LibGuides: Find Articles Using Databases: Art & Music

Art & Music Databases

The Classical Singer
CS Music is your resource and platform for auditions, jobs, and scholarships! From the New York Opera Newsletter to Classical Singer magazine, and now as CS Music, we help students, young artists, and emerging professionals connect with schools, companies, and professionals with tools and resources.

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database includes over 500 journals, with more than 400 available in full text. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience. Periodical database for serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive (i.e., not current). It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Currency of journals will greatly vary by publisher. Some journals date to the 1800s and are nearly full runs except for the most recent issues. If you need a more recent issue, use the citation in an Interlibrary Journal Request Form. request.
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 15571 titles!
Oxford Music Online (a.k.a. Grove Music) This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online, the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. This site includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Click the More Info button to see the complete list of physical Groves Encyclopedia that the library has.
If you need other Grove resources for supplemental information, the Library has:

* The New Grove Stravinsky (Walsh, Stephen, 1942-)
* The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians (Sadie, Stanley)
* The New Grove dictionary of opera (Sadie, Stanley)
* The New Grove Mozart (Sadie, Stanley)
* The New Grove dictionary of jazz Kernfeld, Barry)
* The New Grove dictionary of American music (Hitchcock, H. Wiley [Hugh Wiley], 1923-2007)
* The New Grove dictionary of musical instruments (Sadie, Stanley)
* The New Grove masters of Italian opera : Rossini, Donizetti, Bellini, Verdi, Puccini (Gossett, Philip)
* The New Grove Beethoven (Kerman, Joseph, 1924-)

Other Helpful Databases

Digital Mozart This link opens in a new window
Digital Mozart Edition (DME) is a reproduction of the new collected edition of Mozart’s works.
DME aims to prepare the entire oeuvre (works) of Wolfgang Amadé Mozart (1756–1791) in digital form and to make it available to everyone worldwide free of charge for academic, private,, and educational purposes.

The core of the Digital Mozart Edition (DME) is the Digital Interactive Mozart Edition (DIME), which is being developed at the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg (ISM) in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute (PHI) in Los Altos, California / USA has been. It sees itself as a follow-up project to the New Mozart Edition (NMA), which has been published since 1954 and which has been available as NMA Online since 2006 . DIME is based on the NMA and respects its scientific achievement, which has grown over generations, but it is neither identical in content nor in appearance.
J.S. Bach: Texts of the Complete Vocal Works with English Translations and Commentary This link opens in a new window
This Bach site offers English translations to the vocal works of J. S. Bach along with introductory information on the sources and on performance history of each work. Commentary on the text is found in footnotes which are quickly opened by clicking on the footnote number. Please note: These translations may be used gratis in programs and program notes for concert performances with the following acknowledgment:
© Z. Philip Ambrose, translator, Web publication: http://www.uvm.edu/~classics/faculty/bach
Petrucci Online Library of Musical Scores This link opens in a new window
IMSLP, also known as the International Music Score Library Project or Petrucci Music Library. The ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge.
However, another main goal of IMSLP is to facilitate the exchange of musical ideas outside of compositions: for example, the analysis of a particular piece of music. Therefore, feel free to create/edit a page with your analysis of a particular piece (please use the "Discussion" link on the work page of that particular piece). For general discussions, and IMSLP-related questions, score requests, etc. you can use the forums. We hope to build a growing community of dedicated musicians and music lovers, who can use this site as a platform for enjoying music.

IMSLP was started in 2006. The logo on the main page is a capital letter A. It was taken from the beginning of the very first printed book of music, the Harmonice Musices Odhecaton. It was published in Venice in 1501 by Ottaviano Petrucci, the library's namesake.

OTHER USEFUL RESOURCES

Multi-Disciplinary Databases
This group of databases is general and covers many different academic disciplines. If you are still not finding something useful, give these a try. It includes Gale Academic One and ProQuest Research Library.

These library resources below are used quite regularly by our students and may be useful as you work with the databases.

Interlibrary Loan - Journal Article Form
Articles can take 24-72 hours to arrive in your Inbox.
Interlibrary Loan Book Form
Our courier service delivers local items every Tuesday and Friday.
Library Classic Catalog
This searches for both E-books and print books. Click the radio buttons or dropdown menus to maximize your options.
Research Paper Help - Includes over 60 short videos and tutorials on a wide variety of topics related to the creation of writing assignments.
Credo Reference
- Need an overview of a topic or more specific details? Credo Reference consists of over 300 reference titles consisting of an aggregate of 3.1 million entries. It is a great place to find biographical information or other general information about concepts and theories. Use the Length filters to get brief or lengthy descriptions (can often include 3-7 page articles and many are appropriate for master's and doctoral levels).
Self-Guided Research Help
The library's 24/7 help center with tutorials and videos on a wide range of research topics.
HCU Answers
Need to find out something about HCU?

Find Articles Using Databases: Art & Music

Art & Music Databases

Recommended

Other Helpful Databases

OTHER USEFUL RESOURCES