LibGuides: Find Articles Using Databases: Science & Mathematics

Science & Mathematics Databases

BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool)
Basic Local Alignment Search Tool -- BLAST finds regions of similarity between biological sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance.
ClustalW (NLM/NIH)
A general purpose multiple sequence alignment program for DNA or proteins.

We are situated on the Wellcome Genome Campus in Hinxton, Cambridge, UK, one of the world’s largest concentrations of scientific and technical expertise in genomics.

At EMBL-EBI, we make the world’s public biological data freely available to the scientific community via a range of services and tools, perform basic research and provide professional training in bioinformatics.

We are part of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), an international, innovative and interdisciplinary research organisation funded by over 20 member states, prospect and associate member states.
Credo Reference
With regular updates, this Collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject reference works like encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions, and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. In addition to full-text content, the Academic Core Collection provides access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, as well as 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs, and maps.
ENTREZ
Entrez is a molecular biology database system that provides integrated access to nucleotide and protein sequence data, gene-centered and genomic mapping information, 3D structure data, PubMed MEDLINE, and more.

The integrated, text-based search & retrieval system using the National Center for Biotechnology Information for major databases, including PubMed & others. ENTREZ is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies
From climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides comprehensive information, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more. Scroll down the landing page to browse topics of interest. Clicking a topic opens a wide range of a variety of academic resources gathered for your convenience in one place.

Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.
Gale in Context: Science
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.

Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.
Gale Interactive Science
Imagine what it would be like to learn complex science concepts with more confidence and less fear. Gale Interactive: Science is a virtual lab that gives students the power to see beyond static text and embrace learning outside of the classroom.

Gale Interactive Science is designed for beginning-level classes. Going beyond textbooks and traditional science curricula, Gale Interactive: Science is a highly visual online learning tool. High-value, rich-media digital content selected from authoritative classroom resources—like Gale In Context: Science and Gale OneFile—is paired with interactive 3D models to deliver a virtual laboratory simulation experience for students who can entertain their curiosity and inspire learning through an experience that allows zooming in, rotating, or pulling models apart to explore and experiment with complex scientific topics.

With more than 200 interactive science lessons correlated to Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) and Common Core State Standards—covering science curriculum topics in biology, chemistry, and earth sciences—students will not only enjoy learning, they’ll comprehend complex topics more easily.
Gale OneFile: Agriculture
With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of a growing body of knowledge. Researchers will have access to current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. With strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 600 journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields. In addition, more than 30 Delmar titles provide in-depth coverage on a variety of agriculture-related topics.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy
The Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy is a digital resource that answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more.
Gale OneFile: Computer Science
Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Provides information for students in health sciences programs, as well as consumers and health care professionals.

This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics related to patient and consumer health information including fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Access millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters, reference sources, as well as hundreds of health-related multimedia demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Gale OneFile: Information Science
Library science students, information science and technology professionals, and others will value the Gale OneFile: Information Science. It is updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.
Gale Health and Wellness
Authoritative, up-to-date information on health topics.
offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

What dietary habits are associated with developing adult-onset diabetes? Are antioxidants really effective? What new advances have been made in the treatment of HIV/ AIDS? Gale Health and Wellness is your first-stop resource for answers to these and other health-related questions.

Features include:

* An updated, easy-to-navigate interface featuring topic portals with curated content on diseases and conditions; drugs; diagnostics and tests; and therapies, treatments, and surgeries
* A broad collection of premier full-text reference works, including Gale exclusives such as The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets
* Millions of articles from both scholarly medical journals and general-interest health magazines
* Spanish editions of notable content and a Spanish-language search filter
* Streaming video, audio, and images
* Mobile-responsive design
* Google and Microsoft integration
* Citation tools
* ReadSpeaker text-to-speech technology
* Improved translation
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Gale OneFile: Psychology
Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Gale OneFile: Science
With the Gale OneFile: Science, researchers can remain current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes more than 1.6 million articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
GenBank (NLM/NIH)
GenBank ® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.

GenBank is part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration, which comprises the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), the European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), and GenBank at NCBI. These three organizations exchange data on a daily basis.

A GenBank release occurs every two months and is available from their ftp site. See more on their home page (click above).
OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) (NLM/NIH)
OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. It also contains textual information & references, plus links to MEDLINE & sequence records in the ENTREZ system (read more about ENTREZ by checking its description under the "E" databases above.)

OMIM is authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, under the direction of Dr. Ada Hamosh. Its official home is omim.org.
PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites, including journals to which HCU subscribes, such as JAMA.

The PubMed database does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).

PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.

Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 1,750 active journals and 39,000 books to help users discover more novel science, use their time efficiently, and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information.

Our collection includes Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities (including Arts, Business, Education, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, and Psychology).

SciTech Premium Collection

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum. Please click the More Info button for more about acknowledgments, daily data limits and security.

Disclaimer

We are doing our best to compile high quality databases. However, there are no such databases without any errors or mistakes. We make no warranties to those effects and shall not be liable for any damage that may result from errors in the database. You can check the page Known Errors of Mistakes in SDBS. When you find new errors or mistakes, please inform us by email (see this page for contact details).
Access to this database is free of charge. However we request visitors to our database not to download more than 50 spectra and/or compound information in one day. All accesses are recorded. It is prohibited that you use any information of SDBS for profit-making or commercial use without obtaining proper permission from us. If more spectra are required for some specific purpose or commercial use, you should consult us and describe the intended usage or purpose of our SDBS.

We also request that when you use the data of our SDBS in your publication or presentation, a proper acknowledgement be given as follows:
SDBSWeb : https://sdbs.db.aist.go.jp (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, date of access)

Royal Society

Royal Society
In 1665, the first issue of the Royal Society trailblazing scientific journal, the Philosophical Transactions appears. Publishing research across the sciences as reported by and to the Fellows of the Royal Society, the Philosophical Transactions has showcased the work of preeminent scientific minds of the past 370 years.

Today, "Science in the Making" takes the Philosophical Transactions as its starting point and dives back into the archives to go beyond the printed page and allows users to discover how science was made, discussed, and shared since the very beginnings of its history.

more... less...

The Royal Society is the oldest scientific academy in continuous existence. Our library holds one of the most important history of science collections in the world with thousands of rare and unique items. These include published works, handwritten drafts, correspondence, illustrations, and original data on everything from rainfall to astronomical observations. We hold records of the work of the Society since 1660. Some of our historical datasets, such as those on climate, contribute to current scientific investigation and they are all important for historical research. Use our catalogues to discover the extent of our library, archive, instruments and picture collections and browse through more digitised illustrations, books and exhibits in our digital resources.

OTHER USEFUL RESOURCES

Multi-Disciplinary Databases
This group of databases is general and covers many different academic disciplines. If you are still not finding something useful, give these a try. It includes Gale Academic One and ProQuest Research Library.

These library resources below are used quite regularly by our students and may be useful as you work with the databases.

Interlibrary Loan - Journal Article Form
Articles can take 24-72 hours to arrive in your Inbox.
Interlibrary Loan Book Form
Our courier service delivers local items every Tuesday and Friday.
Library Classic Catalog
This searches for both E-books and print books. Click the radio buttons or dropdown menus to maximize your options.
Research Paper Help - Includes over 60 short videos and tutorials on a wide variety of topics related to the creation of writing assignments.
Credo Reference
- Need an overview of a topic or more specific details? Credo Reference consists of over 300 reference titles consisting of an aggregate of 3.1 million entries. It is a great place to find biographical information or other general information about concepts and theories. Use the Length filters to get brief or lengthy descriptions (can often include 3-7 page articles and many are appropriate for master's and doctoral levels).
Self-Guided Research Help
The library's 24/7 help center with tutorials and videos on a wide range of research topics.
HCU Answers
Need to find out something about HCU?

Find Articles Using Databases: Science & Mathematics

Integrating Faith with Science

Teaching and Learning in the Sciences / Glenn A. Marsch (Chapter)

A Christian Perspective on Biology / Dennis R. Venema, Richard J.L. Paulton (Chapter)

A Christian Perspective on Chemistry / Craig D. Montgomery

A Christian Perspective on Mathematics / Rick Sutcliffe (Chapter)

A Christian Perspective on Physics / John Byl (Chapter)

A Christian in the Sciences / Mark Bolyard (Chapter)

Christian Scholarship in Math, Physics, and Engineering / Jeannette Russ (Chapter)

The Joy of Mathematics / Jim Bradley; Russ Howell (Chapter)

The Biological Sciences: Living Testimony to the Wisdom of God / Dorothy F. Chappell (Chapter)

Chemistry, Christianity, and Wisdom / Stephen Contakes (Chapter)

Wisdom in Physics / Arnold E. Sikkema (Chapter)

The Christian and Natural Science / Lawrence T. McHargue (Chapter)

The Natural Sciences : A Student's Guide (Book)

Ethics and Moral Reasoning : A Student's Guide (Book)

Faith and science (Physical Book - see record details) -- BL240.3.F35 2012

Science & Mathematics Databases

Recommended

Royal Society

OTHER USEFUL RESOURCES