MKTG 3310: Web Sites

Remember this data was collected in 2000. Call City, County and State Government offices for updated information.

Search Example: On the top right locate the Population Finder. Run Zip Code and State. Run an Address Search. Click on Census Track. Find Fact Sheet.

The Consumer Expenditure Survey measures the spending habits of U.S. consumers and includes data on their expenditures, income, and characteristics

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Occupational Outlook Quarterly
Employment: Occupational Employment Statistics
Wages by Area and Occupation
Injuries, Illness, and Fatalities
Employment Projections

Employment Cost Trends
National Compensation Data
Wages by Area and Occupation
Earning Demographics
Earnings by Industry
County Wages (Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages)
Employee Benefits
International Compensation Costs
Compensation Research and Program Development Group
Strikes and Lockouts (Work Stoppages)

Find county.
Look up office buildings or residential addresses for tax information etc. Check maps for areas nearby.

From site: "The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."

From website: "(February 2010) PRB's Population Bulletin, "U.S. Economic and Social Trends Since 2000," analyzes the last 10 years of economic and social trends in the United States. Here are 10 key findings about those last 10 years"....

From the website: "The Angel Capital Association is a peer organization of angel investing groups in North America. The professional association focuses on networking and sharing of best practices among these angel groups."

A project by the Library of Congress to select and catalog business, economic, and related Web resources. There are eighty-eight different subject topics including accounting, business plans, companies by industry, price indexes, women in business, Black Business, and much more.

Business.gov helps small businesses understand their legal requirements, and locate government services supporting the nation’s small business community.

This index lists types of small businesses and a corresponding sample business plan, profile or book about the business with sources provided after each entry. If the plan or profile is online, a link is provided.

This guide includes books and other resources that discuss marketing to particular segments of the population along with other sources that are important in determining the size and power of a particular market segment. Also included are statistical books and other sources whose main focus is on a specific generational, ethnic or other group. In addition, the guide includes references to selected articles and online sources.

From the Whittemore School of Business & Economics, University of New Hampshire, Durham NH

Meeting Business Regulations. The Doing Business Project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 181 economies and selected cities and the subnational and regional level.

According to their "About Us" page, Edgar Online provides interactive business and financial data on global companies. EDGAR Online delivers a broad spectrum of data including SEC filings, fundamental data, institutional holdings, insider trades, IPO/SPO registrations, and access to global annual reports and conference call transcripts. EDGAR Online's products facilitate deep company and industry analysis including benchmarking, peer analysis, valuation modeling, scenario testing and contribution analysis among others.

"The Fed serves as a barometric gauge of the economy. Under Research and Data at this web site, find current interest rates, daily exchange rates, and more. Some data sets go back 50 years. The Beige Book, often quoted when reporting on economy growth and consumer spending, can be found under Monetary Policy. Fed Chair Alan Greenspan's testimonies are also available." -- Library Journal, 4/15/01 (See Economic Research available at the St. Louis Federal Reserve. Go to http://research.stlouisfed.org/index.html. To view the various banks, Click "About the Fed." Then click "Federal Reserve Districts and Banks."

FedStats.org is a data hub for several types of U.S. Government collected data including Census (U.S. and World), Population Demographics (U.S. and World) and Geneology/ Family Tree information. Also featured are U.S. Government Job Sites, Government Grants and Tax Forms.

Date: February 1999.Covers Economic history from 1990 to the present. The handbook can also be accessed at http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS2917.

In response to the United Nation’s Millennium Declaration of 2000, this report strives to rate the progress by this declaration. Using the development goals set by the UN, this report rates if countries are reducing poverty rates, child mortality rates, the spread of disease, the growth of educational opportunities, and solidifying political alliances. Other subjects addressed are these: human rights, longevity, income, gender issues, spending and trade. 2005 and other years available.

From the website: The National Association of Small Business Investment Companies (NASBIC) is the professional association for the Small Business Investment Company (SBIC) industry.

From the website: "The National Business Incubation Association (NBIA) is the world's leading organization advancing business incubation and entrepreneurship."

From the website: "The National Venture Capital Association (NVCA) is the premier trade association that represents the U. S. venture capital industry.

For over sixty years, the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system has served as the structure for the collection, aggregation, presentation, and analysis of the economy. An industry consists of a group of establishments primarily engaged in producing or handling the same product or group of products or in rendering the same services. Industry definitions used in the Bureau of Labor Statistics programs come from the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Manual. Because the SIC is used by many other federal government statistical programs, it is possible for users to assemble a comprehensive statistical picture of an industry. Developed in cooperation with and , the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) represents one of the most profound changes for statistical programs focusing on emerging economic activities. NAICS, developed using a production-oriented conceptual framework, groups establishments into industries based on the activity in which they are primarily engaged. Establishments using similar raw material inputs, similar capital equipment, and similar labor are classified in the same industry. In other words, establishments that do similar things in similar ways are classified together.

PRARS, from Bay Tact Corporation, provides free annual reports, prospectuses, and 10K's for public companies.

Includes information regarding startup, Internet business, general and personnel management, sales and marketing, and buying and selling a business. Meir Liraz, owner of Bizmove.com has 23 years experience as a business coach and small business consultant. The site can be searched but there are no help screen to assist users.

Find county.
Look up office buildings or residential addresses for tax information etc. Check maps for areas nearby.

From website, "Search ThomasNet to find manufacturers, distributors and service providers - from Actuators to Zirconium and everything in between".

The USPTO registers trademarks based on the Commerce Clause of the Constitution (Article 1, Section 8, Clause 3). Under this system of protection, American industry has flourished. New products have been invented, new uses for old ones discovered, and employment opportunities created for millions of Americans. The strength and vitality of the U.S. economy depends directly on effective mechanisms that protect new ideas and investments in innovation and creativity. The continued demand for patents and trademarks underscores the ingenuity of American inventors and entrepreneurs. The USPTO is at the cutting edge of the Nation's technological progress and achievement.

A very well-organized site, according to Choice , even the site map. Choice goes on to say that "the annual World Development Report overview is particularly useful in providing a contextual setting for understanding the present and future challenges facing nations and regions in the developing world.

The World Trade Organization website contains material for a range of users, from the general public to students, academics and trade specialists. It includes introductions to WTO activities and a large database of official documents