Library Research and Study Skills: Writing Assignments

Science writers are translators of sorts: they transform the jargon-laden language and arcane concepts of the science world into something the rest of us can understand and even appreciate. For this, they must be able to comprehend (and assess the value of) the science at hand, then simplify, calling into action whatever metaphor and analogy they can find to get the idea across. For this indispensable guidebook, 39 committed and enthusiastic science writers chime in about what their jobs entail. Among them are newspaper reporters, magazine and journal contributors, book authors, and freelance, editorial, and op-ed writers. Specialists relate the intricacies of covering topics such as infectious diseases, neuroscience, the environment, and technology. A final section explores science-writing jobs for colleges and universities, government agencies, museums, and industry.

This is a book for anyone whose responsibilities include communication of a technical nature. The book shows how to write and edit clearer, more forceful and persuasive memos, letters, technical reports and documents.

Offers students sound advice on how to become critical thinkers and enrich their reading response through accessible, step-by-step instruction. This highly respected text is ideal as a supplement to any course where writing about literature or literary studies is emphasized.

The most comprehensive book available that deals specifically with writing sociology papers, this updated reference/manual helps both beginning and advanced sociologists learn how to research and write in sociology, and how to improve their writing ability in general. Teaches the basic skills of writing—formatting, source citations, grammar, sentence structure, research, and utilizing available sources—in sociology. For practicing sociologists and those in training.

Write Like a Chemist is a unique guide to chemistry-specific writing. Written with National Science Foundation support and extensively piloted in chemistry courses nationwide, it offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal. Chemistry students, post-docs, faculty, and other professionals interested in perfecting their disciplinary writing will find it an indispensable reference.

This is a primer for the undergraduate biology major on writing for the discipline. Includes advice about writing laboratory reports and preparing poster presentations.

Survey of English usage, grammar, and style offering guidance on almost any writing problem imaginable.

Providing an indispensable new A-Z reference to English usage for the twenty-first century, this guide covers more than 3000 points of word meaning, spelling, punctuation, grammar and style on which students, teachers, writers and editors regularly require guidance. It also addresses larger issues of inclusive language, and effective writing and argument, and provides guidance on grammatical terminology.

Mixed-up, mangled expressions; foreign-language faux pas; confused and confusing terms; commonly mispronounced words—they’re all explained in this useful and entertaining guide.

A usage guide for contemporary American English. Modern American Usage covers issues of usage, pronunciation, and style, from plurals and literary techniques to distinctions between similar words and the usage of foreign terms.

How to Write is an introductory guide to writing, aimed at people who think they can't write, or for whom writing is an ordeal. Broken down into short topic-based chapters on everything from beginning to revising, it demystifies the writing process by taking the reader through each stage necessary to bring a piece of writing to a decent finish. The book also offers a wealth of invaluable practical considerations, including when and where to write, when to printout and when to edit onscreen, what type of pen works well for revisions, and the hazards of the paperclip. The author is a seasoned writer whose encouraging but uncompromising guidance will delight as well as instruct.
Offering practical advice in a lucid, no-nonsense style, How to Write will be ideal for both students and professional people who need to write during the course of their work.

Examines patterns of use in the news, fiction and academic English. Takes grammar and vocabulary together and looks at how they interact. Is based on the analysis of 40-million words of British and American, written and spoken corpus text. Uses over 3000 examples of real, corpus English to illustrate the points. Uses frequency tables and graphs to make the new findings of this grammar clear

Fully updated 2009 MLA documentation guidelines with revised templates that show students how to cite sources using the current style. Easy to use, and to understand.

The first of its kind, A Pocket Style Manual continues to help student writers get answers to their writing and research questions. Its concise and straightforward content is flexible enough to suit the needs of writers in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, health professions, business courses, fine arts, teacher training courses, and beyond. Its slim format, brief length, and spiral binding make it a portable and practical tool. With its signature Diana Hacker quick-reference features, A Pocket Style Manual has always provided quick solutions to writing problems. Supplemented by the best free and open Web resources, A Pocket Style Manual offers the best value for students.

Providing guidelines and writing practice for students, this third edition features a discussion on language variety and includes expanded research coverage which gives tips on writing across the disciplines. In addition, students are shown how to prepare and give presentations. Full chapters on working online and designing documents on a computer are also included.

This guide to the correct usage of English has been designed to help resolve most common English language problems and queries. Set out in an accessible reference format, the book contains examples and explanations of mistakes regarding sentence construction, spelling, punctuation and grammar.

Academic writing can be a daunting prospect for new undergraduates and postgraduates alike, regardless of whether they are home or overseas students. This accessible book provides them/students with all they need to know to produce excellent written work.

Based on their many years of experience, the authors have structured the book so as to build students' confidence in their own writing ability whilst at the same time respecting conventional ideas of what is, and what is not, acceptable in the academic domain. To reinforce student learning, the material is presented using a wealth of clear examples, hands-on tasks with answers, and logical sequences that build on earlier chapters. The first two sections of the book address the preparation and writing of assignments and research projects, while the third provides a useful toolkit containing reference materials on areas including punctuation, grammar and academic terminology.

A storehouse of practical writing tips, written in a lively, conversational style. Readers lean to develop a “writer's sense” : the book demonstrates that writing is really applied psychology since it is essentially the art of creating desired effects. Provides an explanation of what effects are desirable and how to create them. An exceptional book that works successfully on several levels simultaneously.Provides new insight into: how to generate interesting ideas and get them down on paper; how to write a critical analysis; how to write a crisp opener; how to invigorate a banal style; how to punctuate with confidence; how to handle various conventions, and much more.For anyone who needs a reference guide on writing.