LibGuides: Finding Theses or Dissertations: Finding Library Books

Searching for Books

Finding Books in Moody Library

The books listed in this guide are only a sampling of the books available to you as a library user. The library has two different methods for searching for books,
Browse or Keyword.

The "Classic Browse Search" is usually used when you know the title of a book, the author that you are looking for, or the exact subject heading for the topic. Be sure to use the down arrow to choose the type of search that you wish to make. When you are searching for diseases or medical conditions, you often just have to search for the name directly. When you do not know the title or author, it is often best to use the "Classic Keyword Search", which allows you to put in search words for your topic in any order.

Catalog Search

Please remember that results will appear in two tabs: HCU Books/Ebooks. Select the CloudSearch tab for journal articles.

Library Website Orientation »

Search library databases and scholarly Open Access content everywhere.

ProQuest Dissertations

Electronic Books (E-Books)

E-Book Central (formerly ebrary) This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 65,000 e-books. These may be accessed title by title through the library catalog or by clicking this link. No special log-in or password is needed to access these books.
• Full text books covering all disciplines
• Books may be searched through the Library’s Catalog or from the ebrary website
• Includes over 70,000 titles

HCU's Moody Library has access to more than 100,000 electronic books (e-books). These books come in two major collections: ebrary and eBooks on EBSCOhost.

eBooks on EBSCOhost
The collection of e-books formerly known as netLibrary has moved to a new vendor and is now known as eBooks on EBSCOhost. This collection contains more than 50,000 titles and may be accessed through this link or from individual links on the catalog records. This system does not require a log-in unless the user wishes to take notes on the book. Off campus access requires the same log-in and password as other Moody Library databases.

Borrowing Books and Articles from Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan --An HCU student, faculty or staff member can request an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for a book or article that Moody Library does not own by filling out an Interlibrary Loan Request Form and giving it to a librarian or using one of the online forms below. The Interlibrary Loan Librarian will try to obtain the material from the nearest free or inexpensive source after searching a nationwide network. Items will be shipped to Moody library. Every effort is made to obtain the materials quickly and at the least possible expense, but we cannot guarantee a speedy arrival. Moody Library only borrows books and articles; no CDS, cassette tapes, DVDs, or videocassettes will be requested. The patron will be notified by email when the item arrives. Please complete your use of the borrowed materials quickly and return them to the Interlibrary Loan department at HCU. Questions about Interlibrary Loan should be directed to the Interlibrary Loan Librarian at 281-649-3181 or ill@hc.edu.

Journal Article Interlibrary Loan Request Form

Book Interlibrary Loan Request Form

TexShare Cards -- The TexShare card program is an agreement among several libraries which allows users of TexShare libraries to directly borrow from other TexShare libraries. Using a TexShare card HCU faculty, staff and currently enrolled students can borrow books in person from participating libraries. The number of books that can be borrowed is limited by the policies of the TexShare libraries. A TexShare card can be obtained at the Reference Desk or the Circulation Desk along with a list of the local libraries that participate in the TexShare program. Rice University does not participate in the TexShare card program.

Borrowing From Rice University -- To borrow books from Rice University an HCU affiliate must obtain an official ALA (American Library Association) Interlibrary loan form from the Moody Reference Desk, fill it out completely and have it signed by an HCU librarian. Users must know which book is to be borrowed from Rice. An incomplete form will not be accepted. Librarians can assist patrons to find book citations in the Rice University catalog. The agreement between Rice and HCU allows our faculty, staff and students to borrow up to four books at a time. Each book borrowed needs its own form. HCU constitutents who use this service are responsible for returning all items to Rice.