and Psychology).

Ebsco Comprehensive Database Search

Students often overlook primary sources found in Regulatory, Judiciary and Statutory law. These types of primary sources define the legal stance on a particular topic. These are the types of questions that can be answered by using Nexis Uni to quickly

Statutory Law- Passed by governmental body such as Congress, State Legislature, city etc.

(Constitutional Law- Federal Law established by the U. S. Constitution which grants and limits power. Powers that are limited are given to the states). Amendments are passed by U. S. Congress then ratified by the states. Each state has a constitution of its own.)

Regulatory Law- Can be also called Executive or Administrative Law.

(Federal or State Laws are passed by Governmental Agencies.)

Common Law- Laws established not in writing but as common practice and standards.

Judicial Law- Case Law or laws passed by courts- Federal and State.

See pages 274-67 Chapter 8 -Legal Responsibilities for Practice in Ellis, J. R. & Hartley, C. L. (2004) Nursing in Today's World: Trends, Issues & Management. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.