Education: Reference Books

Provides current information on certification requirements in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. Updated annually.

In this detailed survey of the teacher training market, readers get information on finding a school or program, funding their education, and choosing a district that is likely to meet their salary expectations. Chapters include an examination of teaching itself, alternate routes to the classroom, finding the school and the money, and how to get licensed. These are followed by indices of schools according to admission percentages, size, and success of students in state certification, as well as separate tables giving rates of pay for first-time teachers and those with master's degrees. This is followed by descriptions of schools and programs by state.

Multiculturalism is one of the most widely discussed concepts in education today. Now, educators, university students, scholars, or anyone interested in multiculturalism can turn to the Dictionary of Multicultural Education to gain further information on and understanding of this important field. As the authoritative reference work on the subject, the Dictionary includes in-depth explanations of the history, use, and implications of more than 150 terms as defined by scholars prominent in the field. This reference work comprises terms of relevant legislation, educational-theoretical concepts and methodologies, and sociopolitical movements and conditions.

Education continues to use a specialized language that may seem inaccessible to the lay reader. Several educational encyclopedias exist, but this slim volume provides a concise dictionary of current educational terms and short biographies of seminal educators. The alphabetical list of terms, phrases, buzzwords, and jargon focuses on current issues, for example, Habits of mind, Intelligent design, No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB), and White flight.

The author defines more than 500 terms and identifies the major area of learning theory under which each term falls: behavorism, cognitivism, constructivism, humanism, organizational learning, or educational technology. Topics, alphabetized by subject, include "andragogy," "cognition," "distance learning," "on-the-job training," "theory x," "theory y" and "theory z." Entries are written in straightforward, easily understood language and vary in length from one paragraph to a page and a half. Further reading and understanding is encouraged by the chapter outlining subtopics within each of the six major areas of learning theory. The book includes a good index, an alphabetical list of terms defined, and an annotated bibliography of works, 1863-2001.

This is a completely updated encyclopedia compilation of state and federal appellate court decisions that affect education.

An encyclopedia of the issues and ideas affecting education law covering topics from relatively innocuous hair codes to strip searching. The reference provides an extensive introduction to the development of education law and the role of government in public education from the national to the local level The dictionary entries center on key issues, concepts, terms, Supreme Court decisions, and related agencies and organizations.

In its ten chapters, The Educator's Guide discusses a myriad of topics relating to the legal structure of the Texas school system, attendance law and the instructional program, the education of children with disabilities, employment law, rights of expression and association, the role of religion, student discipline, open meetings and public records, privacy issues, student search and seizure, and legal liability of school districts and employees.

Featuring contributions by 100-plus legal practitioners and academics, the majority from the U.S., Russo's two- volume text offers a resource for undergraduate and graduate students, educators, legal practitioners, and general readers concerned with education law in the U.S. The primary focus is on developments in education law since Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, but the text also includes entries on the historical development of the laws of the larger legal system in the U.S. that impact education. The alphabetically arranged entries fall within a range of several thematic areas: biographies of key individuals; collective bargaining; concepts, theories, and legal principles; constitutional rights and issues; curricular and instructional issues; educational equity; governance issues; litigation; organizations; paternal rights; excerpts of landmark U.S. Supreme Court cases; religion in public schools; special education; statutes and treaties; student rights and student welfare; teacher rights; and technology.

The Condition of Education summarizes important developments and trends in education using the latest available data.

An PDF version of the 2008 digest is located online. The primary purpose of this publication is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.

In Volume III, as in Volumes I and II, the classic topics of reading are included--from vocabulary and comprehension to reading instruction in the classroom--and, in addition, each contributor was asked to include a brief history that chronicles the legacies within each of the volume's many topics. However, on the whole, Volume III is not about tradition. Rather, it explores the verges of reading research between the time Volume II was published in 1991 and the research conducted after this date. The editors identified two broad themes as representing the myriad of verges that have emerged since Volumes I and II were published: (1) broadening the definition of reading, and (2) broadening the reading research program. The particulars of these new themes and topics are addressed.

This single-volume reference provides readers & researchers with access to details on a wide range of topics & issues in the sociology of education. Entries cover both national & international perspectives & studies, as well as tackling controversial points in education today, including gender inequality, globalization, minorities, meritocracy, & more. This is a key, one-of-a-kind resource for all educational researchers & educators.

This updated edition of the award-winning three-volume reference includes more than 2,000 entries spanning the colonial period to the present. A wealth of information covers virtually every aspect of education, from the evolution of school curriculum, education funding, and church-state controversies to the latest debates on multiculturalism, prayer in school, and sex education. Appendixes include significant federal legislation, important U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and lists of undergraduate majors and graduate school programs.

This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 121 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text primary source documents including education related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.

This two-volume encyclopedia is aimed primarily at school administrators and those in training to lead in the academic arena. Its 600 A-to-Z entries, each half a page to 12 pages long, are by 200-plus professors, graduate students, practitioners, and association officials and range from biographical sketches of leaders and thinkers who have influenced American education, such as Howard Gardner and Abraham Maslow, to explanations of the item response theory and Holocaust education. Other topics include educational organizations (e.g., Parent Teacher Association), child development theories, and terms like cultural capital and differentiated staffing.

More than 600 alphabetically arranged entries cover conditions, means of identification, treatments, legal issues, and individuals who have made a contribution to research in the field. Examples include Acalculia (also known as anarithmia), the inability to do simple mathematics; Angelman syndrome, a childhood disorder characterized by hyperactivity; Cylert (pemoline), a drug sometimes used to treat ADHD (attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder); and Zone of proximal development (ZPD), the gap between the level of a student's independent function and how he or she may perform learning tasks with help. Entries are complete and informative, and the language is easy to understand. Appendixes include a list of national organizations that deal with various learning disorders along with descriptions, contact information, and Web sites; sources of government information and assistance; assistive technology resources; hot lines; commercial technology resources; bulletin boards and discussion groups; and books of interest to people with learning disabilities. There are also a short glossary of terms and an up-to-date bibliography.

Lee (U. of Kansas) emphasizes the role of school psychologists as consultants, and one of this encyclopedia's goals is to introduce non-specialists to the scope of psychology applied to education. It can also serve as a reference for practitioners and vocational counselors. For ease of use, the comprehensive contents are listed both alphabetically and by subject area. About 250 entries by a large team of contributors from relevant disciples cover topics from assessment to technology. Some topics that general readers may not expect include diseases such as cancer and HIV/AIDS, divorce adjustment, and home schooling.

The Third Edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education has been thoroughly updated to include the latest information about new legislation and guidelines. In addition, this comprehensive resource features school psychology, neuropsychology, reviews of new tests and curricula that have been developed since publication of the second edition in 1999, and new biographies of important figures in special education. Unique in focus, the Encyclopedia of Special Education, Third Edition addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field.

Bank presents a thorough and up-to-date look at issues of gender in education, from elementary through high school, to which multiple experts have contributed. Primarily focused on U.S. educational systems, this thematically organized work starts with a general overview of gendered theories of education and moves through research, contexts and constructs, and an examination of policies.

This 2-volume encyclopedia provides a comprehensive overview of the study and teaching of literacy in the United States. It addresses the learning and practice of multiple literacies, including reading, writing, listening, and speaking, and such "new literacies" as popular culture, media, and technology.

Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and environmental factors at work in the classroom. Explores how instruction and learning are affected by factors such as classroom management, multiculturalism, learning styles, home schooling, peer relationships, school culture, discipline, self-esteem, socioeconomic status, and more.

The authors, practitioners in public and school libraries, find a wide selection of quality children's books for grades K-12 that describe daily life and extraordinary events in the Americas, Europe, Asia, Africa and Australia. They take a topical rather than geographic approach, covering identity, self-image, learning, families, friends, neighborhoods, traditions, the past in diverse communities and ways to learn about today's world, including coping with conflict. They describe how to build lessons, programs, and parent-child discussion groups, and list award-winning books about multicultural life. The indices are particularly helpful, giving teachers and librarians plenty of topics and ideas to explore in a range of grade levels.

This edition provides a list of print and electronic resources for children from preschool through grade six, and review sources and other professional aids for childrens librarians and school media specialists. The updated text features some 9,000 fiction and nonfiction books and 3,000-plus analytical entries for items contained in anthologies; an abundance of new listings on minorities, ecology, natural sciences, and natural history; a new periodicals section, with listings of children's periodicals and professional journals for teachers and librarians; an expanded section of internet resources; and a selection of recommended graphic novels. The text includes an author, title, subject, and analytical index.

The main portion of this work is a bibliography of bibliographies. Cited sources include references to recommended children's books (fiction and nonfiction, in print and nonprint formats). In addition to the bibliographic entries, there are biographies of authors and illustrators and Internet access points.