LibGuides: PSYC 5316 Child and Adolescent Psychopathology: Worksheets

Psychology & Sociology Databases

Behavioral and Mental Health Online This link opens in a new window
With more than 2,500 videos and almost 3,500 books, documents and transcripts, Behavioral and Mental Health Online is a fundamental resource for studying and teaching in the areas of behavioral and mental health. This ever-growing multi-media resource includes clinical mental health demonstrations, videos of real clinical mental health sessions, the largest amount of DSM-5®/ICD-10 video content, documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, client narratives, reference works, clinical mental health textbooks and workbooks, psychological experiments and more. More than 80 percent of this content is only available from ProQuest. New content is added quarterly.

This ever-growing collection includes access to: Clinical mental health demonstrations, video of real therapy sessions, DSM-5®/ICD-10 content, documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, client narratives, reference works, textbooks, and psychological experiments.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Health Research Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Health Research Premium Collection is uniquely suited for libraries whose users require content for learning and researching medicine and related subject areas including medical and mental health. Our content helps health science librarians meet the research needs of many audiences, whether it’s supporting a clinical research study or providing faculty with instructional multimedia content to help students connect theory to practice.

While other providers tend to focus solely on the information needs of established professionals, ProQuest's unique mix of training content, scholarly literature, and clinical reference materials is accessible to those preparing for a career in healthcare. The variety of source types makes it easier for students and researchers alike to understand new subjects, access relevant literature, and monitor the latest thinking.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print. Much more detail in the More Info section.
All Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) entries contain descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in the English language and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.

Content Includes:
• Full-text reviews of 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments
• All previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938 (10,000+ full-text reviews)
• Tests In Print (TIP) — a bibliographical database to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
ProQuest Dissertations: Humanities & Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes doctoral dissertations and master's theses for the humanities and social sciences. This includes education, psychology, sociology, business, economics, literature, history, criminal justice, etc.
This is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses and is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles provides access to 119 journals, including their flagship publication, American Psychologist®. . This database is 100% full-text and is most helpful to our graduate and doctoral students. Be sure to click the More Info button for two APA-produced videos to help with your research.
The database is updated bi-weekly, ensuring your patrons are connected to highly-cited articles revealing the latest psychological findings.

Be sure to check out Finding Psychometric Information about a Test that explains the significance of reliability, validity, and factor analysis fields and how these psychometric properties can help students determine whether a test is suitable for their research needs.

Also, be sure to watch their video Find information on reliability!
validity, and factor analysis

We also encourage users to watch this filter by methodology video clip to limit APA PsycTests results by research method.

Finally, you can download their Methodology Field Values Handout.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research. This is primarily abstracts, not full-text unless HCU subscribes to that journal. You can request articles from interlibrary loan for email delivery between 24-72 hours.
Content notes:
* Coverage dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present
* Authored and edited books and book chapters
* Dissertations selected from Dissertation Abstracts International (Sections A and B)
* Publications from more than 50 countries
* Journals published in 29 languages
PsycTests This link opens in a new window
This database is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. This includes validity and reliability.
Includes thousands of actual test instruments. Cover fields of psychology, psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work among others.

Professionally indexed, APA PsycTests makes it easy to download select ready-to-use research instruments, including a wide range of reliable measures never made commercially available. Extensive coverage along with thousands of research instruments makes APA PsycTests an ideal starting point for researchers initiating new research projects.

APA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures.

Research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files
Select measurements available in more than 40 languages
Coverage spanning more than 100 years, with a strong emphasis on current research instruments.

The indexing employed in APA PsycTests allows for intuitive searching and browsing, providing detailed results using a variety of customized fields, including construct and research instrument type.
PsycTherapy This link opens in a new window
APA PsycTherapy is a streaming video database of therapy demonstrations with hundreds of videos showing various treatment approaches. APA PsycTherapy is intended for educational purposes, specifically in clinical training and counselor education, and provides clinicians, counselors, and trainees the opportunity to observe candid psychotherapy videos featuring known therapists.
This proven counseling training method is an invaluable tool to remain abreast of the latest psychotherapy techniques. Therapists cover more than 100 approaches, such as integrated behavioral healthcare, cognitive behavior therapy and acceptance and commitment therapy. All therapy demonstrations in APA PsycTherapy are unscripted and were taped within the past ten years.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 1,750 active journals and 39,000 books to help users discover more novel science, use their time efficiently, and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information.

Our collection includes Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities (including Arts, Business, Education, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, and Psychology).

Notes

PSYC 5316 Using HCU OneSearch (many databases search)

Part 2: PsycArticles Basic

OTHER USEFUL RESOURCES

Multi-Disciplinary Databases
This group of databases is general and covers many different academic disciplines. If you are still not finding something useful, give these a try. It includes Gale Academic One and ProQuest Research Library.

These library resources below are used quite regularly by our students and may be useful as you work with the databases.

Interlibrary Loan - Journal Article Form
Articles can take 24-72 hours to arrive in your Inbox.
Interlibrary Loan Book Form
Our courier service delivers local items every Tuesday and Friday.
Library Classic Catalog
This searches for both E-books and print books. Click the radio buttons or dropdown menus to maximize your options.
Research Paper Help - Includes over 60 short videos and tutorials on a wide variety of topics related to the creation of writing assignments.
Credo Reference
- Need an overview of a topic or more specific details? Credo Reference consists of over 300 reference titles consisting of an aggregate of 3.1 million entries. It is a great place to find biographical information or other general information about concepts and theories. Use the Length filters to get brief or lengthy descriptions (can often include 3-7 page articles and many are appropriate for master's and doctoral levels).
Self-Guided Research Help
The library's 24/7 help center with tutorials and videos on a wide range of research topics.
HCU Answers
Need to find out something about HCU?

PSYC 5316 Child and Adolescent Psychopathology: Worksheets

Suggested Databases: HCU OneSearch, PsycINFO, PsycArticles, Psychology and Behavior Sciences Collection, and Academic Success Complete

Psychology & Sociology Databases

Recommended

Notes

PSYC 5316 Using HCU OneSearch (many databases search)

Part 2: PsycArticles Basic

OTHER USEFUL RESOURCES