LibGuides: Centre for Muslim-Christian Studies: Library Resources: Databases

Useful Databases

ATLA Religion (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
American Theological Library Association. This is the premier database for research in the field of religion and theology.
• Searchable by scripture text. We recommend book and chapter (excluding verses) for best results.
• 1949 – present
• Index of journals articles, multi-author works, and books reviews in the field of religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive (i.e., not current). It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.
Qurʾānic Studies Online This link opens in a new window
This entire package includes: Concordance et Indices de la Tradition Musulmane Online, Dictionary of Qurʾanic Usage, Early Western Korans Online, Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān, Qurʾān Concordance, and Encyclopedia of Canonical Ḥadīth Online.

All of these are helpful, but the most significant work of this group is the Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān. Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'ān. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur'ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'ānic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the encyclopaedia is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur'ān to appear in a Western language.

Frequent cross-references will draw readers to related entries and each article will conclude with a citation of relevant bibliography. The final volume of this encyclopaedia will contain indices of transliterated terms, of qur'ānic references and of the authors and exegetes cited in the entries and essays.

This encyclopaedia is a fully international work supported by an international board of advisors. Scholars from many nations have written articles for the encyclopaedia.