Library Is A Verb

1. Zotero: Zotero is a free bibliographic tool which works with web sites or library databases. Zotero only works with Firefox, Safari (Mac), or Linux. It does NOT work with Internet Explorer at this time. Using Zotero, users can "bookmark" and save any web site and add comments and citation information. Very useful for organizing citations for bibliographies.
   
   
2. Zoho - In a tight economy, Zoto is a free package of office tools comparable to Microsoft Office except everything lives "in the cloud" (online, not your laptop or desktop computer) . The package includes word processing, spreadsheet, Show (similar to PowerPoint), document management, online note taker, wiki, planner, report database for data, creator (similar to Access), and projects (similar to MS Projects). This is loosely comparable to Google Docs. Both Zoho and Google docs can be shared. Zoho documents can be downloaded
   
   
3. Microsoft OneNote. This is available to you if you have Office 2007 for Windows (sorry, but this is not included in the Mac version). In a nutshell, their web site says that "OneNote is an electronic version of a paper notebook where you can write down notes, thoughts, ideas, scribbles, reminders, and all kinds of other information. Unlike the traditional document page format of other programs such as word-processing or spreadsheet programs, OneNote offers a free-form canvas where you can type, write, or draw notes in the form of text, graphics, and images wherever and however you want them. (Note: notes can be typed; however, if you have a tablet PC, then you could actually write notes.) 

   The beauty of this is that you can take class notes (or type them later) and arrange them in any way that is comfortable for you. You can type of write anywhere on the document. Unstated beauty of OneNote is that you can insert a PDF file into OneNote, then highlight sections important to you and add typed or handwritten notes! It's a very useful way to work. The beauty is that you don't have to print the journal article at all. Now you can drag them into OneNote and take notes there and keep you printing costs managable. Users can add images as well.

   If you have a microphone and a webcam, run the Tuning Wizard before you attempt to record audio and video notes. On the Tools menu, click Options. In the Options dialog box, click Audio and Video, and then click Tuning Wizard. 
   
   NOTE: I would recommend that you create new OneNote notebooks to be shared on multiple computers. Go to the OneNote directory and copy the file to your flashdrive, then you should be able to open it on another computer with OneNote 2007.

   Unlike the notes in a paper notebook, OneNote lets you add, move, and delete anything on its pages and in its sections. You can add more space where and when you need it, and you can stay organized by dragging note items into their own sections or even into different notebooks. You can separate and organize your notes by subjects or projects, or keep separate notebooks for different places and interests. OneNote is easy to use, and it doesn't force everyone to work in the same way.
   
   Notebooks can be created as "shared" so you can include others for collaboration.

4. OpenOffice - Another free office suite akin to Microsoft Office. This, contrary to Zoho, lives on your laptop or desktop computer. Documents can be saved as .DOCX format (compatible with MS Word).
   
   
5. Evernote - Evernote is available for Mac, Windows, Palm Pre, Windows Mobile, and Blackberry and iPhone apps are available. (NOTE: I am unclear whether or not there is a charge for downloading to your cell phones.) What can you capture with it?
   
   
   • Tasks and to-dos
   • Notes and research
   • Web pages
   • Whiteboards
   • Business cards
   • Scribbles
   • Snapshots
   
   You can import documents from Microsoft OneNote but it does not appear that you can export to OneNote. The phone apps appear to be very good and CNET's review of it Evernote says that "the killer feature is that it also does OCR on your images so you can find them later by searching for text in them. Use this tool to snap pictures of products you see in stores and want to remember, to grab whiteboards in meetings, and to take pictures of people with name tags at conferences . . . The free version offers 40MB per month for uploading and unpredictable OCR performance, while $45 a year gets you a 500MB a month allowance, priority OCR, better security features, and support." (You can also download Evernote from this link.)

1. Instead of printing PowerPoint slides, why not make PowerPoint work for you? Save PowerPoint slides from your clases to your flashdrive or computer and refer back to them. Also, when you open the file, check for notes inserted by the professor. There may or may not be any available. If not, why not consider adding your own notes from class lectures to the PowerPoint slide and keeping them together?

2. Did you know that the public library is also your friend? If you live in Harris County or a county surrounding Harris County, then you are eligible for a Houston Public Library card. Check the HPL web site to find a location nearest to you. WHY? Because they also have databases that are accessible. In some cases, they have useful databases that we do not. Depending on your location, you may also want to use the Harris County Public Library system to see if their is a branch nearby. Their listing is not as prolific as Houston Public's, however.

3. Many libraries have catalogs that allow you to use check boxes to mark items for email. Did you know that can email book information to your cell phone? For those of you with limited Internet capabilities, you can "email" book information and send it as an SMS text message to your cell phone. Here's how to do it.

T-Mobile: phonenumber@tmomail.net
Virgin Mobile: phonenumber@vmobl.com
Cingular: phonenumber@cingularme.com
Sprint: phonenumber@messaging.sprintpcs.com
Verizon: phonenumber@vtext.com
Nextel: phonenumber@messaging.nextel.com 
AT&T:  phonenumber@txt.att.net

This is handy to have so you don't have to write down a lot of call numbers. In the case of our Classic Catalog, Here's the quick step-by-step:

a) After clicking all the resources, click the "Kept" button on the orange banner.

b) On the right side, click "Email Brief Hitlist."

c) Use the ISP-specific method above and send the book records to your cell phone.

4. Most of library databases have an option to create a personal account. These are handy to have as sometimes they have extra features to use. You also won't need to carry a flashdrive with you either.

5. TEXSHARE - the TexShare consortia allows you to check out items from other libraries, including those elsewhere across the great State of Texas. If you travel, you could use your TexShare card and go to local libraries in that part of the state. You ask about TexShare cards at your local public library. You will need to get your TexShare card from them. Here is a map of TexShare libraries within a 20-mile radius of HCU. You can visit the TexShare web site to find other participating libraries in the state.