Finding Theses or Dissertations: Handbooks on Psychology

This Handbook provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of research and theory about social development in children from pre-school age to the onset of adolescence.

Keeping up with new developments in vocational psychology is important to both psychological practitioners and researchers. The Handbook of Vocational Psychology, Third Edition is devoted to presenting and evaluating important advances in the field of vocational psychology. More specifically, the aim of the handbook is to identify, report, and evaluate significant developments in vocational psychology and thus to provide both professional workers and students with an informed understanding of the progress taking place in this discipline.

An introduction to a general integrative model of culturally competent family therapy in which concepts, methods, and findings have been incorporated into a synthesis of various current theories. Drawing upon sources including social and cultural anthropology, sociology, and cross-cultural social psychology, psychiatry and linguistics, 13 chapters present an overview of culture and family therapy, family- cultural concepts relevant to diagnosis and treatment, the information-processing framework, culturally competent family diagnosis, and therapy.

The study of adolescence in the field of psychology has grown tremendously over the last two decades, necessitating a comprehensive and up-to-date revision of this seminal work. This multidisciplinary handbook, edited by the premier scholars in the field, Richard Lerner and Laurence Steinberg, and with contributions from the leading researchers, reflects the latest empirical work and growth in the field.

"The Handbook of Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology" is a comprehensive, thorough and practical guide to modern child and adolescent clinical psychology. It covers all central concerns for practitioners in a single manual, including: conduct problems, emotional problems, learning disabilities, child protection, somatic illness, major depression, suicide, drug abuse, schizophrenia, divorce, foster care and bereavement. Each chapter opens with a broad chapter plan and case study, followed by sections on classification, epidemiology and clinical features. Written with practice in mind, it includes a section on report writing.

The increasing focus on children's welfare has given rise to tremendous growth in the field of child psychology, and the past decade has witnessed significant advances in research in this area. This is the Bible for clinical child psychologists.

This book provides a state of the art review of selected areas and topics in cross-cultural psychology written by eminent figures in the field. Each chapter not only reviews the latest research in its respective area, but also goes further in integrating and synthesizing across areas. The Handbook of Culture and Psychology is a unique and timely contribution that should serve as a valuable reference and guide for beginning researchers and scholars alike.

Social and personality psychologists traditionally have focused their attention on the most basic building blocks of human thought and behavior, while existential psychologists pursued broader, more abstract questions regarding the nature of existence and the meaning of life. This volume bridges this longstanding divide by demonstrating how rigorous experimental methods can be applied to understanding key existential concerns, including death, uncertainty, identity, meaning, morality, isolation, determinism, and freedom. Bringing together leading scholars and investigators, the Handbook presents the influential theories and research findings that collectively are helping to define the emerging field of experimental existential psychology.

Meeting a growing need, this authoritative reference and text comprehensively examines the interplay of biological, psychological, and social factors in health and illness in older adults. The volume explores how and why some people adapt more successfully than others to age-related stressors such as chronic illness, disability, and loss, and identifies ways to promote coping and resilience. With contributions from leading researchers in health psychology and gerontology, the Handbook integrates state-of-the-science theories and methods from both fields. Key topics include how aging affects the cardiovascular, neuroendocrine, and immune systems; the influences on adult development and health of personality, emotions, social support, and religiousness; and effective interventions in healthcare settings.

In recent years the escalating costs of health care have caused managed care programs to shift the delivery of pediatric psychological services away from specialized medical centers and into primary care and school settings. One result has been a radical expansion of school psychology into issues of clinical intervention, health promotion, and the assessment of psychotropic medications. School psychologists are now expected to either deliver or (more likely) to provide consultation regarding a wide variety of pediatric psychological services. Because this is a recent phenomenon, very few school-based psychologists or allied health practitioners (school counselors and social workers) have received training in pediatric psychology. The mission of this book is to provide them with a comprehensive and authoritative guide to their newly acquired responsibilities in such areas as psychotherapy, psychopharmacology, health promotion, and prevention of disease.

A lively, thought-provoking exploration of the latest theory and practice in the psychology of women and gender Edited by Rhoda Unger, a pioneer in feminist psychology, this handbook provides an extraordinarily balanced, in-depth treatment of major contemporary theories, trends, and advances in the field of women and gender. Bringing together contributions from leading U.S. and international scholars, it presents integrated coverage of a variety of approaches-ranging from traditional experiments to postmodern analyses. Conceptual models discussed include those that look within the individual, between individuals and groups, and beyond the person-to the social-structural frameworks in which people are embedded, as well as biological and evolutionary perspectives. Multicultural and cross-cultural issues are emphasized throughout, including key variables such as sexual orientation, race/ethnicity, and social class.

Keeping up with new developments in vocational psychology is important to both psychological practitioners and researchers. The Handbook of Vocational Psychology, Third Edition is devoted to presenting and evaluating important advances in the field of vocational psychology. More specifically, the aim of the handbook is to identify, report, and evaluate significant developments in vocational psychology and thus to provide both professional workers and students with an informed understanding of the progress taking place in this discipline.

Now in a completely revised and expanded second edition, this authoritative handbook reviews the breadth of current knowledge on the psychological processes that underlie social behavior. Leading investigators identify core principles that have emerged from the study of biological systems, social cognition, goals and strivings, interpersonal interactions, and group and cultural dynamics. State-of-the-science theories, methods, and findings are explained, and important directions for future research are highlighted. More than an update, this edition is virtually a new book. Many more chapters are included, and significant advances in social cognitive neuroscience, motivational psychology, and other areas are incorporated throughout. A new section addresses implications for applied domains, such as clinical psychology, health, and consumer behavior.

Edited by one of the most important psychologists of the 20th century, this book deals with the description and measurement of abnormal behavior, the experimental study of abnormal behavior, the causes and determinants of abnormal behavior, and the modification of abnormal behavior.

This handbook summarizes the major theories and research in the field by presenting contributions from leading theoreticians and researchers. It includes sections on theory and method, biocognitive development in adulthood, and social development in adulthood. Collectively the book presents a holistic, developmental-system-oriented approach to person-in-environment functioning account of how development continues in adulthood and how developmental change in adulthood is both similar to and different from developmental changes in childhood and adolescence. F

The value of this handbook lies not in the individual references but in the analysis and synthesis of each area of child development. The books offer less experienced readers a broad understanding of the issues and also routes to particular topics. More advanced scholars can quickly update themselves on an entire field. And scholars and practitioners can fill in gaps in their expertise and perspective by reviewing the chapters in their own fields. The fact that the entire first volume is devoted to theoretical models indicates how far developmental psychology has advanced and integrated into other areas of psychology and into biology, anthropology, sociology, and education.

The latest theory, research, and practice information for family therapy. In this accessible and comprehensive text, each chapter covers specific problems, the theoretical and practical elements of the treatment approach, recommended intervention strategies, special considerations, supporting research, and clinical examples. The contributors provide step-by-step guidelines for implementing the approaches described and discuss particular issues that arise in different couple, family, and cultural contexts.

Older adults are the fastest-growing segment of society and are entering therapy at an unprecedented rate. Editor Michael Duffy has brought together leading experts in geropsychology and older adult counseling to discuss and offer practice strategies appropriate for this diverse population. The Handbook covers new research findings for clinical treatment, coverage of multiple treatment modalities, and clinical problems confronting older clients, including: Adjusting to role loss, leisure in late life, and retirement Developmental issues in psychotherapy with older men Existential issues of hope and meaning in late life therapy Developing and enhancing the therapeutic alliance with older clients The impact of cultural differences in psychotherapy with older clients Using reminiscence and life review as natural therapeutic strategies in groups Integrated group approaches with early stage Alzheimer's and their families Family disruption after nursing home placement of onset of dementia patients: systemic dynamics and treatment Realizing power in intergenerational family hierarchies: when older adults decline

While it has many important predecessors in related disciplines such as anthropology, linguistics, and sociology, the field of cultural psychology has only recently become a major force in the discipline of psychology. Sixty-six international academics and researchers contribute 36 chapters providing an overview of the field as it exists today. Coverage includes historical and disciplinary backgrounds of the field, theoretical perspectives and methodological advances, and reviews of the diverse areas the field comprises--identity and social relations, acquisition and change of culture, cognition, and emotion and motivation.

Forty-nine of the world's leading developmental psychologists outline the ways in which new questions and new theories are changing the field. Twenty-eight chapters are organized into sections covering fundamental approaches and principles of the discipline; five stages of development--prenatal and infant, early childhood, middle childhood, pre-adolescence and adolescence, and adulthood; and methodology in the study of development.

The globalized nature of work in the new millennium implies that human resource management, psychological theories of personnel and individual behaviour in the workplace have to change and evolve. This volume mainly focuses on theories, techniques and methods used by industrial and work psychologists. A set of internationally renowned authors summarize advances in core topics such as analysis of work, work design, job performance, performance appraisal and feedback, workplace counterproductivity, recruitment and personnel selection, work relevant individual difference variables (cognitive ability, personality), human-machine interactions, human errors, training, learning, individual development, socialization, methods, and measurement.

Despite the considerable influence that multitrait/multimethod analysis and research strategies have had on scientific psychology, accessible texts fully integrating this framework into the assessment of complex psychological phenomena have been lacking, according to Eid (U. of Geneva, Switzerland) and Diener (U. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign). They introduce 31 chapters filling theoretical, methodological, and applied gaps for students and researchers. Contributors address issues that need to be considered in: conducting ecologically valid field studies, convergent validity, and method selection for supporting validity. Finally, the editors recap contributors' messages that researchers need to learn about the newer sampling and testing methods, advances in statistics, and Web resources available; and apply multiple methods not just multiple measures.

Aimed at researchers and advanced students, this text provides a broad overview of the field of personality development, which is currently enjoying a burst of research activity. Editors Mroczek (Purdue U.) and Little (U. of Kansas) have compiled nearly two-dozen papers that examine personality development across the entire life span from a variety of theoretical perspectives. Topics include (for example) the structure of personality and temperament; developmental and individual difference perspectives on self-esteem; and change in personality processes and health outcomes.

During the past 30 years, the study of racial and ethnic minority issues in psychology has evolved into what can now be considered a significant and rapidly growing field of study. This handbook presents a thorough, scholarly overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States. It covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. The stellar collection of contributing authors provide readers with a comprehensive work that focuses on the professional, methodological, social and developmental, clinical, and applied and preventive issues shaping the field today.

The self has emerged as a central construct in many domains of behavioral and social science. This state-of-the-science volume brings together an array of leading authorities to comprehensively review theory and research in this burgeoning area. Coverage includes the content, structure, and organization of the self; processes related to agency, regulation, and self-control; self-evaluation and self-related motivation and emotion; interpersonal and cultural issues; and self-development across evolutionary time and the lifespan. Also examined are ways that the development of the self can go awry, resulting in emotional and behavioral problems.

Should psychologists study religion/spirituality? Paloutzian and Park answer this query in the affirmative by framing religion as a unique meaning or belief system. Drawing on subdisciplines including neuropsychology, psychodynamic and evolutionary psychology, international contributors to 30 chapters offer diverse theoretical and empirical perspectives on this approach. E.g., until recently, study of the development of religious/spiritual cognition was neglected. They also treat religion in relation to such standard topics in the field as personality, stress, and international relations (including religiously-fueled terrorism). The editors conclude that this research path must be widened by going global and multidisciplinary.

Barnes, a clinical psychologist and attorney, brings together experts in jurisprudence, clinical psychology, feminist psychology, ethics and public policy to discuss the ways social issues have affected civil and criminal law. The first two papers provide an overview of psychological research and theory related to gender and describe the evolution of gender-related legal decisions. The subsequent contributions address such topics as sexual harassment, the gender gap in health insurance coverage, women and depression, and the use of rape as a weapon of war.

This comprehensive handbook offers a beautifully balanced view of the emerging field of multicultural school psychology. The opening section provides an historical overview of how the field has developed and succeeding sections discuss multicultural issues related to consultation, instructional interventions, alternative assessment, academic assessment, vocational assessment, culturally sensitive counseling models, and working with families and special populations. Theory, research, and practice are integrated throughout.

This volume is everything one would want from a one-volume handbook of social psychology or, indeed, of any scientific discipline. Described by its editors as an "accessible survey of the state of the discipline at the dawn of the new millennium," the book is that and more. Comprehensive in scope, authoritative, clearly written, and detailed, it covers not only the usual topics one would expect in such a survey--history, methodology, social cognition, emotions, interpersonal relations and relationships, and group processes, both positive and negative--but also those especially relevant to social psychology as it enters its second century. Noteworthy in the latter regard are chapters on justice and negotiation, the central importance of culture to social psychology, and the social psychology of cultural diversity.